We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay!”
Review of Brandize Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brandize Hotel
Ranked #25 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Very pleasant stay in this friendly bed and breakfast. Rooms were nice, very clean and thoughtful touches such as chocolates and biscuits with the tea and coffee making facilities. Breakfast was good, with fresh fruit and lots of options. Rick and Sarah (and their two delightful grandchildren- staying for half-term week) were very welcoming and made our stay extra special. About 10 minute walk to the sea-front through the grounds of the Abbey, and then further 10 minutes to harbour area. Might be worth taking a torch if you intend walking back after dark!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joules47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

You could not find a warmer welcome than at the Brandize. Rick and Sarah are excellent hosts and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are furbished to an excellent standard and those added extras fall nothing short of a 5* hotel and is well deserving of the 4* star rating they have. So much choice at breakfast, cereals, yoghurts, fresh and dried fruit followed by at full English plus the choice of fried, poached or scrambled eggs not forgetting the toast!We would not hesitate to recommend the Brandize to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I should start by saying I am the fussiest person in the world. But genuinely have nothing but praise for Rick and Sarah.

We were met at the door after a long drive with everything we needed to know and a friendly introduction. We were then shown to our room, the room itself was incredibly clean and well presented with tea and coffee facilities. And then I soon checked out the smoking area at the side of the building.

Breakfast was wonderful, even catering for the fact I'll only eat bacon well done. The local handmade sausages were to die for and again that's something I'm very particular with.

We went to the local shop to buy extra milk so not to worry them by asking for extra and went out for the day (hoping it wouldn't heat up too much) to our surprise we got back to a note on the door. "I hope you don't mind I put your milk in the fridge outside of your room" we hadn't even noticed a fridge but very grateful for them saving it for us.

The tea and coffee was replenished while we were out and the room cleaned thoroughly even leaving some chocolates for us.

The last thing to say is that both Rick and Sarah are extremely friendly and if we ever come back to Torquay I know we'll be staying at The Brandize Guest House again.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dawrantc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Rick and Sarah were lovely, made us all feel at home. Our room-recently refurbished-was beautiful and the decor was of a high standard.
There was a great choice for breakfast, help yourself to yoghurt, cereal, fruit, as much tea or coffee as you wanted and then to top it all a lovely cooked full English-with a choice of what you would like!
We hope to spend another weekend in Torquay soon and we will be definitely be staying at the Brandize again-That is if they are not Fully booked which we suspect they will be!
Cheers Sarah and Rick . X

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan Maggi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We stayed at the Brandize Hotel for the weekend and would highly recommend this hotel.

Rick and Sarah were very friendly and looked after us well. Rick was even kind enough to drop us off into town on the Saturday night to save us a walk.

The room had been recently refurbished and so was in excellent condition. The bed was comfy and there was absolutely no noise to interrupt a comfortable night.

I would definitely recommend this Hotel and would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed in the Brandize for the weekend and were delighted with the service Rick and Sarah provided. The guest house is a very friendly and welcoming place to stay. The rooms are spacious and cleaned to a very high standard with everything you could wish for. The breakfast in the morning is fantastic with a very wide selection for everyone. Great value for the money and highly recommended. Will stay there next time we visit Torquay. Thank you once again for a great stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

This guest house was one of the friendliest and nicest places we have stayed. The room was very clean and pleasant. The breakfast was excellent with everything you could expect provided.

Super value for money and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chalkshome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Trelawney Hotel
Trelawney Hotel
#28 of 85 in Torquay
140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abbeyfield Hotel
Abbeyfield Hotel
#7 of 85 in Torquay
551 reviews
0 mi away
Kelvin House Hotel
Kelvin House Hotel
#42 of 85 in Torquay
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Southbank Hotel
Southbank Hotel
#46 of 85 in Torquay
154 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elmington Hotel
Elmington Hotel
#43 of 85 in Torquay
108 reviews
1.3 mi away
Frognel Hall Hotel
Frognel Hall Hotel
#52 of 85 in Torquay
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brandize Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brandize Hotel

Address: 19 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#8 Family Hotel in Torquay
#13 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £55 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brandize Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1906, this elegant Edwardian property is set back from the road and boasts a spacious car park and delightful gardens. Totally non-smoking and welcoming couples and families, the property is in an ideal, quiet location overlooking open parkland, yet close to the beach and many local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Brandize Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brandize Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing