We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Torquay”
Review of Aveland House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aveland House
Ranked #72 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 10 October 2012

I didn't think it would be possible for Jacqui and David to be more welcoming but this time they surpassed themselves. As returning guests it was lovely to be greeted with a cup of tea and a bit of a chat after our 6 hour drive from Kent. Always happy to offer their local knowledge and directions to the point of David producing a map to Bovey Tracey even though I didn't even ask for one. It's the little things that matter and Jacqui and David can always find time to provide those little touches.

We were given room 8 at the front of the house which was absolutely perfect for our 2 night stay. Wonderfully clean, with crisp white bed linen and the tea and coffee and bathroom facilities fully stocked. Breakfast was super with a wide range to choose from including locally produced bacon, sausages, eggs and more.

Aveland House is ideally placed to explore Babbacombe, Oddicombe and St. Marychurch, is only a short trip away from Torquay town centre and is the best place to stay if you are travelling football fan off to Plainmoor.

This really is a wonderful place to stay run by a fabulous couple. After 4 visits I can honestly say that there is nothing that I would fault. Keep up the good work Jacqui and David (and family). See you soon.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed in this B&B in September. The reason we ended up here was because we'd had such a bad experince at the Torquay Travelodge and we were trying to find somewhere to stay for our second night. Luckily Aveland house had a family room that hadn't been booked. The owners immediately welcomed us in and because of our bad night in the Travelodge they invited us to have a look at the rooms before we booked.
This B&B is absolutley spotless, very clean and tidy which is just what you want when you are on a family break. Nothing was too much trouble from the owners. There wasn't a TV in our room but there is a TV room downstairs in the B&B.
The owners even made sure they spoke to our children and remembered their names. They also checked with us what we usually ate for breakfast. They gave us information about the area and where we could visit with the children.
The breakfast was excellent. All the sausages, bacon and eggs are sourced locally and are absolutely delicious. We would definitely consider using this hotel again in the future.

A big thank you to the owners that rescued our weekend and made our stay comfortable and relaxing! Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: The family room had a double bed and a bunk bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alic500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We have stayed at this guest house with my wife and daughter. Having worked at a 4 star hotel before, I have found this place extremely clean. Landlady Jacqui and her husband were very friendly and helpful. We will definitely return if we stay in the area again. Keep smiling Jacqui and keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Rooms are quite anywhere in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sinan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Just returned from our four night stay at the Aveland House.
Just can't fault it ,made to feel very welcome indeed.
Great breakfast and Sausages from the local butchers excellent ! !
One of the Cleanest hotels we have ever stayed in,a credit to the resident owners .
Good location...

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Fantastic owners made us feel very welcome. Local area was quiet and peaceful, and the location was very near torquay station and the city center. Breakfasts were excellent, and the rooms were very cosy. I recommend this guest house to everyone!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Really enjoyed my 5-night stay at Aveland House. Was made to feel very welcome by the owners and the room was spotlessly clean. Breakfasts were v tasty and plenty of choice available. The rooms do not have a TV but this made for a lovely, quiet and peaceful hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zenith123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We had a great time here with my father. The owners are very friendly and helpful and our room was very nice and clean. We will definitely recommend Aveland House to our friends ,and hopefully we can go next year as well. Thank you for everything! :)

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank JenoKata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
The Patricia Guest House
The Patricia Guest House
#49 of 85 in Torquay
105 reviews
1.1 mi away
Frognel Hall Hotel
Frognel Hall Hotel
#52 of 85 in Torquay
118 reviews
1.1 mi away
Trelawney Hotel
Trelawney Hotel
#28 of 85 in Torquay
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,082 reviews
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#31 of 85 in Torquay
614 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Iona Torquay
The Iona Torquay
#57 of 149 in Torquay
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aveland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aveland House

Address: Aveland House Aveland Road | Babbacombe, Torquay TQ1 3PT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £83 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aveland House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aveland House AA 4 Star Guest Accommodation Babbacombe,Torquay Devon.Just a short walk to Babbacombe sea front, FREE WI-FI throughout your stay. Free Parking. Come & enjoy breathtaking views glorious beaches, coastal path walks & our wonderful tourist attractions! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your Aveland House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aveland House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing