We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant and relaxing Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lincombe Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Ranked #9 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Pleasant and relaxing Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

The Lincombe is quite a surprise ... Less that 400mtrs from the Harbour you find yourself in beautiful woodland setting with a well thought out combination of buildings giving a hotel of quite a high standard.. The gardens were delightful giving an option to relax with drink , or a cool off in a lovely( warm ) outdoor pool. The lounges were warm and inviting , with the chance to enjoy the entertainment ,or just have a chat with a very friendly set of guests!
We stayed in a Gold room which gave us a view of the gardens, pool and beyond , It was spacious , clean and cosy . with just the right amount of period furnishings .
The restaurant again another successful venture with the terrace below the front tables a pretty setting for dinner or breakfast. The meals were varied , not all of our choice, but we ate well and the fish was superb on the Friday evening.
No review i complete unless there is a mention of the staff... In this instance they were impecable ..It was our first visit and their help and courteous nature made us feel verycomfortable thro our stay!
Good luck all at Lincombe .. see you soon!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AUSTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettandJo, Owner at Lincombe Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Thank you for such a lovely review, we and all the staff really appreciate your comments and are very pleased you had such a lovely stay with us. We want the Hotel to feel like a second home to our guests and hopefully we are succeeding. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    103
    17
    3
    1
See reviews for
98
332
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

My Wife and I have just returned from a 2-day stay at Lincombe Hall where we joined with friends who live locally, and chose the venue for their wedding vow renewal celebrations. Now, when local people choose a venue for such an important event - especially in an area with such a vast amount of hotels - you can pretty much guarantee that they have done their homework, shopped around, asked a lot of questions and have looked at a lot of alternatives before making the important decision. I can see why they chose Lincombe Hall Hotel. Checking into a hotel is usually a formality; You say your name, they find your room, give you a key, tell you where your room is and off you go to become part of the furniture for a while. Not here. I had never set a foot in Lincombe Hall before but the Receptionist made us feel as if we were returning home, the Manager, David, walked from behind the bar and stood to welcome us personally as the Receptionist walked with us to give perfect directions to our room. What a perfect and heart-warming welcome.

We stayed in a gold room (7) which is beautiful. Massive windows, excellent bathroom and shower facilities and a bed that matches the ones at the Sofitel group of Hotels for comfort. The added bonus in this room is the free WIFI connection is at full strength so grab this one if you need to check your facebook!!...An earlier review mentions the floorboards squeaking a bit...So what?..It's not a new-build and if you don't like character and beautiful period decor, find a premier inn. So that's a five star for the hotel from me so far and i wil definitely return. Now onto the reason we were there in the first place;

If you are looking for places to organise and run an important event, be it 'hatches' 'matches' or 'dispatches', look no further than Lincombe Hall Hotel. I always give my honest opinion on Tripadvisor and i am sure that if you check my previous reviews you will see this to be true. The efficiency of the waiting staff, the running of the event by the Management, the food, the evening buffet, the entertainment and even a very busy bar was, in a word 'perfection'. I was absolutely astonished by the professionalism and efficiency of the entire event that I found the owners - who actually pull their sleeves up to ensure that everything runs smoothly - and congratulated them personally.

I have come away from Lincombe Hall and the first thing i did this morning was check my diary to find a weekend that I can return.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deekyKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettandJo, Owner at Lincombe Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Not sure what to say other than thank you for your wonderful comments and that we are pleased you had such a lovely time and were made to feel so welcome by David and the rest of the team. It was lovely to speak with you and your wife on the Saturday night - the whole celebration was fabulous and we very much enjoyed hosting it at our hotel. We hope to see you again and that Lincombe Hall will become a regular for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

recently stayed at the lincombe for a nearby conference. friendly staff, really good food and great location. 5 minutes downhill into town. very peaceful

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SJB24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

I have just returned from a 3 night stay sharing room 42 with my mum and my brother had room 44. At 6.5 months pregnant I really needed a restful break and it did not.
We had been regular guests for 6 years but this is our first stay under the new ownership and we were really pleased to find a lovely old style hotel had been enhanced so beautifully. The rooms were finished to a very high standard with a twist of of old and contemporary styles, the bathrooms were modern and spotless and the beds were extremely comfortable. Unlike previous visits the water pressure and temperature of the shower was fantastic!!
Being vegetarians we found the staff very accommodating to our needs and a wide variety of evening meal choices.
The staff were so friendly and helpful moving us to a cooler table when the heat wave of this week was too much for me to sit at our usual table in the dining room. The service was excellent.
We viewed the serviced apartments and these too were of a very high standard. My husband has yet to stay at the hotel but we hope to book an apartment in 2013 and that this becomes a regular holiday spot for our family.
Finally, the car parking spaces have been made wider than during previous visits and this is really helpful especially when pregnant or if you required a larger area to exit a car for any other reason.
Excellent job on the refurbishment and thanks for a memorable stay

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vikki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

I have recently returned after 4 nights at the Lincombe Hall Hotel. The hotel decor was tasteful and very comfortable. The Restaurant seating times were structured in a manner to give first class service, and in my case from David and Sam.Entertainment was provide every night to please everyone. Our room 35 was a Patio Room in the West Wing which was large with a comfortable King Size bed, and the bathroom was to a very high standard with a powerful shower.The outdoor heated swimming pool was used and very enjoyable. The Hotel is in a very quite location just a short down hill stroll into town centre. Finally the owner Brett and all the staff were very friendly and approachable. I have stayed in many hotels in Torquay but this is number 1 for me.

Room Tip: All the rooms were to a very high standard, room 32,33,34,35,with patios, located in the West Wing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maurice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

We recently stayed here with family for a special birthday. The first couple of days were stress free although there was no entertainment, even though when it was booked in January we were informed there would be.
The rooms are lovely however - if you are in the West Wing there are NO BLINDS AT THE BATHROOM WINDOWS.......also the floor boards were so bad you dreaded walking on them. I live in an old house and they aren't this bad. The people in the room next door to me complained at how loud they were which made me paranoid to be walking about!
A coach party of approximately 40 people arrived on the Tuesday - which made the rest of the stay seem a bit rushed especially at dinner and breakfast. Breakfast on the Wednesday was a complete disaster and it seemed that we didn't matter because we were only a few people and not a coach party. If it wasn't for the Hotel Manager - David then the stay wouldn't have been worth it. He works very hard and trys to keep everyone happy even the some of the waiting staff aren't up to the job.

Room Tip: Stay in the main house - the floors might not be so creaky! also you might get a bathroom blind..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elizabeth344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettandJo, Owner at Lincombe Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Thank you for your review and the positive comments about our lovely rooms. I am sorry some aspects of your stay were disappointing. Your review is presumably the second review from your family group, raising similar issues about a perceived change in the standards of the hotel from when we were quiet at the start of your stay (which was why we didn't have any live entertainment on your first night) to the latter part of your stay when we were busier and a large private group had arrived. We try and treat all our guests as individuals and to the same high standards, and every guest matters to us, which is why we provide a questionaire to every guest asking for feedback, and every response is read by me as Owner, and also by both our Hotel Manager David and our Restaurant/Bar Manager Chris. Over the last three months prior to your group staying 100% of our guests have responded positively to 'would return' and 'would recommend' and we have spent the last two years, a lot of hard work and money bringing a rundown hotel back to what we hope is a lovely place to stay. We know from the vast proportion of guests that they appreciate the massive change in the hotel, the exceptional standards of service, food and facilities but I am very sorry your family group did not feel as enamoured. I would have preferred to have spoken to you in person before you left, as that is the way we try and address and resolve issues.
On the specific points you raise, our floorboards do squeek a bit, it is a lovely old building with character and we have tried to reduce the 'squeeking' as we have refurbished each bedroom and bathroom but save from replacing every floorboard there is little more we can do. The bathroom in question for Room 42 has a arched window which is impossible to fit a blind but it does have opaque glass and as it is quite high up, I didn't think it causes any embarrasment, but we will look at it again following your comments. The majority of bathrooms, and all where it beleive there may be an issue, have new wooden slatted blinds in keeping with the updated decor of the bathrooms, all 46 of which we have now been refurbished during the last 2 years as well as refurbishing all the bedrooms, lounges, bar, restaurant and pools.
I suppose the old adage of 'you can't please everyone' stands, although we and all the staff at the hotel try our utmost. I am truly sorry that your family group did not enjoy their stay as much as all of our other guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

Had a short stay here, really nice place and very helpfull staff. First class buffet breakfast, didn`t have meal in the evening but others said it was very good. Very close to harbour up a steep hill, but there is a bus service to outside hotel, if you like Indian food first class food at bottom of hill (think its called sim a spice ) £9.95 on a wednesday for starter and main. entertainment in hotel everynight we stayed there but mostly older people so it was quiet. Will def return a really nice place

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TAFFY5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettandJo, Owner at Lincombe Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Thank you for your great review, it is always pleasing to get great feedback. The Indian Restaurant at the bottom of the hill is called Simla Spice and is very good (and convenient just at the bottom of the hill), although I would also say our food is also great. We look forward to seeing you again at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,534 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#7 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#36 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#28 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#2 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lincombe Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lincombe Hall Hotel

Property: Lincombe Hall Hotel
Address: Meadfoot Rd, Torquay TQ1 2JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Torquay
#6 Business Hotel in Torquay
#7 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lincombe Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently awarded AA 4 Stars, Lincombe Hall Hotel is the first EXCLUSIVELY FOR ADULTS (no children under 16), privately owned hotel, in Torquay. Winner of Hotel of the Year 2012, Silver 2013 and 2014 for South Devon, Bronze for Devon 2012 and 2014 and 4th Place in SW England Hotel of the Year 2012-13, Lincombe Hall Hotel has been extensively refurbished to become one of the best hotels in Torquay. Located just a few minutes walk from the harbour and marina, upmarket restaurants and shops, Lincombe Hall Hotel offers tastefully decorated bedrooms, some with sea views, complimentary WiFi across the whole hotel, a beautiful heated outdoor pool and jacuzzi, large patio, heated small indoor pool and jacuzzi, ample free parking, spacious bar and lounge areas with live entertainment on alternate nights all set in extensive grounds. Choose from oversized Gold Rooms, many with sea views, large Superior Rooms, or one of our upgraded Standard Rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Lincombe Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lincombe Hall Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing