We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you get what you pay for...”
Review of Waters Edge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waters Edge Hotel
Ranked #140 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We had four nights at the waters edge hotel. There is a reason its a two star hotel, you just get the basics. If you want four star then the grand hotel is 400 yards away.
We wanted a base for visiting family locally and the waters edge was perfect for this. I could pick holes in the hotel but im not as "you get what you pay for" the positives far outweigh the negatives. The staff are friendly, rooms comfortable & clean, food well presented & plentiful.
There was two things that the hotel could do to make it a more pleasurable stay, provide more seating outside (we were one of three coach parties staying) four benches is quite inadequate. Secondly the restaurant gets very hot when full (uncomfortably so) air conditioning would be a huge bonus.

Room Tip: i asked for a sea view upgrade. with no extra charge we got a side sea view (room 11) it faces Torqu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rabbit37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 408 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our short break a this hotel 8th - 12th July 2013. The room was of adequate size with lovely sea views. The on suite had shower cubicle as requested. The food was cooked just right and beautifully presented. Portion size was good considering three courses plus tea or coffee. Some people have commented that the hotel is dated, but this adds to the character of the building and over modernising would spoil this. It is obvious that the manager and limited staff work very hard to keep everything running as smoothly as possible on a low budget. The price paid is very good and we couldn't have asked for better. We would definitely stay there again and recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 34 and would definitely recommend it for views but not if you don't like road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 469Jennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

we booked this in advance because we wanted a hotel near the one where we were going to a wedding evening party. They asked us to pay before we went to our room, and if we had seen the room first i think we would have found somewhere else to go. we had room 22, which was in a small corridor right between the kitchen and dining room. it smelt of cooking oil and in respect of Health & Safety is an accident waiting to happen.You could come out of your room and walk into someone carrying hot food on plates. i did actually slip slightly on the floor as it was tacky. We had a large spindly spider in a web above the wardrobe. The carpet was dusty and didnt look like it had been vacuumed. The skirting board under the radiator was thick with dust. The light switch was loose, and the room smelt old and musty. The duvet had clumps of filling in places and none in other places, which was uncomfortable to say the least. The dining room was not brilliant either, the chairs were dusty and had not been cleaned. The food was average.

Room Tip: Look and inspect room before you pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank gaynor n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We were booked on a trip here. Stayed in room 9 to begin with, which smelt of sewerage, each time anyone used there shower/bath sink or toilet.
The food was very very basic, after our meal we asked for cheese and biscuits, which people were getting, he had to ask and then we had to wait for everyone to have there deserts! The waiter could not understand us and we could not understand him. The table cloths never got changed in our 4 day stay there, we know as on Fri we spilt gravy and it was still there on Monday, as was the spilt orange juice, coffee and ice cream. The rooms were very tired and in desperate need of some work. No entertainment in the evenings. All in all, we would NOT go again....
I could go on and say more

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sue t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

space for parking, but best to reverse in...
was allowed to check in half hour early,room was small ,but clean, with tea and coffee making . shabby sheek furniture, draw was stiff to open, nice brass bed, very comtable.
fantastic power shower, clean bathroom, but only given a small bar of soap, no shower gel, having said that it was good value £50 for 2 people with breakfast included
the breakfast was full english, no mushrooms, choice of cereals, and fruit, tea pot had 3 tea bags, so lovely cup of tea,
the staff and service excellent tooo.

Room Tip: 18 room is small with a mirror in front of window with no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cathymarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

I went on a Monday to Friday holiday with a coach company and had heard many bad reviews so I was a bit worried about what I was going to get but there was nothing to worry about as I got a sea view room that was clean and tidy, the staff were friendly and hard working (especially Adrian who was a brilliant waiter) and the food was at a good standard considering the price. It really is a matter of opinion but for somewhere to rest your head and have an evening meal and breakfast it is exactly what you need. The sea is only over the road and there is a bus stop nearby so easy access to the town centre, which is only a 15 minute walk away. I would definitely consider going again!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

I just had to write a review after reading so many bad remarks about this hotel after we booked a room for the night. The hotel is a budget priced hotel and we paid £ 50-00 pounds for 2 of us for the night which in june is dam cheap at a busy tourist resort most of the reviews I read after booking gave the hotel a real bad review and I felt so strongly I had to write a review the hotel was spotless clean and in a awesome position for ease of going to paignton or torquay upon arrival we were greeted by a gent who was very polite and very happy. We were in room 7 when we went into the room it was a nice size and very clean and the bed had nice fresh bedding. The bathroom was huge and again spotless so could not find fault there apart from no soap in the bathroom for washing hands after using the toilet. The room had a nice flat screen tv and plenty of towels. The only fault I could find was the tea and coffee making facilities were not so good being cheap brands but hey book a budget hotel get budget goods. Overall I think the hotel is awesome value for money and would re book again and after so many reviews I didn't see any scarey dog in reception.

Room Tip: we had room 7 huge and I mean huge bathroom with an awesome power shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jiggsyPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
1 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#29 of 85 in Torquay
618 reviews
1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#30 of 85 in Torquay
2,513 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Iona Torquay
The Iona Torquay
#57 of 149 in Torquay
284 reviews
0.8 mi away
Glenorleigh
Glenorleigh
#54 of 149 in Torquay
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waters Edge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waters Edge Hotel

Address: Seafront Torbay Road, Torquay TQ2 6QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £31 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waters Edge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Waters Edge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waters Edge Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing