We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Harmony Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #24 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 31 October 2011

A family run hotel catering for everyone with a warm and friendly atmosphere and excellent food a definite visit again dai iawn

Room Tip: stayed in room 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanGusWoodington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monika_and_Hans, Owner at Harmony Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2011

Diolch yn fawr. This is as far as our Welsh goes. We speak several languages but this is unfortunately not one of them. Thank you for staying with us. It was the draw of luck since you booked in another place that was too full so they asked us to take you in. We were glad to do so and also glad to hear you were not disappointed to stay somewhere else. The fact you like to come back to us shows we are on the right path. We feel we’re not there yet, so next time your stay will be even better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2011

warm welcome,really friendly,and a lush breakfast,best in town,clean and well furnished,nothing was to much trouble for the lovely couple hans and monika,we cant wait to return next year

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorna j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monika_and_Hans, Owner at Harmony Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2011

We will be glad to see you back next year (we loved your Halloween costumes btw). You were booked into the hotel next door for the party, but that was too full. With a few others you came to us instead. First just for a room and you had your meals next door, but you decided to extend your visit and stay an extra night as our “real” own guests. Your “there is no comparison”-comment at breakfast when we were curious about what you had the days before, please us very much. We do our best to serve you the best breakfast we can and obviously we succeed. Thanks again and see you next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

My friend and I have stayed at Harmony House 3 times and always found it very comfortable. The new owners are very helpful and cook a lovely breakfast. The room was clean, attractive and the beds comfortable. This B & B is close to everything and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: We have always taken a room on the main floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flutterbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monika_and_Hans, Owner at Harmony Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2011

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear you like the way we are now running Harmony. It's always good to hear from guests that visited before that they still like to stay at Harmony. Being a clean B&B is one of Monika's main concerns. Nothing worse than staying in a messy and dirty place. We're still changing Harmony to really reflect the way we are ourselves; relaxed and friendly. Slowly we are getting there without going over the top in our price.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Just returned from a 2 night short stay at the Harmony Torquay, Hans and monika made us feel most welcome. hotel and room spotlessly clean and very good breakfast menu choice. would stay again.

Room Tip: Wheel chair access and Stannah lifts available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gloucestercouple553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monika_and_Hans, Owner at Harmony Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2011

Good to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We like to take care of our guest and offer our best. The first thing one can do is make sure everything is clean. Monika is not one to compromise in that area. When we travel ourselves and stay in other B&B places we also like choice, so we make sure there is plenty of choice for the breakfast. From personal experience we know how hard it is to travel with a handicap, so we do our best to cater for guests who have problems with stairs. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We only stayed one night to celebrate our anniversary & was made very welcome by hans & monica. The harmony was very inviting & clean. The breakfast was very nice & lots to choose from. Small details like the chocolates in are bedroom makes big impressions. Thank you to both of you. We hope to return soon with girls.

Room Tip: stayed in room 11 ensuite & comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2lynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monika_and_Hans, Owner at Harmony Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2011

One night is surely not enough. There is so much to do and to see in Torbay and in Devon. We're glad you enjoyed your short stay with us and hope to see you soon with your two girls. Our family room is big enough for you all to sleep comfortably and the girls will love the choice of different things to eat at breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Hans & Monika welcomed us as we arrived , they went the extra mile at very short notice to ensure that my Husband had full access into the Hotel by providing newly made ramps for use on entering the building. The accomodation was first class, clean, fresh and roomy.
Dining facilities are excellent, again accesable for my husband via a stair lift.All meals provided were cooked to individual order to an excellent standard, and superbly presented.Hans and Monika are an extremley friendly couple from the Netherlands who are providing what can only be be described as a 5 star service which we would reccomend to anyone. We arrived as guests, but felt we left as friends. We will be back!! Vicky & Tony Hayes ( Redditch - Worcestershire)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicksde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monika_and_Hans, Owner at Harmony Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2011

We're so glad you phoned us directly and not just looked at the booking sites, because now we knew about your special wishes and could provide you with the exact service you needed. We would like to see that more people would pick up the phone like that. For you access was your main concern and over the phone we could work out a solution. Normally Harmony shared a mobile ramp with the neighbors and that worked OK in the past, we've been told. Now ofcourse you snookered us with your request to have your meal next door, so they needed the ramp themselves. Knowing how important being independent is for anyone, there was only one thing we could do: make a propper ramp. Now others can use it as well. Thank you for snookering us. We planned to make a ramp, but had not come round to it. Now we have it for all to use. We like our friends to be able to come into our home, and now you can. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We stayed here for a week The new owners were delightful and very helpful. A great variety of items for breakfast. Monika and Hans were helpful and kind without being intrusive. We would certainly stay here again

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank baynham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monika_and_Hans, Owner at Harmony Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2011

One’s always a bit apprehensive when receiving guests that have been before. No matter what, it's in human nature to compare two experiences and you never know what will come out of it. Reading your comments we are succeeding it what we set out in our plans when we decided to go and run Harmony. Make it a place people want to come back to, because we offer them rest, a nice place to stay, advise and help without taking over. It’s your holiday and you make the choices. We only give you advise and a bit of guidance should you need it. The same with our breakfast; you make the choice of what you eat: A full cooked breakfast, a continental buffet breakfast or a mix the two and pick and choose what you like. All cooked from fresh and to your liking. We love to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
Avron House
Avron House
#28 of 149 in Torquay
217 reviews
0 mi away
Garway Lodge
Garway Lodge
#23 of 149 in Torquay
247 reviews
1.5 mi away
Headland View
Headland View
#37 of 149 in Torquay
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Marina
Villa Marina
#22 of 149 in Torquay
265 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#6 of 149 in Torquay
390 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tyndale B&B
Tyndale B&B
#16 of 149 in Torquay
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harmony Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmony Bed and Breakfast

Address: 67 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £61 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harmony Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harmony Bed and Breakfast is exclusively for adults, providing our guests the perfect opportunity to relax. The Harmony has eight letting bedrooms, all of which are en-suite. We have a twin room, a super-king room and six double rooms (one ground floor). We offer a range of double rooms to suit any budget, with three standard doubles (one on the ground floor), one superior double and two large superior doubles (one with a bath). We have plenty of on-site free parking with more than enough space for each room. For breakfast, guests are welcome to help themselves to any of the selection available from our breakfast bar, such as, ham, cheese, juices, milk, cereals, muesli, fresh fruit, yogurts, spreads and jams. Cooked breakfasts are prepared to order and guests can select from our cooked breakfast menu. We now have an honesty bar system in our guest lounge. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Harmony Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harmony Bed And Breakfast Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing