We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Helpful Hosts”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Aveland House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aveland House
Ranked #73 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Helpful Hosts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

We travelled to Torquay by train to support our local football club York City. the journey was eventful - namely fallen trees and snow affecting the brakes on the trains.

On ringing Aveland House to advise them of our delay Jacqui immediately suggested a change to our destination and organised a local taxi to meet us at Newton Abbott. She was at the door to greet us and expediate a quick turnaround which meant we were able to arrive at the football ground only 5 minutes into the game.

Our stay at Aveland House was extremely comfortable with a lovely breakfast next morning to send us on our return journey.

An ideal situation for football supporters and visitors to Torquay alike.
PW

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    28
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
32
63
31
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

If you are visiting Torquay to support football Aveland House is just round the corner yet set in a lovely quiet road with wonderful hosts.

Jacqui and David at the Aveland House made us so welcome and couldn't do enough to help us. The breakfast was first class and the variety of preserves amazing.

The icing on the cake was Jacqui's knowledge about gluten free diets. She produced gluten free biscuits and tea on arrival and delicious sausages and bread with the breakfast. Well done Jacqui it meant we didn't have to worry and could relax and enjoy our weekend.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlandsuk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a weekend at Aveland House and had a wonderful time. Thanks to Jaqui and David who were the perfect hosts, extremely friendly and welcoming. Our room was large, bright and absolutely spotless, also the shower was great. It was the best night's sleep we have had in ages as the bed was so comfortable. Breakfast was really tasty, we particularly loved the local sausages! We explored the seaside towns of Torquay, Babacoombe and Paignton and would definately stay here again on any future trips to Devon.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank travellinggenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013

The place was very clean and tidy. There was lots of room for parking. I was made very welcome. Offered Tea and Biscuits on arrival.
No TV in the room but a very nice TV lounge where I could watch TV
Bed was small but comfy. Breakfast was very good. Breakfast was any time I wanted

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013 via mobile

Despite the howling winds of a bleak mid-winter day, Aveland House made me feel comfortable and welcome for my short stay.

The room was spotless and the facilities provided me with everything I needed. The full English breakfast is a meal to relish, cooked with all the finest ingredients.

Having found Aveland House, I would not stay anywhere else in Torquay. I look forward to returni g their soon.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobNewham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shefford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

We have stayed at the Aveland House a few times now and its high standard has always been maintaned. The food is good the rooms always clean and from the moment you arrive nothing is too much trouble for Jacqui and David. The location of the Hotel is ideal for us with St Mary Church and Babbacombe close by and the local bus routes into Torquay shopping centres

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickharradine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

I received a warm welcome and was very impressed with the standard of accommodation, meals and service where attention was paid to detail. I plan on staying at Aveland House again when visiting Torquay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobNewham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
Anchorage Hotel
Anchorage Hotel
#77 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.3 mi away
Headland View
Headland View
#50 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Babbacombe Guest House
Babbacombe Guest House
#55 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Babbacombe Palms Guest House
0.3 mi away
The Babbacombe Royal Hotel
The Babbacombe Royal Hotel
#47 of 153 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seabreeze at Babbacombe
Seabreeze at Babbacombe
#49 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aveland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aveland House

Property: Aveland House
Address: Aveland House Aveland Road | Babbacombe, Torquay TQ1 3PT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aveland House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aveland House AA 4 Star Guest Accommodation Babbacombe,Torquay Devon.Just a short walk to Babbacombe sea front, FREE WI-FI throughout your stay. Free Parking. Come & enjoy breathtaking views glorious beaches, coastal path walks & our wonderful tourist attractions! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aveland House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aveland House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing