We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most relaxing weekend ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Ranked #10 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Most relaxing weekend ever”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My husband and I needed a break and booked the Lincombe Hall Hotel last minute; I'm glad we took the chance as the hotel was amazing and all of the staff were welcoming and always found time to stop and chat or offer information. Mark went out of his way to make us feel relaxed and seemed to be able to read our minds on some occasions. The only downside of the weekend was the fact that the hotel is on a steep hill but the fact that it is so close to the town off-set that. We would definitely return and would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettandJo, Owner at Lincombe Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. It is great to welcome new guests to the Lincombe Hall, and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay so much. We are often complemented on our staff who go out of their way to ensure our guests enjoy their visit, I will pass on your kind comments to them. You mentioned that we are on a hill, which can be hard for some, but it is only roughly £3-£5 in a taxi back up the hill, alternatively there is a bus stop right outside the hotel. Hope to see you again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    107
    18
    3
    1
See reviews for
98
352
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Weston super Mare
Level Contributor
203 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Arrived and welcomed at reception, all areas were covered, and then escorted to the room - nice touch, so many hotels do not do this.
Room was a garden room, supplied with robes and nice position looking at the garden.

Room was sizeable, and very clean. Separate Toilet area to the Bathroom which was nice to have.

Patio doors direct access to our own small private area.

All staff were very helpful polite and nothing was to much trouble for them.

The vegetarian meal was pre ordered each day at reception, and a good selection on this menu.
For myself the food options for evening meal were very good, and the menu changed daily, all served with pleasant and politeness you do not always get these days.
The breakfast was a help yourself, and a couple of extra items may be cooked for you at an extra cost if you wished - I tried the Hake one day and it was really good quality and value.

The hotel also looked after me on my birthday, again a nice touch, considering we had not mentioned this to them.

The outdoor pool (which was heated) looked good, but as weather was not in our favour and a bit breezy we gave that a miss, and used the small internal pool and Jacuzzi, which were good, the pool was small but sufficient for a swim around, and the jacuzzi was one of the better ones we have used.

The evening entertainment was varied, good singers, range of songs, I liked Bruce as he had a good deal of humour, even though Rod Stewart did not crop up in his medley, he will understand that statement lol - but all good humoured and great evenings.

So all in all a very good weekend, the staff were superb in every area, as usual in these places if you have an issue just ask, they are not mind readers, and will do everything they can for you.

Well done the team - made my birthday weekend a great one

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Weary-Traveller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettandJo, Owner at Lincombe Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. You had a patio room during your stay which are lovely, especially when the weather is fine and you are able to sit out and enjoy the sunshine. I am glad that our staff and our hotel made your birthday special. I will mention your comments to Bruce! I do hope to see you again soon, maybe for your next birthday.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed at the hotel at the end of April for 4 nights and cannot wait to book a return visit. The hotel location is ideal for walking into Torquay and it has a large car park. Our room was in the annexe. It was beautifully furnished, very clean with views over the gardens. We had half board and the meals were served by very friendly and attentive staff in the restaurant and all most enjoyable. In fact all the staff were most welcoming from the moment you arrive. We thoroughly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: We had a superior room which had some nice additions including lovely bath robes
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettandJo, Owner at Lincombe Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We are ideally situated, just a short stroll from the harbour and shops but in a lovely quiet location. I will pass on your kind comments to our staff who always go above and beyond to ensure our guests have an enjoyable stay. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caddington
Level Contributor
476 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Our first stay at the Lincombe Hall Hotel with friends who have stayed many times before. Great location close to the centre of Torquay, with plenty of car parking, Our room was in the annex building linked to the hotel by an enclosed walkway which was very comfortable overlooking the hotel gardens. Great traditional food starting the day with a more than sufficient buffet breakfast in the well appointed dining room through to the evening meal which always offered a wide choice of three courses, well cooked and presented. The friendly and courteous staff make a change from many other hotels right from the welcome and throughout the stay. A small outdoor pool in the garden was very welcome especially as we were blessed with some amazing weather and the terrace offered a great and relaxed place to enjoy a pre dinner or after dinner drink. Whilst we didn't use the small indoor plunge pool it again offered a facility that many other hotels don't offer and the evening entertainment offered live music in the lounge as well as an evening film show. This is a great hotel which has been recently refurbished and Bret the owner very obviously takes great pride in his business. We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettandJo, Owner at Lincombe Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review following your first visit to our hotel. We are pleased that you appreciated all that we have to offer here at the Lincombe Hall. We are often complemented on our food, which is all freshly prepared and home cooked and we are delighted that you enjoyed it so much. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future and hope the weather is just as kind to you as it was on your first visit.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biddulph, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We have visited lincombe e hall many times over the past 10 years and thanks to Bret and Joanne it keeps on getting better and better.We were there during April and the staff made us feel welcome some remembering us from our last visit. We stayed half board and the food was extremely appetizing and well presented with a good choice of fresh fish and vegetables .If you are looking for a good clean comfortable hotel in Torquay with indoor and outdoor pool lovely garden's within walking distance of the sea then book Lincombe hall you won't regret it.

Room Tip: Book a room.in the older part of the hotel you may get a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank supa2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettandJo, Owner at Lincombe Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, it is always nice to welcome back guests that have stayed with us before and have seen the improvements over the past few years since we took ownership. During the refurbishment, both pools were renovated and we now keep them at a lovely temperature, I hope you got to enjoy them during your visit. All our sea view rooms are in the main hotel, however in the wing we do have rooms with lovely views out on to the gardens.
We hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
226 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed there for 1 night whilst celebrating a birthday.
The staff were extremely welcoming and helpful.
The room was in a separate building, connected by a fully enclosed walkway, and was very well appointed, great furnishings and, most importantly, very clean throughout including the bathroom (a common fault in hotels I find).
Everything worked as it should and the bed was comfortable.
There is a small, but very welcome, indoor pool and jacuzzi which we enjoyed using.
It is a short walk from the town centre but is up a hill that may be too much for some guests, however, it is a short taxi ride and there is a bus stop almost outside.
We had dinner in Torquay but enjoyed the bar when we got back later in the evening.
Breakfast was very nice the next morning - it is a buffet so some items are never quite home cooking i.e. the bacon is not crispy but that is a small point.
Will almost certainly be back when we want to stay in Torquay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterindevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettandJo, Owner at Lincombe Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for your kind review. It would be lovely to welcome you back again in the future to stay a little longer and enjoy the full experience of our hotel. We are often commented on our food, so maybe next time you could stay for a little longer and enjoy dinner in our restaurant. We are so glad you enjoyed your brief stay with us.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Absolutely fantastic, lovely room, wonderful attentive staff, beautiful hotel with wonderful architecture. Location perfect for Torquay center. Quiet, peaceful and lovely gardens. We will definitely be back to enjoy this hidden gem.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jason D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettandJo, Owner at Lincombe Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for you kind review. How nice to grab a last minute holiday and enjoy it so much. Keep your eye on our website, www.lincombehallhotel.co.uk, for offers and last minute short breaks. Look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,672 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#33 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#3 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lincombe Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lincombe Hall Hotel

Property: Lincombe Hall Hotel
Address: Meadfoot Rd, Torquay TQ1 2JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Torquay
#6 Business Hotel in Torquay
#8 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lincombe Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently awarded AA 4 Stars, Lincombe Hall Hotel is the first EXCLUSIVELY FOR ADULTS (no children under 16), privately owned hotel, in Torquay. Winner of Hotel of the Year 2012, Silver 2013 and 2014 for South Devon, Bronze for Devon 2012 and 2014 and 4th Place in SW England Hotel of the Year 2012-13, Lincombe Hall Hotel has been extensively refurbished to become one of the best hotels in Torquay. Located just a few minutes walk from the harbour and marina, upmarket restaurants and shops, Lincombe Hall Hotel offers tastefully decorated bedrooms, some with sea views, complimentary WiFi across the whole hotel, a beautiful heated outdoor pool and jacuzzi, large patio, heated small indoor pool and jacuzzi, ample free parking, spacious bar and lounge areas with live entertainment on alternate nights all set in extensive grounds. Choose from oversized Gold Rooms, many with sea views, large Superior Rooms, or one of our upgraded Standard Rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Lincombe Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lincombe Hall Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing