We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Brandize Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brandize Hotel
Ranked #26 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Had 4 lovely days staying here from the 3rd to the 7th August. Rik and Sarah who run the hotel are a lovely helpful couple. Everything was perfect the room, breakfast and location. Thank you Rik and Sarah. From Janet and Neil.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

We arrived on the 5th of august to a very warm reception from Rik and Sarah. Friends arrived the following day at 9.00 am to be presented with a very warm welcome of tea and biscuits (this was not expected due to booking in time being 2pm). The location is ideal away from the Hussel and bussel of the town centre but within a 5 min drive. The accommodation is very comfortable the bathrooms are very clean and the breakfast is superb. Sarah and Rick are a wonderful couple and you could not wish for better people to run this establishment, they even came and joined us for a drink sat in their garden (which guests are welcome to use). I would recommended anyone to stay here and we will definitely be coming back.

Room Tip: They are all good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mark s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed at Brandize back in June, so apologies to Risk and Sarah as this review is long overdue! Back in Torquay for about our 4th visit of the year, we booked into Brandize at fairly short notice, and weren't disappointed. Location is good with bus route (32) fairly close by or a nice walk to town / harbour through the grounds of Torre Abbey. Rick and Sarah gave us a tour of their refurbished rooms, and although we were on the first floor, in one yet to be modernised, it was plenty big enough, comfortable, and with a nice sized en-suite. Dining room is on lower ground floor but still has natural light, and offers a pleasant start to the day. Good range of cereals / juices / yoghurts etc and nice cooked full English. As regulars we are familiar with the local area, so didn't need info on places to go, but Rick and Sarah were very helpful with information which assited our business visit to the are. Although full on our subsequent visit, we still popped in to say hello. Thanks again. Ray & Paula

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ray D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for two nights whilst at a wedding. The owners are very friendly and waited up for us to arrive late on the first night. The cold water in a fridge just outside the room was a nice touch on a warm summer night!

Room was perfect, bed comfy and bathroom was large with a large shower. Breakfast was fantastic, lots of choice and nice sausages on the full English.

All in all a lovely stay, we wouldn't stay anywhere else if we were ever to venture down South in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomChalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

we recently stayed in the brandize for three night's,rick and sarah are very friendly and welcoming people,you would be hard to find a more friendly and welcoming couple in the hotel industry,we've not, and have travelled around hotel's a bit,on top of this the hotel is very clean and tidy,and the room we had was excellent,the breakfast was very good with lot's of choice for all,if and when we go to torquay again,the brandize would be the first phone call for accomadation,thanks rick and sarah for making our stay in torquay so happy

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Steve1927kel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Sarah and Rick are the best host, very welcoming and very accommodating.
Stayed for two nights, the rooms were comfortable, and homely, and the breakfast were the best in town.
Location to the seafront was ideal, and only a short trip into the centre.
All in all, very good value for money, and made my birthday weekend very special

Will definately be the only place i'll stay in torquay & come back again

Thanks you guys Rock
Chay + Friends

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Stayed for one night with a family of five. The accommodations were excellent with a comfy bed. It's a short walk to the seafront and the only thing that woke us was the sound of seagulls. Breakfast was very good and our hosts were very welcoming and attentive.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Loustr123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Trelawney Hotel
Trelawney Hotel
#28 of 85 in Torquay
141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abbeyfield Hotel
Abbeyfield Hotel
#7 of 85 in Torquay
551 reviews
0 mi away
Kelvin House Hotel
Kelvin House Hotel
#42 of 85 in Torquay
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Southbank Hotel
Southbank Hotel
#46 of 85 in Torquay
154 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elmington Hotel
Elmington Hotel
#44 of 85 in Torquay
108 reviews
1.3 mi away
Frognel Hall Hotel
Frognel Hall Hotel
#52 of 85 in Torquay
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brandize Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brandize Hotel

Address: 19 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Torquay
#8 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#13 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £56 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brandize Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1906, this elegant Edwardian property is set back from the road and boasts a spacious car park and delightful gardens. Totally non-smoking and welcoming couples and families, the property is in an ideal, quiet location overlooking open parkland, yet close to the beach and many local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Brandize Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brandize Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing