We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hosts fantastic place”
Review of The Elmdene

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Elmdene
Ranked #14 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 26 July 2010

Fantastic hosts Caol and Andy, nothing to much trouble everthing was wonderful right down to the update magazines wet wipes in bathroom and sweeties in the hall.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank derwen4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (521)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

467 - 473 of 521 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2010

My wife and I have just returned from a 3 day break at the Elmdene. The superior room which we booked was spacious and very well appointed with many extra touches which you often do not see in hotels of this type. The breakfasts were also excellent, very well cooked and presented, with a wide choice available and plenty to keep you going for much of the day. However the big difference for us between this and other hotels were the proprietors Andy and Carol. Nothing was too much trouble and they always had time to chat with the guests and provide a friendly and homely atmosphere. We were offered tea and biscuits as soon as we arrived after a long journey. The bar provided an opportunity for guests to meet and chat in the evenings and Andy was always there to serve drinks and engage in friendly banter and Carol also joined us when she could. Although we dined out in the evenings there was always the option of a good range of bar meals being available. I would heartily concur with the majority of previous reviewers that this hotel is definitely of 5 star quality and deserves its number 1 rating on Tripadvisor. We certainly hope to return there in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lincman18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2010

Rooms very good with little touches here and there. Well presented with a high quality of attention to comfort and cleanliness. Andy and Carol are very good hosts GSOH
We really enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SUSANF75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2010

We stayed at the Elmdene for two nights in the Superior room.
The hotel is absolutely lovely and our room was beautiful! The decor was very modern and romantic, as was the furniture.
Our room was very spacious with a king size bed and a spotlessly clean bathroom. There were several lovely little touches added to the room such as fluffy bathrobes, large bath sheets, a mini fridge, a dvd player and our own iron.
Breakfast was superb, served overlooking the garden, with a large choice available. The full english was great and kept us going all day.
Carol and Andy are the most lovely people you could meet, very friendly and always smiling. After breakfast they always asked if we wanted anything else and always came over for a chat.
The hotel has a cosy lounge and bar, the drinks are very reasonably priced. We dropped in on our last night and nearly every single guest was there having a drink and a chat, it was really nice- Andy bless him will keep the bar open as long as needed!!
Torquay was lovely, the beach and harbour are only a 5-10 minute walk from the hotel and the centre only about 15 so a great location.
Believe everything you read, this hotel deserves it's number 1 slot.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lstoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

We stayed 10 days in June and July 2010. Carol and Andy were absolute great hosts, more like friends than hotel-owners. Our room (Classic King) was a very good mixture of romantic and modern (bathroom) style. The Elmdene is a quit place you will enjoy. After having an excellent breakfast you can have a good drink or a snack at the bar at night or relax in the leisure room. The whole interior design is tasteful, comfortable and romantic.

You also will enjoy the wonderful city of Torquay and the great area of Torbay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fccologne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

Before arriving, the image of English B&B's still conjured up memories of Only Fools & Horses in Margate but the brilliant Elmdene couldn't be further from that. With it's excellent location, cleanliness and attention to detail it really put the 'break' into our short 3 night stay. The hosts, Andy & Carol were great and ensured everything was spot-on. I've returned to work today and really do feel relaxed although a little heavier thanks to probably the best full English breakfasts i've ever had.

Thanks again guys and Andy, good luck next season ;-)

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PortsmouthBlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2010

This is a beautiful hotel which is in a prime location just a few minutes walk to the sea front.The owners Andy and Carol are very welcoming and the room we stayed in was really lovely,bed was very comfortable and everything was spotless.There is ample parking so you do not have to worry about your car.The breakfast was very good with a wide choice to suit everyone tastes.There is also a bar area so if you do not want to go out of an evening you can have a drink there,they also serve bar meals at very reasonable prices.I f we go back to Torquay I would not hesitate in going back to the Elmdene Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hooplenewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 149 in Torquay
371 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Somerville
The Somerville
#4 of 149 in Torquay
1,114 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tyndale B&B
Tyndale B&B
#15 of 149 in Torquay
263 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Redholme B&B
The Redholme B&B
#3 of 149 in Torquay
519 reviews
0.5 mi away
Torcroft Boutique B&B
Torcroft Boutique B&B
#10 of 149 in Torquay
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elmdene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elmdene

Address: Rathmore Road, Torquay TQ2 6NZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £102 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Elmdene 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elmdene is quality 5 star visit britain graded guest accommodation, situated on the level in a tree lined road opposite open parkland. We have six en-suite bedrooms, we offer free onsite parking and free wi-fi. We are a short level walk to the seafront, train station and conference centre. The town and harbour are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Elmdene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elmdene Hotel Torquay
The Elmdene Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing