We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good last minute surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Ranked #10 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Did a last minute booking for this hotel for new year's eve 2013 and as there were three of us we booked the 2 bedroom Apartment 1 at a very reasonable price (£50 per head inc breakfast). Hotel is very smart and definintely looks a lot better than some of the other local 3 star properties. Nice quiet location (hill is steep if you are keen to walk back and forth to town) and the interior of the hotel is very clean and pristine as if a recent refurb has taken place.

The apartment itself was very nicely kitted out with even a Christmas Tree in the lounge (nice touch), good size kitchen, two good size bedrooms and a separate toilet and generous bathroom with whopping size shower.

Breakfast was of a very good standard and the staff were very friendly.

I would definnintely recommend this hotel and stay here again.

Room Tip: If you are a family go for an apartment option
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aleccampbell_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (644)
There are newer reviews for Lincombe Hall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

445 - 451 of 644 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

We booked the 3 night package. It soon became obvious that there were many guests who had been before. At first I felt a bit excluded from the clique. Most of them mature clients who appeared to know the staff and owner.
The reception staff were very welcoming and helpful.
Our superior room was comfortable if a little on the compact side. It was in the linked annexe on the ground floor. Not recommended for light sleepers as the rooms above have creaky floor boards. Also quite a walk for those with mobility problems.
The buffet breakfast was good. Excellent porridge and choice of hot food. Expect to queue at peak times and be prepared to wait for items to be cooked if you want a full English.
The evening meals offered a good choice of dishes for all courses. Puddings and cheese board very generous helpings.
6 course NYE dinner menu was adventurous. I admit I was not keen on the scallops in curried cauliflower. The event was well managed and entertainment by Steve Davis excellent.
One criticism that the wine we wanted was unavailable and it wasn't just one.
The in door pool is small and crowded with more than 2.
Great location close to the town centre and plenty of free parking.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Chrisi1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

First visit certainly will not be the last. We enjoyed our Christmas break and was well looked after by all the staff, a big thank you to Brett, Jo and their team. Fantastic food menu. Will definitely recommend to family and friends. Will be visiting again in 2014.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin and Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Visited for evening meal and was greeting by the two male staff on duty. The service, friendliness was very gratefully received. The food was divine and the house red wine made my evening a really enjoyment.
The staff could not do enough, excellent service and food first class. A great evening to finish my holiday in Torquay. And sure will be returning in the New Year.
Thanks Guys!

Room Tip: Sure would like to try the hotel and stay a few nights, not just enjoy the food on my next visit
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djw1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

A late booking made by phone to the hotel on Thursday 12th December for 2 couples for 2nights.
An excellent hotel,all staff were very polite, courteous and very helpful.
The food was of the highest standard with a good varied menu.
It was certainly value for money and we will definitely be visiting again in 2014.

Room Tip: Room 45 an excellent family room.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank horace050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We held our wedding at The Lincombe Hall Hotel on the 30th November and what can we say it was absolutely perfect and we have had nothing but fantastic comments from all our guest. The credit must go to David and Susie nothing was to much trouble for either of them, all the staff at the hotel were 100% professional, the food was perfect as was the service and we have nothing but praise for them. David made sure that every little detail was perfect for us and was always on hand with all the planning over the months building up to the wedding he most certainly made our day so very special. So to Brett, David, Susie and all the staff thank you so very much for a wonderful day, Paul and Sue

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

Hotel is impressive standing high on hill as you drive in. A very warm welcome awaits you and the staff continue to be extremely friendly and helpful throughout stay. Food is well presented , hot and of a good standard. No complaints at all about hotel, but Torquay itself now somewhat jaded

Stayed: December 2013
Thank kiimss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#25 of 87 in Torquay
2,946 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#33 of 87 in Torquay
2,424 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
549 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#5 of 87 in Torquay
493 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lincombe Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lincombe Hall Hotel

Address: Meadfoot Rd, Torquay TQ1 2JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Torquay
#5 Family Hotel in Torquay
#7 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £77 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lincombe Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently awarded AA 4 Stars, Lincombe Hall Hotel is the first EXCLUSIVELY FOR ADULTS (no children under 16), privately owned hotel, in Torquay. Winner of Hotel of the Year 2012, Silver 2013 and 2014 for South Devon, Bronze for Devon 2012 and 2014 and 4th Place in SW England Hotel of the Year 2012-13, Lincombe Hall Hotel has been extensively refurbished to become one of the best hotels in Torquay. Located just a few minutes walk from the harbour and marina, upmarket restaurants and shops, Lincombe Hall Hotel offers tastefully decorated bedrooms, some with sea views, complimentary WiFi across the whole hotel, a beautiful heated outdoor pool and jacuzzi, large patio, heated small indoor pool and jacuzzi, ample free parking, spacious bar and lounge areas with live entertainment on alternate nights all set in extensive grounds. Choose from oversized Gold Rooms, many with sea views, large Superior Rooms, or one of our upgraded Standard Rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lincombe Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lincombe Hall Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing