We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 minutes walk to Torquay Football Ground”
Review of Aveland House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aveland House
Ranked #73 of 150 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 24 March 2013

If you are visiting Torquay to support football Aveland House is just round the corner yet set in a lovely quiet road with wonderful hosts.

Jacqui and David at the Aveland House made us so welcome and couldn't do enough to help us. The breakfast was first class and the variety of preserves amazing.

The icing on the cake was Jacqui's knowledge about gluten free diets. She produced gluten free biscuits and tea on arrival and delicious sausages and bread with the breakfast. Well done Jacqui it meant we didn't have to worry and could relax and enjoy our weekend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2013

We stayed for a weekend at Aveland House and had a wonderful time. Thanks to Jaqui and David who were the perfect hosts, extremely friendly and welcoming. Our room was large, bright and absolutely spotless, also the shower was great. It was the best night's sleep we have had in ages as the bed was so comfortable. Breakfast was really tasty, we particularly loved the local sausages! We explored the seaside towns of Torquay, Babacoombe and Paignton and would definately stay here again on any future trips to Devon.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank travellinggenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

The place was very clean and tidy. There was lots of room for parking. I was made very welcome. Offered Tea and Biscuits on arrival.
No TV in the room but a very nice TV lounge where I could watch TV
Bed was small but comfy. Breakfast was very good. Breakfast was any time I wanted

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013 via mobile

Despite the howling winds of a bleak mid-winter day, Aveland House made me feel comfortable and welcome for my short stay.

The room was spotless and the facilities provided me with everything I needed. The full English breakfast is a meal to relish, cooked with all the finest ingredients.

Having found Aveland House, I would not stay anywhere else in Torquay. I look forward to returni g their soon.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobNewham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

We have stayed at the Aveland House a few times now and its high standard has always been maintaned. The food is good the rooms always clean and from the moment you arrive nothing is too much trouble for Jacqui and David. The location of the Hotel is ideal for us with St Mary Church and Babbacombe close by and the local bus routes into Torquay shopping centres

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickharradine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

I received a warm welcome and was very impressed with the standard of accommodation, meals and service where attention was paid to detail. I plan on staying at Aveland House again when visiting Torquay.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobNewham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

This was my second stay at Aveland House and was just as enjoyable as the first time. I agree that the owners could not be more welcoming and helpful. The accommodation is very clean and the breakfasts are excellent with plenty of choice. The hotel is in a very quiet location but within easy waiking distance to shops, restaurants and the beautiful Babbacombe bay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank celia o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
Trelawney Hotel
Trelawney Hotel
#28 of 86 in Torquay
138 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Patricia Guest House
The Patricia Guest House
#48 of 86 in Torquay
105 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anchorage Hotel
Anchorage Hotel
#68 of 86 in Torquay
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Frognel Hall Hotel
Frognel Hall Hotel
#54 of 86 in Torquay
118 reviews
1.0 mi away
Torcroft Boutique B&B
Torcroft Boutique B&B
#10 of 150 in Torquay
296 reviews
0.2 mi away
Abberley Guest House
Abberley Guest House
#93 of 150 in Torquay
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aveland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aveland House

Address: Aveland House Aveland Road | Babbacombe, Torquay TQ1 3PT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £83 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aveland House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aveland House AA 4 Star Guest Accommodation Babbacombe,Torquay Devon.Just a short walk to Babbacombe sea front, FREE WI-FI throughout your stay. Free Parking. Come & enjoy breathtaking views glorious beaches, coastal path walks & our wonderful tourist attractions! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aveland House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aveland House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing