We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lincombe Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Ranked #9 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stayed here for one night. From the moment i checked in to the moment i left all the staff in the hotel were fantastic . I stayed on business and have to say i enjoyed doing my days notes in the garden on a sun lounger, by the pool with a pint of lager. Very clean and tidy. Congratulations to the management on employing such happy staff !
I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area for a holiday or on business. Fantastic value.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 39 and although i was charged for a single room the bed was a double and the room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LEE N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettandJo, Owner at Lincombe Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, even if for only one night and staying on business. We are pleased that you had chance to relax by the pool and, yes, our staff are always very happy! We do hope you get to visit us again, hopefully next time for a little longer and on holiday rather than to work.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    102
    17
    3
    1
See reviews for
98
332
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We booked the Lincombe Hall for our wedding in July 2014 having looked at a few other venues in Torbay. We chose the Lincombe Hall as the hotel had recently been refurbished to a high standard and also had beautiful gardens and terrace. During the build up to the wedding David catered for our every need and accommodated every small detail we asked for including any last minute changes.

The day itself went smoothly and effortlessly and this was completely down to David and his staff. Many of our guests commented on how accommodating and welcoming the staff were and nothing was too much to ask. The food was all delicious and all dietary requirements catered for. The venue itself felt beautiful for a wedding, yet also relaxed, and exactly the right size for our 100 guests.

What also made the venue feel special was that most of our guests booked into the hotel for the wedding night, and we weren't aware of any other guests during that time. We would thoroughly recommend the Lincombe Hall for a wedding venue, and this was down to the lovely interiors, gardens and terrace and above all David, Brett and all the staff who helped make our day so memorable and special.

Charlotte & Gavin

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettandJo, Owner at Lincombe Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
It is always lovely to get such a great review from one of our wedding couples. We are pleased that we were able to make your day so special. David and all our staff go above and beyond to ensure that your wedding day exceeds your expectations.
Only ever holding one wedding at a time ensures that the focus is on your day and we are so pleased to hear your lovely comments.
I hope that you both had an enjoyable honeymoon.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night in a standard double room. Check in was prompt and the receptionist was very friendly and showed us to our room. The room was a decent size for a standard and the decoration was homely and modern. The drinks in the bar were reasonably priced and the barman was very friendly. We didn't eat in the hotel but had breakfast as part of our room rate which offered plenty of choice and was very good. Was slightly worried about the fact that the cooked breakfast was buffet style but the food was still hot and fresh. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and the location was very good - walking distance into town but far enough away to avoid any noise even traffic! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and the only disappointment was through our own fault - we forgot our swimming things so couldn't make use of the indoor/outdoor swimming pools but will be sure to remember these next time we're back!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeweller121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettandJo, Owner at Lincombe Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for writing such a lovely review, we want all our guests to have a fabulous stay with us and we are pleased you liked everything about the hotel. Thank you for the kind comments about the guest bedrooms, we have tried to retain the character of the building whilst offering modern comforts and décor, all our bedrooms and bathrooms have been refurbished since we took over ownership of the hotel nearly 5 years ago and in fact we started on a second round of refurbishments on 13 rooms over last winter, with a further 15 planned for this year to ensure they are kept to a very good standard. It was also good to receive such positive comments about our breakfast service, everything is cooked fresh in the morning even down to the croissants. It is a shame you forgot your swimming things as both the outdoor and indoor pool are kept at warm 30 degrees, and each has a Jacuzzi alongside to enjoy as well - as you say, next time you're back to stay with us you will have to bring them and hopefully stay a little longer.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

I took my 10 year old daughter, parents and stayed in Apartment 1. The apartment, staff and hotel were fine. However. If you don't have a car the walk from the town to the hotel is on a very steep hill and is not for people with health conditions plus the bus from the town centre to the hotel stops running at 16.35pm and doesn't run on a Sunday. The hotel was very very quiet with no activities for children and it appeared that children should be seen and not heard by other guests, so not really a hotel to visit with children.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rossie901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettandJo, Owner at Lincombe Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. I am pleased that you liked the apartment, and were happy with the hotel and staff generally but I am very sorry that you didn't feel that there was anything for children to do at the hotel. We have an indoor and outdoor pool, both heated, and the outdoor one is only 1.1m deep, which normally children staying with us absolutely love. We are also less than half a mile from Meadfoot Beach and the same distance to the harbour, although as you mention it is downhill to the centre of Torquay and a bit of a steep walk back up. We do have a number of families staying with us, particularly during the summer holidays but accept that we are located in a quieter part of Torquay which is one of the attractions of the hotel for many of our guests. I do hope you return to Torquay, even if it is not to our hotel as there are so many things for families to see and do on the English Riviera.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Stayed for 4 nights and were very impressed. We were given the Bridal suite, which was a lovely room, large and light, large spotless bathroom, and nice view. Breakfast was very good served by attentive staff. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liz m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettandJo, Owner at Lincombe Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, the Bridal Suite is a lovely room with great views and lovely bathroom. We are pleased you found our staff attentive and the breakfast very good and we hope you will be back to stay with us again soon.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Everything seemed ideal in the hotel for the price. Nice setting, large grounds, near town harbour and town centre. Huge room with character. Brand new bathroom. Nice choice for breakfast and very accommodating staff.

The one let down was the bed, a 'gold' room with a mattress that was heavily used so there were 2 clear hollows and on one side seemed to slope off the bed - not good. The mattress protector used was much larger than the mattress so there was too much to tuck in. When the bed was made the bottom sheet was not tucked in well. As a tall person the fact that the bed had a footboard is annoying. The hotel would have changed the room because of this but they were full so there was no alternative. Room 7; nice room once there is a new mattress.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonSimLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettandJo, Owner at Lincombe Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us, we are pleased that you found almost everything to your liking, however I would like to offer our apologies that you found the mattress in your room to be unsatisfactory. We purchased the hotel five years ago and set about refurbishing all 44 rooms, which was carried out in phases over each winter. Room 7 was refurbished quite early on along with about 8 or 9 other rooms, and the mattresses replaced at the time, however as we completed further rooms we have each time improved the quality of the mattresses to the point where we now purchase very high quality mattresses used in 4/5 star hotels. The mattresses in the early refurbishments, now 5 years old, were not to quite the same quality and need replacing and we have this week placed an order for 9 rooms so that all our mattresses are of a much higher standard. I hope that you will stay with us again and find that whichever room you stay in the mattress is to your liking. Unfortunately we can't do much about the footboards in some of the rooms, we do have a mix of different bed types, some with and some without footboards and if you enquire at the time of booking, our reception staff will try and ensure we find the most suitable room for you.
Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

stayed here with some friends as part of a tour. it is a charming country house style hotel, rooms clean and bright (except for the lower rooms in the annex some of which were very dark,glad I did'ent have one of those) Staff were great and the food ok. I particularly liked the fact that they did'ent have a separate menu for tours as many hotels do. The lack of a lift was a drawback and the grounds while very nice had a fairly steep driveway, these apart I really liked this hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the main house and on the first floor as the next floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frregan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,523 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#7 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#36 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#29 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#2 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lincombe Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lincombe Hall Hotel

Property: Lincombe Hall Hotel
Address: Meadfoot Rd, Torquay TQ1 2JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Torquay
#6 Business Hotel in Torquay
#7 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lincombe Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently awarded AA 4 Stars, Lincombe Hall Hotel is the first EXCLUSIVELY FOR ADULTS (no children under 16), privately owned hotel, in Torquay. Winner of Hotel of the Year 2012, Silver 2013 and 2014 for South Devon, Bronze for Devon 2012 and 2014 and 4th Place in SW England Hotel of the Year 2012-13, Lincombe Hall Hotel has been extensively refurbished to become one of the best hotels in Torquay. Located just a few minutes walk from the harbour and marina, upmarket restaurants and shops, Lincombe Hall Hotel offers tastefully decorated bedrooms, some with sea views, complimentary WiFi across the whole hotel, a beautiful heated outdoor pool and jacuzzi, large patio, heated small indoor pool and jacuzzi, ample free parking, spacious bar and lounge areas with live entertainment on alternate nights all set in extensive grounds. Choose from oversized Gold Rooms, many with sea views, large Superior Rooms, or one of our upgraded Standard Rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Lincombe Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lincombe Hall Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing