We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming well presented spotlessly clean and cosy family run.”
Review of Aveland House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aveland House
Ranked #74 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very welcoming well presented spotlessly clean and cosy family run.”
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

Upon our arrival my husband and I were warmley greeted and shown to a very wel presented, cosy and spotlessly clean room.We were well looked after by the family who run it and would happily stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maria a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    29
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
32
64
32
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Outstanding Bed & Breakfast accommodation! Wonderful hosts, nothing too much trouble, amazingly clean and a great breakfast, even gave us a small map where they had marked places to go, will not be forgotten in a hurry.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HelenaD1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solihull
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Family atmosphere, home from home, nothing to much trouble,
Jackie & David perfect hosts, spotlessly clean,good food. good value for money.
I enjoyed a relaxing weekend stay...
I would have no hesitation in recomending "Aveland House Babbacombe" as an excellent
place to stay and it would be a pleasure to stay again in future.

downside, My stay was too short..

Gil, solihull.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gilbert p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This B&B is run like a well-oiled machine. It's exceptionally clean, the owners are friendly and helpful, and the food is of a very high quality indeed. If I were to try to come up with a down-side it might be that the internet connection seemed a little slow at times. Such a trivial matter did nothing to diminish the enjoyment of our stay, however; we enjoyed great comfort, the location far exceeded our expectations, and the value for money was tremendous.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GSB462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The Aveland House Hotel has a great atmosphere, and the food is superb. I have Coeliac disease, and often struggle to find places that understand the meaning of "gluten free". That wasn't the case here. David and Jackie (who run the Aveland) know all about gluten free cooking, so my wife and I were able to relax and enjoy our stay.
The friendliness of the owners, David a& Jackie) really makes this place.
Our car had a flat battery the morning after our arrival (I'd left the lights on!). Not a problem at the Aveland. No need to call the breakdown services, David got his jump leads out and used his car to start ours.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Stayed overnight at May Bank Holiday. Hosts were very pleasant and the hotel was very clean and tidy. Good parking and very ready to accept bikers. Very close to Babbacombe town and the seafront, probably 5 mins walk tops. Breakfasts were great, just what was needed after a night out in Torquay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Just over the road from Plainmoor so ideal for visiting football fans. I stayed one night when coming down from Essex to support Torquay in relegation decider and there were several Bristol Rovers fans staying too.

A few minutes walk from Babbacombe sea front, or bus to Torquay centre / harbour (or 30 minute walk - Ok down but I got the bus back!)

Friendly owners. Comfortable bedroom with nice bathroom & excellent shower. Excellent breakfast.

My only negative comment is that walls are very thin so could hear noise from adjoining room. Maybe that's why there are no TVs in room (but there are two lounges with TVs).

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
Anchorage Hotel
Anchorage Hotel
#72 of 87 in Torquay
375 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avron House
Avron House
#34 of 149 in Torquay
200 reviews
0.2 mi away
Babbacombe Palms Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Babbacombe Guest House
Babbacombe Guest House
#54 of 149 in Torquay
201 reviews
0.2 mi away
Babbacombe Hall
Babbacombe Hall
#67 of 149 in Torquay
136 reviews
0.3 mi away
Headland View
Headland View
#49 of 149 in Torquay
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aveland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aveland House

Property: Aveland House
Address: Aveland House Aveland Road | Babbacombe, Torquay TQ1 3PT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aveland House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aveland House AA 4 Star Guest Accommodation Babbacombe,Torquay Devon.Just a short walk to Babbacombe sea front, FREE WI-FI throughout your stay. Free Parking. Come & enjoy breathtaking views glorious beaches, coastal path walks & our wonderful tourist attractions! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Aveland House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aveland House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing