We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellant stay - friendly owners”
Review of The Elmdene

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Elmdene
Ranked #14 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Andy and Carol were very welcoming and friendly hosts and as Carol was away until our last day Andy made sure we were ok during our stay the room was of a good size with a lovely ensuite bathroom and shower the decor was stylish and modern and each day fresh biscuits and drink sachets were left in our room. The bed was very comfy and the quietness of the area aided good sleep. This was always cleaned to perfection on our return each day. The breakfast was plentiful with choice of cereals and fruit and the full English or smoked salmon and scrambled egg was nicely cooked. The location was in a quiet part of Torquay but close enough to sea front and all major routes to other destinations around. Nothing was too much for Andy and Carol and we could help ourselves to extra milk at the lounge bar for our fridge at any time. We really felt at home at the hotel which was an excellent place to stay

Room Tip: All rooms appeared to be tastefully decorated when observing them as they were being cleaned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northerntravellers22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (521)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 521 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

Had wonderful stay at the Elmdene with my wife last week.Andy welcomed us personally on our arrival and showed us to our lovely room.
The Elmdene is in a very nice area close to Torre Abbey and about 15 minute walk to the centre of Torquay.
The hotel was quiet during our stay as Andy was on his own for most of the time but he coped admirably.Breakfast was first rate and Andy was very attentive during our stay.
I would certainly recommend this as excellent place to stay in Torquay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank POS48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Had 2 days here 5/6th April,could write so much about this place,but it,s been said in all the other reviews,only 6 rooms but Wow ours was fab as im sure the others are to,Carol was away while we we there so Andy was the one who looked after us,and for a BLUENOSE !!!!!! he did a top job and nothing was to much trouble.Thanks Andy for helping celebrate Debs birthday,good luck for the comming season,and i mean the hotel and not the small heath crew !!! First class hotel,top notch owners just book it you will not regret

Room Tip: We had room 7 home from home
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Booked this purely on Tripadvisor ratings to visit family. It was actually cheaper then the Premier Inn as well ! We had room 4- large well furnished and very comfy bed. En suite clean bright and modern if a little on the small side, towels the thickest I have ever seen. Good drinks tray and fridge in room useful. Wine glasses provided. Honesty bar downstairs if you haven't bought a bottle with you didn't bring drinks with you. Breakfast good selection and hosts always happy to accommodate. Would definitely recommend and will return when next in the area.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

A warm welcome awaited myself and Husband as we entered the beautifully renovated Victorian vicarage. Situated ideally in a quiet area about a 15 min walk to the seafront. The room was large comfortable, scrupulously clean, with all mod cons and little extras. We stayed as part of a family group with 3 other rooms that were all the same quality and high standard. Andy & Carol have worked hard to maintain this lovely hotel. We look forward to returning in the future and cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zarrina b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

A great place to stay. Very hospitable hosts. Good room and a wonderful breakfast. What more do we want?. Quiet location and good parking, its got them both .We will be back in the spring.
Good position for both sea front and town, both 10 mins. walk

Room Tip: We had room No.1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GTS01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed as part of a two week drive holiday in April this year for 2 nights and absolutely loved it.
So clean and well maintained just what we were looking for.
The ownners are lovely people and made us feel welcome they love what they do and put their heart and soul into it and it shows.
Rooms are constantly being updated so always look fresh and new and the bed was very comfortable had a great nights sleep.
Breakfast was good and not to be missed if you stay.
A good base for a couple of days in our case and a good find.
We would go back without hesitation.
Highly recomend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank troopadour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 149 in Torquay
371 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Somerville
The Somerville
#4 of 149 in Torquay
1,114 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tyndale B&B
Tyndale B&B
#15 of 149 in Torquay
263 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Redholme B&B
The Redholme B&B
#3 of 149 in Torquay
518 reviews
0.5 mi away
Torcroft Boutique B&B
Torcroft Boutique B&B
#10 of 149 in Torquay
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elmdene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elmdene

Address: Rathmore Road, Torquay TQ2 6NZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £102 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Elmdene 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elmdene is quality 5 star visit britain graded guest accommodation, situated on the level in a tree lined road opposite open parkland. We have six en-suite bedrooms, we offer free onsite parking and free wi-fi. We are a short level walk to the seafront, train station and conference centre. The town and harbour are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your The Elmdene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elmdene Hotel Torquay
The Elmdene Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing