We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would not stay agian”
Review of Waters Edge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waters Edge Hotel
Ranked #140 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 July 2012

spent a week here not by choice booked by my company for several of us,our room had a which needed putting on in the morning 20 minutes some days it got hot others it stayed freezing,beds are made in a fashion my quilt had big lumps in it,tryed breakfast first day that was enough asked for poached egg on toast must have cooked in neat vinger,arrived back one night to find 2 of our lads bags packed and moved out of there room thought they were going home but it was the 2 girls that had gone home one of the lads was moved rooms after that ,when i complained about this i was told they needed the room for paying guests ,don,t know what we were ,this hotel needs a total re-vamp plus there is not enough parking 2 nights i had to park on a side street.we asked how far to town 10 minutes it was 25 minutes walking at a good pace

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 477ejh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 408 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2012

A nice relaxing time The hotel needs a bit of refurbishment but I was paying two star prices and accept that fact. I can't believe the poor reviews. What do you expect for the money you pay - a five star hotel ? Don't know who the entertainer was that the last reviewer saw but we (and everybody else) were well pleased, especially with Marcel - he was brilliant.

The staff couldn't have been more helpful to us. Will come again if we come back to Torquay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eddiemurphy43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Booked a coach trip with ALFA and this is the hotel they used, the interior is appalling, scuffed bannisters, dirty carpets, peeling paper in the dining room near the kitchen where the roof has been leaking, small rooms with smaller bathrooms and the food beggers belief, dinner menu every day was choice of soup or small fruit juice, meat or fish, with same veg for both, sponge pudding or ice cream, an hour for breakfast and an hour for dinner is all that was allowed, the duvet was lumpy and a single wardrobe in a double room was all we had and the toilet had a problem, it continually flushed! it was like a river running through the room, you had to pump at the buttons to get it to eventually stop! They have a lift that doesn't service all floors, so if you are on the 3rd floor or higher you have to lug your case up at least 36 stairs!! My adivice is to definitely give this hotel a miss and also any ALFA coach trips that use this hotel....AFLA is aware of problems with this hotel, but yet they continue to use it...the mind boggles...profit not customer satisfaction seems to be what ALFA are aming for here.

Room Tip: No good rooms at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dunckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

This was part of a holiday package and this review has been sent to the organisers.

On arrival we thought it looked fine from the outside but inside was very tired and dated with wallpaper missing from the walls in bar and stairway. Reception staff not very approachable and one man was responsible for the reception, bar and waiting at breakfast and dinner. Our room (39) was very small and cramped, the beds looked clean and were comfortable BUT we did not expect to find the sink in the bedroom and the shower and toilet in a cupboard with your knees touching the door! The bedside cabinet was broken, the valence on the beds very dusty as was the headboard and daido rail and the only way to watch the TV hanging from the ceiling was to lay on the bed the "two chairs" were dining chairs up against the window with a sideway view of TV. On the very last morning (fortunately) my friend was sitting on one of the chair tying her shoe laces when she became horrified because she had seen a toe nail clipping by her bed (not hers or mine)!

Dining : Waiter was not happy at being asked for brown toast at breakfast or another roll at dinner! We felt like “Oliver”. The food was plain but edible but I do object to having to decide at breakfast what I want for my dinner and being asked to dine at 6pm (I felt like a child). The tablecloths were not changed the whole time we were there even though I spilt a glass of orange juice on ours.

We thought it was a hotel with lots of potential being wasted or is it a sign of the times?

Room Tip: Can't answer this one but was not aware of any rooms looking like the website and we were with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoDoKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

It was fairly decent value for money but the hotel seems to have seen better days. The entire hotel creaks an awful lot so it might be hard to get some sleep if your room is near a busy area.

While the sea was visible from our rooms, the rooms were very small, and there was hardly any space to move about. There were small TVs in the room but they weren't very good.

Breakfast was fine, though the lounge and dining area were bizarrely decorated. The location is on the outskirts of Torquay, which worked well for us because we drove about quite a bit.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are nice. In our price range, 43 and 44 were good rooms because they were set a littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Smallgoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

i was a bit worried after reading some of the reviews but i,ve come to realise that some people think they are hotel inspectors and must walk round with a magnifying glass! we arrived late on friday afternoon 11th of may to glorious sunshine, we were welcomed by phil who gave us are keys to room 33, i had previously asked for a "seaview" via e-mail and an awesome panoramic view we got absolutely fabulous. the room was spacious and the bed was huge, clean and very comfortable, the shower and toilet were spotless and very up to date, and the towels clean and spotless. after sorting out our bags we decided to exspore so we went down stairs, the bar was lovely as was the dining area and the lounge, we were feeling a bit peckish so asked for some sandwiches which phil bought to us in the garden (was,nt a problem).
That evening we were out with friends when we returned the hotel was quiet and my friend and i slepped like logs, nxt morning we went down for breakfast there was loads cereals fruit, orange juice, and then a full english after with toast coffee or tea,
overall i think it,s a lovely hotel and very reasonable and have no complaints whatsoever, i was worried about the comments about the turning to get in and out of the hotel car park, it,s not that bad! my friend and i really enjoyed ourselves and definately stay here again.

Room Tip: room 33 if you get the chance! you wont be sorry!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julezthebrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

A nice hotel, with massive potential to offer more. Vastly under-used space/function rooms, with
dull and un-interesting public areas.
Expected something more from a hotel, with prime location, in one of Britain's premier holiday towns.
Polite staff, but again, the usual in the UK no engaging personality. This hotel could take a lot more money.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary-back-in-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,186 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#29 of 85 in Torquay
2,546 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Iona Torquay
The Iona Torquay
#54 of 149 in Torquay
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#48 of 85 in Torquay
368 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 85 in Torquay
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waters Edge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waters Edge Hotel

Address: Seafront Torbay Road, Torquay TQ2 6QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £28 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waters Edge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Waters Edge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waters Edge Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing