We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely B&B with wonderful owners!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Elmdene

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Elmdene
Ranked #15 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Battle Ground, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely B&B with wonderful owners!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at the Elmdene. The owners, Andy and Carol, are so friendly and helpful!! They greeted us when we arrived and explained how everything worked. Andy then helped us with our luggage and showed us our room. The room was very spacious, clean and contained everything we needed from plush towels to tea and biscuits. The en suite was large and also very clean Carol and Andy gladly recommended places for us to visit while we were there and offered use of their sun porch if we just wanted to just relax and enjoy the sunshine! The Elmdene is very close to the train station and a bus stop if we needed to hop a bus somewhere. It's also just a short 20 minute walk into town. We had great weather the week we were there so we took many walks into town and along the strand, The Elmdene is in a lovely, quiet neighborhood and the rooms themselves were quiet. The breakfast was delicious with lots of variety from a full English breakfast to a bowl of porridge. Carol does a great job in the kitchen and Andy is a great singing waiter! We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely stay there again if we get back to Torquay. We highly recommend the Elmdene!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dgessner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    479
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
389
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Andy and Carol were very welcoming and friendly hosts and as Carol was away until our last day Andy made sure we were ok during our stay the room was of a good size with a lovely ensuite bathroom and shower the decor was stylish and modern and each day fresh biscuits and drink sachets were left in our room. The bed was very comfy and the quietness of the area aided good sleep. This was always cleaned to perfection on our return each day. The breakfast was plentiful with choice of cereals and fruit and the full English or smoked salmon and scrambled egg was nicely cooked. The location was in a quiet part of Torquay but close enough to sea front and all major routes to other destinations around. Nothing was too much for Andy and Carol and we could help ourselves to extra milk at the lounge bar for our fridge at any time. We really felt at home at the hotel which was an excellent place to stay

Room Tip: All rooms appeared to be tastefully decorated when observing them as they were being cleaned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank northerntravellers22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Had wonderful stay at the Elmdene with my wife last week.Andy welcomed us personally on our arrival and showed us to our lovely room.
The Elmdene is in a very nice area close to Torre Abbey and about 15 minute walk to the centre of Torquay.
The hotel was quiet during our stay as Andy was on his own for most of the time but he coped admirably.Breakfast was first rate and Andy was very attentive during our stay.
I would certainly recommend this as excellent place to stay in Torquay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank POS48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redditch
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Had 2 days here 5/6th April,could write so much about this place,but it,s been said in all the other reviews,only 6 rooms but Wow ours was fab as im sure the others are to,Carol was away while we we there so Andy was the one who looked after us,and for a BLUENOSE !!!!!! he did a top job and nothing was to much trouble.Thanks Andy for helping celebrate Debs birthday,good luck for the comming season,and i mean the hotel and not the small heath crew !!! First class hotel,top notch owners just book it you will not regret

Room Tip: We had room 7 home from home
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hockley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Booked this purely on Tripadvisor ratings to visit family. It was actually cheaper then the Premier Inn as well ! We had room 4- large well furnished and very comfy bed. En suite clean bright and modern if a little on the small side, towels the thickest I have ever seen. Good drinks tray and fridge in room useful. Wine glasses provided. Honesty bar downstairs if you haven't bought a bottle with you didn't bring drinks with you. Breakfast good selection and hosts always happy to accommodate. Would definitely recommend and will return when next in the area.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chippenham wiltshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

A warm welcome awaited myself and Husband as we entered the beautifully renovated Victorian vicarage. Situated ideally in a quiet area about a 15 min walk to the seafront. The room was large comfortable, scrupulously clean, with all mod cons and little extras. We stayed as part of a family group with 3 other rooms that were all the same quality and high standard. Andy & Carol have worked hard to maintain this lovely hotel. We look forward to returning in the future and cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zarrina b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

A great place to stay. Very hospitable hosts. Good room and a wonderful breakfast. What more do we want?. Quiet location and good parking, its got them both .We will be back in the spring.
Good position for both sea front and town, both 10 mins. walk

Room Tip: We had room No.1
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GTS01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,523 reviews
0.2 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Charterhouse
The Charterhouse
#4 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Albaston
The Albaston
#3 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.5 mi away
Torcroft Boutique B&B
Torcroft Boutique B&B
#12 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Somerville
The Somerville
#9 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elmdene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elmdene

Property: The Elmdene
Address: Rathmore Road, Torquay TQ2 6NZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Elmdene 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elmdene is quality 5 star visit britain graded guest accommodation, situated on the level in a tree lined road opposite open parkland. We have six en-suite bedrooms, we offer free onsite parking and free wi-fi. We are a short level walk to the seafront, train station and conference centre. The town and harbour are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Priceline so you can book your The Elmdene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elmdene Hotel Torquay
The Elmdene Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing