We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fri-sat night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Ranked #10 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We came home today from a fantastic 2 days in the lincombe hotel, there were so many to choose from, but all had bad reviews, and were too cheap! this was fantastic!! you get what you pay for!! we had the huge gold room, huge bed, beautiful furnishings, stunning showerbathroom, immaculatley clean throughout, staff so friendly, stunning grounds, indoor pool fab, outdoor really warm, and the jacuzzi was steaming hot!! lush!!! we had breakfast, beautiful dining area, table already reserved for us, all branded coffes,butters,sauces etc, 5 minute walk to main town, lcd tv on the wall, great views from our room!! you will not be dissapointed, we walked past many dives, and were just sooooo pleased we booked this!! could hear a pin drop on the night, even though there was a lovely wedding reception downstairs xxx

Room Tip: gold is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buzzjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettandJo, Owner at Lincombe Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2012

Thank you for your lovely review, it almost made me blush! We hope that what we now offer is lovely surroundings, friendly and helpful staff, good facilities and food and excellent value for money - we probably aren't the cheapest hotel in Torquay but from your comments and many of our other guests, we hope we have the balance about right - exceptional quality but at the right price. Thank you again for your lovely words which we will pass on to our staff and we hope to see you back at the hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (665)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

597 - 603 of 666 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2012

My wife and i have just returned from a 3 night midweek break at this hotel.We have stayed here on a number of occasions over the years .New owners took over a couple of years ago and have put in the much needed funds to bring the hotel back in line.It was a delight to come back.We stayed in one of the gold rooms which was excellent lots of space immaculately presented, fabulous ,comfortable king size bed,lovely bathroom and plenty of hanging space .buffet breakfast could not be faulted,super light and airy dining room,evening meal again marvelous,crisp service friendly staff .everything very clean and efficient.Pleasant evening entertainment a piano player,vocalist or the film room.all finishes about 10.30 pm so there are no late night knees ups to spoil your sleep.Pleasant 5 minute stroll into town,outside heated pool and small indoor one still usable even at this time of year.Having stayed in a number of the large hotels in torquay over the years this one is well worth a go.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whilans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We had a fantastic stay at the Lincombe Hotel. The hotel staff were extremely friendly, helpful and courteous. We had a superior room which was spaceous, clean and very well presented. We thoroughly enjoyed the buffet style breakfast and the dining room staff were very attentive. We will definitely be booking into the Lincombe hotel again, in the very near future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Along with two friends, my husband and I have just spent last week at Lincombe Hall and thoroughly enjoyed every minute. Our Superior room was huge, comfortable, extremely clean and had a King size and Single bed.The staff were polite and eager to please and the food served in the immaculate Dining Room was second to none. The outdoor pool and Jaccuzi are heated to 30Cand 31C and were very welcoming and even though the weather was autumnal it was a pleasure to be in them. Evening entertainment varied each night and was all enjoyable. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms good , even standard ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jacqueline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Just returned from a weekend stay at the Lincombe Hotel. We were fortunate to be able to book into one of their apartments. Well presented, nice home comforts, lovely kitchen with outside space. Eat at the hotel which was more than satisfactory. Outdoor and indoor pool is an advantage and towels are provided.
Only five min walk from the centre however the hotel is on a hill !!!
Lovely people, we will be visiting again

Room Tip: Stayed in apartment unable to comment however patio rooms have a lovely outdoor area !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettandJo, Owner at Lincombe Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2012

Thank you very much for your fabulous review. Our apartments are the newest addition to the hotel and are getting excellent comments, it is great that you liked the extra space and still enjoyed using all the hotel facilties. Sorry about the hill, it's a nice 5-10 min walk down to the harbour but coming back up is not so easy, we try and tell every guest that there is a bench half way back up to take a rest, or a taxi is about £4.50 from the seafront. Hopefully the hill didn't put you off and we will see you again at the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

My wife and I enjoyed a brief stay at this Hotel and have to say that we wished it had been a little longer. The hotel is situated in a great location and has fantastic facilities. Our room was great value for money and the food excellent. The staff were helpful and friendly and we look forward to a second visit in 2013.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philandolwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights recently, as a wedding guest (07/09/12 to 09/09/12). Although the hotel has character and does have an indoor and outdoor pool, I stayed in one of their Gold rooms, which was comfortable enough, but, as we overlooked the garden area and directly above the bar, it was a bit annoying listening to the bar staff chatting, whilst they smoked outside, beneath my window at 1.20am. It did not last too long to be fair, however, I thought the breakfast variety was poor, the sausages are cheap....and we finally received the tea / coffee and toast, just as we finished..brilliant! the reception staff are very nice, but the bar staff could be a bit friendlier.
Please note this next bit...avoid all of the house wines, as they are really of low quality. I would pay a little extra for better and the management should review the wines for a bit better quality, rather than make margin from low grade wines. My guess is they would only be paying around £3.50 for such wines. Sitting outside in the sun by the pool was lovely, but in the 2 hours there, nobody came to collect the plates or glasses on the tables, no wonder the resident seagull was there throughout my stay eating from the tables. If your easily pleased, you will not be disappointed. It would not take a lot of improvement to make this a great place to stay. But for my visit this was a truly average hotel.
One of our party is a bit disabled, so please note there is no lift in this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden face the afternoon sun, which is nice, but because the windows are larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LAW73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettandJo, Owner at Lincombe Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2012

Thank you for your review. We are truly sorry that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay, our apologies if the night portering staff disturbed your sleep on the night of the wedding, when they took a short break from clearing up and I am sorry the breakfast service was not up to our usual high standards, sometimes it is a little more difficult with wedding parties on the morning after a wedding as a lot of the wedding guests are staying and there is a tendency for all the wedding party guests to come in to breakfast at once, and move around the tables. On the sausages, I completely agree that they were not to the same standard as the rest of the breakfast items and since your stay we have upgraded these to a higher quality.
With regard to the wines, we offer a range of wines to suit our guests and the house wines generally are very well received, picked by our wine supplier and offered at a very reasonable £14.95 a bottle - I doubt you would find many three star hotels offering good house wines at that price and they were chosen by the Bride and Groom for their wedding breakfast.
Average is not normally a word that has been levelled at us, and most of our guests really enjoy their stay with us. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your visit as much as the the rest of the wedding party that weekend, as all of the other feedback we received was very good including from the Bride and Groom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,118 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#11 of 85 in Torquay
914 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#31 of 85 in Torquay
2,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#6 of 85 in Torquay
520 reviews
1 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#55 of 85 in Torquay
977 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#25 of 85 in Torquay
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lincombe Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lincombe Hall Hotel

Address: Lincombe Hall Meadfoot Road, Torquay TQ1 2JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Torquay
#7 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £70 - £993 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lincombe Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently awarded AA 4 Stars, Lincombe Hall Hotel is the first EXCLUSIVELY FOR ADULTS (no children under 16), privately owned hotel, in Torquay. Winner of Hotel of the Year 2012, Silver 2013 and 2014 for South Devon, Bronze for Devon 2012 and 2014 and 4th Place in SW England Hotel of the Year 2012-13, Lincombe Hall Hotel has been extensively refurbished to become one of the best hotels in Torquay. Located just a few minutes walk from the harbour and marina, upmarket restaurants and shops, Lincombe Hall Hotel offers tastefully decorated bedrooms, some with sea views, complimentary WiFi across the whole hotel, a beautiful heated outdoor pool and jacuzzi, large patio, heated small indoor pool and jacuzzi, ample free parking, spacious bar and lounge areas with live entertainment on alternate nights all set in extensive grounds. Choose from oversized Gold Rooms, many with sea views, large Superior Rooms, or one of our upgraded Standard Rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Expedia, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lincombe Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lincombe Hall Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing