We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Ranked #10 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2012

I have just returned from a 3 night stay sharing room 42 with my mum and my brother had room 44. At 6.5 months pregnant I really needed a restful break and it did not.
We had been regular guests for 6 years but this is our first stay under the new ownership and we were really pleased to find a lovely old style hotel had been enhanced so beautifully. The rooms were finished to a very high standard with a twist of of old and contemporary styles, the bathrooms were modern and spotless and the beds were extremely comfortable. Unlike previous visits the water pressure and temperature of the shower was fantastic!!
Being vegetarians we found the staff very accommodating to our needs and a wide variety of evening meal choices.
The staff were so friendly and helpful moving us to a cooler table when the heat wave of this week was too much for me to sit at our usual table in the dining room. The service was excellent.
We viewed the serviced apartments and these too were of a very high standard. My husband has yet to stay at the hotel but we hope to book an apartment in 2013 and that this becomes a regular holiday spot for our family.
Finally, the car parking spaces have been made wider than during previous visits and this is really helpful especially when pregnant or if you required a larger area to exit a car for any other reason.
Excellent job on the refurbishment and thanks for a memorable stay

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vikki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (665)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

646 - 652 of 665 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2012

I have recently returned after 4 nights at the Lincombe Hall Hotel. The hotel decor was tasteful and very comfortable. The Restaurant seating times were structured in a manner to give first class service, and in my case from David and Sam.Entertainment was provide every night to please everyone. Our room 35 was a Patio Room in the West Wing which was large with a comfortable King Size bed, and the bathroom was to a very high standard with a powerful shower.The outdoor heated swimming pool was used and very enjoyable. The Hotel is in a very quite location just a short down hill stroll into town centre. Finally the owner Brett and all the staff were very friendly and approachable. I have stayed in many hotels in Torquay but this is number 1 for me.

Room Tip: All the rooms were to a very high standard, room 32,33,34,35,with patios, located in the West Wing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maurice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We recently stayed here with family for a special birthday. The first couple of days were stress free although there was no entertainment, even though when it was booked in January we were informed there would be.
The rooms are lovely however - if you are in the West Wing there are NO BLINDS AT THE BATHROOM WINDOWS.......also the floor boards were so bad you dreaded walking on them. I live in an old house and they aren't this bad. The people in the room next door to me complained at how loud they were which made me paranoid to be walking about!
A coach party of approximately 40 people arrived on the Tuesday - which made the rest of the stay seem a bit rushed especially at dinner and breakfast. Breakfast on the Wednesday was a complete disaster and it seemed that we didn't matter because we were only a few people and not a coach party. If it wasn't for the Hotel Manager - David then the stay wouldn't have been worth it. He works very hard and trys to keep everyone happy even the some of the waiting staff aren't up to the job.

Room Tip: Stay in the main house - the floors might not be so creaky! also you might get a bathroom blind..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elizabeth344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettandJo, Owner at Lincombe Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Thank you for your review and the positive comments about our lovely rooms. I am sorry some aspects of your stay were disappointing. Your review is presumably the second review from your family group, raising similar issues about a perceived change in the standards of the hotel from when we were quiet at the start of your stay (which was why we didn't have any live entertainment on your first night) to the latter part of your stay when we were busier and a large private group had arrived. We try and treat all our guests as individuals and to the same high standards, and every guest matters to us, which is why we provide a questionaire to every guest asking for feedback, and every response is read by me as Owner, and also by both our Hotel Manager David and our Restaurant/Bar Manager Chris. Over the last three months prior to your group staying 100% of our guests have responded positively to 'would return' and 'would recommend' and we have spent the last two years, a lot of hard work and money bringing a rundown hotel back to what we hope is a lovely place to stay. We know from the vast proportion of guests that they appreciate the massive change in the hotel, the exceptional standards of service, food and facilities but I am very sorry your family group did not feel as enamoured. I would have preferred to have spoken to you in person before you left, as that is the way we try and address and resolve issues.
On the specific points you raise, our floorboards do squeek a bit, it is a lovely old building with character and we have tried to reduce the 'squeeking' as we have refurbished each bedroom and bathroom but save from replacing every floorboard there is little more we can do. The bathroom in question for Room 42 has a arched window which is impossible to fit a blind but it does have opaque glass and as it is quite high up, I didn't think it causes any embarrasment, but we will look at it again following your comments. The majority of bathrooms, and all where it beleive there may be an issue, have new wooden slatted blinds in keeping with the updated decor of the bathrooms, all 46 of which we have now been refurbished during the last 2 years as well as refurbishing all the bedrooms, lounges, bar, restaurant and pools.
I suppose the old adage of 'you can't please everyone' stands, although we and all the staff at the hotel try our utmost. I am truly sorry that your family group did not enjoy their stay as much as all of our other guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Had a short stay here, really nice place and very helpfull staff. First class buffet breakfast, didn`t have meal in the evening but others said it was very good. Very close to harbour up a steep hill, but there is a bus service to outside hotel, if you like Indian food first class food at bottom of hill (think its called sim a spice ) £9.95 on a wednesday for starter and main. entertainment in hotel everynight we stayed there but mostly older people so it was quiet. Will def return a really nice place

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TAFFY5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettandJo, Owner at Lincombe Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Thank you for your great review, it is always pleasing to get great feedback. The Indian Restaurant at the bottom of the hill is called Simla Spice and is very good (and convenient just at the bottom of the hill), although I would also say our food is also great. We look forward to seeing you again at the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

I have just returned after 4 nights at the Lincombe Hall Hotel. The facilities are marvellous, 1 indoor swimming pool + 1 heated outside pool which appeared to be well used even though the weather wasn't very 'summery'! Most evenings there is some form of entertainment which is very pleasant to sit with a drink and relax. The food was excellent with a choice of menu and they will willingly cater for people with different food requests. Our room (16) was very comfortable with lovely views over the pool and towards the sea, we had a very comfortable bed that gave us an excellent few nights sleep! The bathroom had been recently refurbished and had a very powerful shower.Finally the staff....what can I say, they were all fantastic and went the 'extra mile'. The owner Brett was very hospitable and helpful. Can thoroughly recommend this hotel if you are visiting Devon

Room Tip: The 'Gold' rooms are slightly better, but all rooms are very comfortable from what I could s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrea_walters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettandJo, Owner at Lincombe Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

What a fabulous review, thank you very much. We are very pleased you enjoyed all the food, facilities and entertainment, but the most pleasing comments for us are about our staff. We believe we have a great team and every one of them is committed to giving our guests the best stay possible. Hopefully you will be back soon, especially as the sun is now shining and the outdoor pool and jacuzzi being enjoyed by all the guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012 via mobile

We had our wedding at the Lincombe Hall Hotel on Saturday and all we can say is wow. From the second we arrived with all of our stuff to the moment we left, nothing was too much trouble for the fabulous staff at the hotel. All of our guests were extremely pleased with their rooms and loved staying there. We could not have chosen a better hotel and the fact that it wasnt very well known amongst our guests made it more special as everyone had a fantastic time. Drinks were very reasonably priced and the food was outstanding - best soup we have ever tasted. Every guest enjoyed their meal. Every member of staff is a credit to Brett and Jo, especially the manager David, nothing was too much trouble for him and he made our day for us. Suzie and Sabrina were also fantastic as well as every other member of staff on. We would recommend this hotel to anyone, from a nights stay away to the biggest day of their lives.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovelondon1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettandJo, Owner at Lincombe Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

I don't really know what to say other than we are so pleased you had a wonderful wedding day to remember. All the staff love having wedding receptions at the hotel, and we try to make every one special, unique and perfect. Our Head Chef will be pleased the soup got a special mention as will all the staff. Thank you and we wish you both a wonderful future together, you make a fabulous couple.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Spent four nights here,lovely refurbished rooms,lovely indoor swimming pool,menu was disappointing same every other day ,when the coach party arrived on second day it all went to pot! Menu choice reduced ...our reserved table of eight was taken at breakfast by two people! We were told to wait until they put some tables together we waited outside for 45 minutes,pots of tea coffee was missed toast was forgotten we had to keep asking...we are not the usual sort of people to moan at all,I had a pudding which did have nuts in luckily my husband spotted before I started as I'm allergic to nuts! Member of family wasn't well so put a do not disturb on door so was expecting not to have the room done unusually wasn't done in morning,other two rooms had no sign and wasn't done hotel owner Brett felt put out that we asked if our rooms could be cleaned etc it wasn't cheap especially having gold & superior graded rooms, bretts attitude was disgraceful but thankfully we had a great hotel manager David who was excellent in rectifying these situations and offered us some free drinks,Brett is lucky to have David as if it was just Brett it wouldn't be successful , as for the menu it was varied but the same every two days when coach party arrived the quantity was reduced without a doubt , we have always stopped at the headland / overmead further up the road but the rooms needed updating so thought we wold try this one , we are now returning back to the headland as we visited and have now now refurbished and as for the food menu it was amazing and we know how good their food was , before you enquire compare both heAdland comes out tops on value quality.hope this helps Brett and jo to further improve the negatives and turn to positives as they have lovely views and grounds.

Room Tip: Superior just as good as a gold room not much difference at all just a hefty price tag
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettandJo, Owner at Lincombe Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Thank you for your review and your positive comments about our lovely refurbished bedrooms, indoor pool, grounds and views. We are sorry however that you were disappointed with some other parts of your stay. We do not alter our menus when we have a group staying at the hotel, and always offer six choices of starter, five choices of main course and seven deserts along with coffee served in the lounge. The main course dishes change every day, and include two meat options, a fish option, a pasta option and a salad. Of the six starters and seven deserts, two are daily specials and four/five alternate every other day. This allows us to offer true homemade food to a very high standard but at competitive rates - the three course dinner with coffee as part of a dinner bed and breakfast package is charged at £12 per person, which we feel is amazing value considering the quality of food and service.
The group that was here during the latter part of your stay was a delightful private gardening group. We try and treat every guest as an individual and to the same high standards regardless as to how they travelled to the hotel. Many of the guests in this group had booked Superior or Gold Rooms and all, as far as we were aware, really enjoyed their stay.
It was very unfortunate that a room was missed on one day by one of our housekeeping staff, a rare occurence and simply down to a misunderstanding on her part, although we did believe we had rectified the situation as best and quickly as we could as our Head Housekeeper came in and attended to the room immediately and you were given, by way of an apology, a free round of drinks for all 8 in your group. We don't reserve tables at breakfast, unlike dinner where we book times, which is why you had to wait until four double tables that were available could be pushed together. If you had been happy to separate we could have accommodated you immediately, however David understood that you wanted to be seated as a group of 8. The next morning we did reserve a table, as an exception, for your group, in recognition that you had waited the morning before.
We weren't informed you had a nut allergy otherwise we would have been extra careful in informing you about any dishes that contain nuts. Your comment has been very helpful in our training with our staff, as with the desert in question, which was one of the specials and not actually listed on the menu, we have now ensured the waiting staff inform all guests that it does contain nuts (chocolate nut brownie instead of chocolate brownie). The only other item on our menu that does conatin nuts (Pesto) is now marked as such.
We are sorry you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay as we try and ensure every guest has a fabulous time and returns to us. I hope that you continue to come to Torquay as it is a lovely part of the country with lots to see and do even if you are not staying with us. We feel we offer fabulous value considering the facilities - indoor and outdoor pool, jacuzzi, tennis court and lovely grounds, standards of service, food, location and lovely refurbished bedrooms and bathrooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,114 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 85 in Torquay
914 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#30 of 85 in Torquay
2,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#6 of 85 in Torquay
520 reviews
1 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#54 of 85 in Torquay
977 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#23 of 85 in Torquay
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lincombe Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lincombe Hall Hotel

Address: Lincombe Hall Meadfoot Road, Torquay TQ1 2JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Torquay
#7 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £70 - £999 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lincombe Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently awarded AA 4 Stars, Lincombe Hall Hotel is the first EXCLUSIVELY FOR ADULTS (no children under 16), privately owned hotel, in Torquay. Winner of Hotel of the Year 2012, Silver 2013 and 2014 for South Devon, Bronze for Devon 2012 and 2014 and 4th Place in SW England Hotel of the Year 2012-13, Lincombe Hall Hotel has been extensively refurbished to become one of the best hotels in Torquay. Located just a few minutes walk from the harbour and marina, upmarket restaurants and shops, Lincombe Hall Hotel offers tastefully decorated bedrooms, some with sea views, complimentary WiFi across the whole hotel, a beautiful heated outdoor pool and jacuzzi, large patio, heated small indoor pool and jacuzzi, ample free parking, spacious bar and lounge areas with live entertainment on alternate nights all set in extensive grounds. Choose from oversized Gold Rooms, many with sea views, large Superior Rooms, or one of our upgraded Standard Rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lincombe Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lincombe Hall Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing