We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Ranked #10 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Winter break”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This was our 3rd stay at Lincombe Hall Hotel in Torquay. The standards were just as excellent as our 1st stay 3 years ago. All the staff were very attentive, friendly and welcoming. Particular thanks to the reception staff who assisted in secretly placing items that I had arranged delivery of to the hotel in our room throughout the day of my wife's 60th birthday. The food was, as always, great. A very relaxing break in February which helps to keep spirits up through the winter months. We opted for a Gold room which had plenty of room and a wonderful bay window. The bathroom was very spacious even though it had a corner bath and seperate shower cubicle. Very clean throughout. Would, and do, recommend this hotel for excellent standards and value for money.

Room Tip: Go for Gold
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettandJo, Owner at Lincombe Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, and we hope your wife had a wonderful 60th birthday. We are always happy to help make a stay with us extra special. Hopefully we will see you back at the hotel sooner than another three years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    471
    107
    18
    3
    1
See reviews for
98
351
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We have stayed here many times in the past (previously with the children) and always enjoyed our stay. It has been a few years since we have been and we decided to have a long weekend, we stayed in a gold room and opted for breakfast and evening meal. They have obviously spent a lot of money doing the place up, previoulsy the hotel was nice but tired looking, now the hotel looks a lot smarter, but still has individual charm. The room was large and clean, the bathroom seemed new and everything worked as expected. The food was as nice as I remember with a good choice everynight and the breakfast was very good with a large selection. The hotel is close to the harbour, but is up a hill (most of Torquay is). We used the indoor pool (January is a bit cold for outdoor) which was nice and warm, but the jacussi was under repair. The staff were very friendly and they had live entertainment on two of the nights, just singers but it gives a chance for guests to meet and chat. It is not a 5 star hotel, but I like it; I find it very relaxing to stay there and I will not wait so long for my next return. Since our stayed was off season the cost was very good.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrispower999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettandJo, Owner at Lincombe Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. You will be pleased to know that our indoor Jacuzzi has now been fully refurbished and is lovely and warm, hopefully your next visit will be sooner rather than later and you can enjoy all of our facilities. The outdoor pool is lovely in the summer months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We chose this hotel based on reviews and wasn't disappointed. The hotel is a short walk away from the harbour with a number of bars and restaurants but is located in a quiet area. The downstairs common areas are nice. There was some repair work to corridors not yet finished on the way to our room. The room is nicely decorated, but the bed a bit too soft for our liking. We really enjoyed the breakfast. Overall a great place to stay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dazza5463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettandJo, Owner at Lincombe Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. The decoration to the corridors is now completed and all looking very nice. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and particularly the breakfast and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HELSTON
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Pros
Helpful and accommodating staff who helped us switch rooms when we asked. The rooms were spacious, good lighting, comfortable large bed. The shower was really powerful. The room was very clean. Would have preferred more plug sockets as only had 2 that we could use.
Breakfast was lovely - nice range of choice - eggs, bacon, mushrooms, beans, tomato, sausages and hashbrowns. As well as cold things - croissants, yoghurt, fruit, cereal etc. Would have preferred the bacon a bit more cooked though as the fat was really underdone.
Rooms came with dressing gown which was a nice touch.
Nice amount of parking and we had no trouble parking over the weekend
The hotel puts on entertainment each evening and also shows a movie which is nice for those that want it.

Cons
The spa facilities indoor are really small and would have like more spa facilities, a larger indoor pool, sauna etc.
Our "double" bed was actually 2 singles which can be uncomfortable for a couple sharing.
The rooms in the west wing have paper thin walls so we could hear everything around our room.
The hotel is a short walk to town - but it is up quite a steep hill.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are much smaller so if you want a bigger room ask for the west wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank REBECCAR141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Rooms are clean, comfortable and have been quite large on both occasions we have stopped here. The staff are friendly, engaging and try to always go one step further than you might expect in order to ensure you have a good stay. Breakfast is very good, though arrangements are a little unusual - you queue up and wait for a plate, reminded me of being back at school.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mac187049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed here for the 3 day New Year party stay. The hotel is on a hill but with a bus stop outside its front door. We arrived on the 30th Dec (my birthday), to be met by a lovely young girl at the reception who booked us in and showed us to our room. The room was very large (Gold room No 9) and were met with a lovely surprise, the hotel had put a Birthday Balloon with some chocolates tied to it (now I don't normally do balloons but Chocolate my wife loves). The room was very clean and the bed really big and comfortable. The only complaint about the bed is the duvet it's a wee bit small for the size of bed. The bathroom once again very clean and spacious. The food in the dining room was superb with a varied menu. We had the New Year's Eve Gala dinner and what a dinner all 6 courses of what I can only describe as F A B U L O U S. Many thanks to all staff for making our stay and my birthday a bit special. Wishing all a Happy and successful New year.

Room Tip: Try to go for a gold room it's big and very cosy. I don't know about the standard rooms I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank foodforthought999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

After a long and harrowing drive to Torquay (wind and rain!!!) we arrived to be greeted by friendly staff who could not do enough to help. We stayed 23 - 26 December and had a wonderful time. The service was great, the food very good and the entertainment brilliant. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room in the wing which was lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cullen652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,664 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#31 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#2 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lincombe Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lincombe Hall Hotel

Property: Lincombe Hall Hotel
Address: Meadfoot Rd, Torquay TQ1 2JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Torquay
#6 Business Hotel in Torquay
#8 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lincombe Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently awarded AA 4 Stars, Lincombe Hall Hotel is the first EXCLUSIVELY FOR ADULTS (no children under 16), privately owned hotel, in Torquay. Winner of Hotel of the Year 2012, Silver 2013 and 2014 for South Devon, Bronze for Devon 2012 and 2014 and 4th Place in SW England Hotel of the Year 2012-13, Lincombe Hall Hotel has been extensively refurbished to become one of the best hotels in Torquay. Located just a few minutes walk from the harbour and marina, upmarket restaurants and shops, Lincombe Hall Hotel offers tastefully decorated bedrooms, some with sea views, complimentary WiFi across the whole hotel, a beautiful heated outdoor pool and jacuzzi, large patio, heated small indoor pool and jacuzzi, ample free parking, spacious bar and lounge areas with live entertainment on alternate nights all set in extensive grounds. Choose from oversized Gold Rooms, many with sea views, large Superior Rooms, or one of our upgraded Standard Rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Lincombe Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lincombe Hall Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing