We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Guest Accomodation I've ever been to!”
Review of Aveland House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aveland House
Ranked #68 of 150 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Vancouver Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Guest Accomodation I've ever been to!”
Reviewed 29 March 2010

My time at the Aveland House was second to none. Jacqui and David were extremely warm with the welcome and the friendliness remained throughout my time with them. They were full of local information and keen to assist with any enquiries or complaints (with the area). Very clean and warm hotel, nice quiet area about 5 minutes walk from restaurants, shops etc. Great location for exploring Devon and Cornwall in general. Hotel is also very environmentally conscious, which is a nice change. I will stay with them again and recommend it to pretty much anyone.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lollslynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    29
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
32
68
32
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
bognorregis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2009

A friend and myself decided to have a getaway weekend on the south devon coast.
During our search we noticed that Averland House had lots of very good reviews on
on the sites we checked on , so we decided to book 3 nights , !AND THEN WE FOUND OUT WHY ! What a great hotel/ guest house Averland is. Jacqui and Dave, are the best hosts you could come across nothing is to much trouble and there guest house is the cleanest we have ever stayed in. also Jacqui's breakfasts will keep you going most of the day if not all. So hats off to Averland House , it ticks all of the boxes for us. we will be back and soon.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bognorsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2009

we have stayed at this hotel several times and every time it is exceptional. Friendly, clean and welcoming. Near lots of attractions and only minutes away from Bygones and Babbacombe Model Village. Superb food. What more can i say brilliant.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sylevester777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2009

We found Jacqui and David extremely hospitable, The room was extremely clean, and very comfortable. The house was beautiful, very homely. Jacqui couldnt do enough for us anything we needed she would provide if possible. Extremely friendly atmosphere and would definately stay there again! The only bad thing i would say about our stay is that we werent there longer!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunburned12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2009

We decided to take the grandchildren away for a short break and found Aveland House hotel on the internet. We booked online and then off we went. We found the hotel very easily from the instructions given to us. On our arrival we found Jacqui and David the proprietors very welcoming, the family room we had booked suited our puposes very well. It was clean and comfortable and the hotel has a family feel. Jacqui and David were very helpful with where and what to see and knew their location in detail. They advised us on what was available to visit and things to do we would have stayed longer if time had allowed. Very enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daytrippersevenoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2009

We had a four-night stay and from the moment we walked in we felt at home. Althouh the standards were very high, with a professioanl approach, the welcome was friendly, making us feel comfortable. The owners were approachable and always available but not `in your face`. The food was excellent and the room very clean and cosy. Hadn`t been to Devon for about 25 years, but if we go again, this is where we`d stay. Recommend it to anyone. Althouh we`re easily pleased, when we go away, we like things done properly. They certainly hit the spot !

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeithandCandice110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
Anchorage Hotel
Anchorage Hotel
#72 of 87 in Torquay
378 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avron House
Avron House
#28 of 150 in Torquay
205 reviews
0.2 mi away
Babbacombe Palms Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Babbacombe Guest House
Babbacombe Guest House
#63 of 150 in Torquay
202 reviews
0.2 mi away
Babbacombe Hall
Babbacombe Hall
#70 of 150 in Torquay
137 reviews
0.3 mi away
Headland View
Headland View
#40 of 150 in Torquay
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aveland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aveland House

Property: Aveland House
Address: Aveland House Aveland Road | Babbacombe, Torquay TQ1 3PT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aveland House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aveland House AA 4 Star Guest Accommodation Babbacombe,Torquay Devon.Just a short walk to Babbacombe sea front, FREE WI-FI throughout your stay. Free Parking. Come & enjoy breathtaking views glorious beaches, coastal path walks & our wonderful tourist attractions! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Aveland House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aveland House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing