We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet location. Vic F”
Review of Aveland House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aveland House
Ranked #73 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Very good service, great breakfast, room fine, very peaceful, easy walk to local attractions. The owners were warm and wecolming and apart from being a Man U fan, faultless

Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank Vic F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2012

We discovered Aveland hotel in the Tourist guide and what a discovery it turned out to be. We were greeted by 2 very friendly people and they were always there for us during our stay doing all they could to make our stay better. The hotel is in a quiet part of Babbacombe but within easy reach of the sea front and shops and there is a regular bus service into Torquay (where free parking is very nearly impossible) and use of the bus pass was a great advantage.The hotel was very clean, food very good and 2 very comfortable lounges for the evenings.It is near to the football ground which is useful for visiting supporters.The fact that there was no TV in the room did not bother us and this is an idea that could be used by other hotels to avoid guests being disturbed by unwelcome noise. We will be back, why look for somewhere else when all you need is present in this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We were somewhat disappointed that this B and B was not on the sea front but this did not matter as we received such a warm welcome.Our bedroom was fairly small but very clean and well-equipped with a good shower cubicle. There was no TV in the room but there were two lounges for our use and also a small bar.Breakfast was very good with an enormous choice of local preserves.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tryfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

first time to aveland house and we will go back for sure,lovely house,very clean and the owners very nice.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adel243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We have recently enjoyed our second visit to Avaland House. The welcoming cuppa on arrival and friendly chat definitely helps you unwind from the journey. The room was very clean and comfortable - we slept like logs. Breakfast was superb with an excellent choice of well cooked food. The produce was local which we like and there was even homemade preserves, some of which were quite unusual and yummy.

We stayed some time ago with 'mum' who needs a Gluten Free diet. This was also well catered for which is often very difficult to find in most hotels who don't fully understand the restrictions needed for a person suffering from Ceoliac's disease.

We would happily recommend this hotel for it's good hospitality and all round excellent accommodation. Close to all emenities and parking. In our opinion it covers all you need for a super holiday in Babbacombe, Torquay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Easy to find with parking on site. Friendly welcome. Good room size. Very comfortable and excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Home from home, a warm welcome on arrival even though I was rather muddy after a day in the countryside. Room was clean and well decorated with everything I needed, including a shower that worked perfectly (Not something you normally get in B&Bs.)
Breakfast was generous and beautifully cooked.
Owners were extremely helpful and put me at ease as soon as I arrived.
I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
The Patricia Guest House
The Patricia Guest House
#49 of 85 in Torquay
105 reviews
1.1 mi away
Frognel Hall Hotel
Frognel Hall Hotel
#51 of 85 in Torquay
118 reviews
1.1 mi away
Trelawney Hotel
Trelawney Hotel
#28 of 85 in Torquay
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,082 reviews
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#31 of 85 in Torquay
614 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Iona Torquay
The Iona Torquay
#56 of 149 in Torquay
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aveland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aveland House

Address: Aveland House Aveland Road | Babbacombe, Torquay TQ1 3PT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £83 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aveland House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aveland House AA 4 Star Guest Accommodation Babbacombe,Torquay Devon.Just a short walk to Babbacombe sea front, FREE WI-FI throughout your stay. Free Parking. Come & enjoy breathtaking views glorious beaches, coastal path walks & our wonderful tourist attractions! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your Aveland House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aveland House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing