We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful family Hotel”
Review of Brandize Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Brandize Hotel
Ranked #36 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Barry, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful family Hotel”
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We had the warmest welcome I have ever had at a hotel, the owner took the bags out of the car and straight to our room. Our bed was huge and super comfy and the kids slept well in their bunks, we also had a lovely view from our bay window. The breakfast was wonderful, nice range of cereal and excellent full English. The bar was homely and had a nice range of family games we took advantage of in the evening. Superb value for money and excellent family service.

Room Tip: Family room with bay window at front of hotel, recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PollyJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    13
    2
    5
    1
See reviews for
38
89
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Myself and my husband stayed at the Brandize for a long weekend and couldn't have been happier with our experience. The service was second to none - every need was catered for with a smile! The food was lovely and the room clean and very comfortable. We so preferred the friendly atmosphere to that of a soulless large hotel! Would definitely recommend to anyone looking to stay in Torquay - it was also located in a great spot - perfect!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miranda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

My wife and arrived at the Brandize with high expectations. We were alarmed within a few minutes of our arrival. The place was in darkness and we found instructions on the main door that told us to ring a phone number. This we did and was told that someone would be there in about 20 minutes. Not a good start. We were shown our room, given a key and informed that the heating wasn't on but would be later and that there was an electric radiator ( 2 in fact )should we need it, but one radiator was swiftly removed saying "you'll not need two". In fairness he was right. The room was miniscule, cleanish but a little tatty, especially the shower / toilet. Some attention was needed as places had signs of mould, it was in need of redecoration. We were the given the evening menu.... verbally. Either gammon with chips or fish pie. My wifes face was a picture, I've seldom seen her speachless. He obviously spotted her disbelief and quickly added that we may also have jacket or boiled potatoes. We settled on the gammon. Starters by the way consisted of either a fruit juice or soup. The sweet was a choice of a crumble or ice cream. My wife managed to prize a low fat yoghurt out of the situation. I laughed when she suggested that the yogurt would arrive in its original plastic pot ...................... it did. The write up that we saw of this hotel boasted that all produce was locally sourced, I expect it was......from the local Spar supermarket. The gammon by the way would have been handy should I have needed to have my shoes resoled. Needless to say we didn't eat there the second / last night of our stay. The breakfast was OK though !
4 *, I think someone slipped or hiccupped when when they were printing the "stars".
A pleasant owner though, but I suppose he had be.

Room Tip: Choose a good room........................... at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainbow052, Owner at Brandize Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Unfortunately at the time of these guests arrival, my wife had been rushed into hospital and was about to go to theatre. I was by her side. I left immediately when I received their telephone call and returned to the Guest House to welcome them. Having been at the hospital for most of the day I was perhaps not at my best. Due to the circumstances, I had considered cancelling their stay but felt at such short notice it was unfair to them. On a number of occasions they were asked whether everything was to their satisfaction and were told that they were quite happy. If I had been told at the time they were not happy in the room that they had chosen, they could have moved to another. The weather was strangely very mild for this time of year so the heating was not on when they arrived however, individual heaters were given. The heating was put on on my arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We stayed in the family room for 7 nights back in August and really enjoyed our stay. Whilst the hotel 'rule book' waiting in our room was a bit daunting, the reality was that Gary and Ann were extremely welcoming hosts, always ready to have a chat or give advice about the area, and the atmosphere was friendly and charming throughout our stay.

Breakfast was great, the bed was comfortable, walking distance to the beach, and with a bit of help from Google maps, we could easily walk to/from the town centre, meaning we could leave the car at the hotel when going out for a meal. What more could you ask?

The hotel is situated on a fairly busy road, so as our bedroom faced the road, you could hear the traffic, but it wasn't loud enough to keep us awake at night. Other very minor gripes would be that the en suite toilet wasn't 100% spotless when we arrived (I'm a bit of a perfectionist when it comes to things like that), and the parking was a bit snug when the hotel was full. All in all though, very glad we chose the Brandize and we are seriously considering coming back again in 2012.

p.s. Thanks for the loan of the buckets and spades :-)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Just got back from a three day break in Torquay. The stay at the Brandize made it a great break. Hospitality brilliant, Garee was a fantastic host really friendly nothing too much trouble. The room was brilliant i wanted to bring the bed home with me as it was so comfortable, if you stay there ask for the Cockington room, really home from home comfortable and clean. Breakfast was good with a good choice. Will be reccomending this to our family and friends. Hope too go back there again real soon.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2010

Garee was a great host, his knowledge of local facilites was great, and his breakfasts were great, nothing was too much trouble. Comfortable bed and lovely clean room all to a great standard. Excellent place to stay will go back again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DorisnMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2010

we stayed over the augest bank holiday weekend, the room was small and en suite was cramed into the coner of the room with wash basin actualy in the room, in the morning breakfast was ok and service was good, our room was never cleaned the whole weekend, tea coffee was not replenished, the bar was not opened once during our stay here , so over all not the best place for us to stay

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leigh075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#30 of 88 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crimdon Dene Hotel
Crimdon Dene Hotel
#28 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kelvin House Hotel
Kelvin House Hotel
#48 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Abbeyfield Hotel
Abbeyfield Hotel
#5 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
1.1 mi away
Harbour Heights Guest House
0.2 mi away
Southbank Hotel
Southbank Hotel
#46 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brandize Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brandize Hotel

Property: Brandize Hotel
Address: 19 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#13 Family Hotel in Torquay
#15 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Brandize Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1906, this elegant Edwardian property is set back from the road and boasts a spacious car park and delightful gardens. Totally non-smoking and welcoming couples and families, the property is in an ideal, quiet location overlooking open parkland, yet close to the beach and many local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brandize Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brandize Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing