We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful”
Review of Waters Edge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waters Edge Hotel
Ranked #140 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This once proud hotel is but a shadow of it's former glory days. The "lets have your money now" arrival speech from the unfriendly evening porter spoke volumes and rang an alarm-bell. Although in fairness, the room had a fresh coat of paint, was reasonably clean, with towels and tea/coffee makings supplied. However, my fears about the type of clientèle they were used to accommodating was realised later that night on our return from the Princess Theatre. During the so called 'quiet hours' a small number of young, immature drunken guests returned from their soiree at the local night clubs, intent on waking up the entire hotel with very loud abusive shouting, whilst falling up the stairs, collapsing on the landings and corridors, banging on the wrong doors whilst rattling the doorhandles. All very amusing to them of course, but disconcerting to say the least to anyone of a nervous disposition. However, a first class breakfast served by friendly, helpful staff, made some amends for the disturbed sleep. After all that, this establishment is situated slap-bang on the seafront, with a spectacular uninterrupted sea view all within easy walking distance of Torre Abbey, the Railway Station, the Princess Theatre and Harbour area also Cockington village and the Manor grounds and with prices at half that charged by neighbouring establishments, it was value for money. Just wish I had taken some ear-plugs! And yes, we thoroughly enjoyed the theatre show (the Rod Stewart musical 'Tonight's the Night").

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea view and take ear-plugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob2470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 408 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

Located on the seafront in the Livermead area, the Waters Edge has fantastic potential, but is let down by the lack of attention to clients comfort, especially in the public areas. Receeption is gloomy, the bar poorly furnished, dark and unmanned. The restaurant has no character, but the breakfast is quite good.
We went out of season immediately after the storms in February, but it was difficult to see that it would improve.
With such a great location, a little more attention to details would make this a must visit hotel.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms have agreat view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

If your thinking about staying in Torquay ... Do not stay here , room was dated with coffee stains on the wall and on the furniture the curtains were also stained , not clean at all ( took pictures to prove this ),apart from the bathroom which was exceptable apart from a broken light in there . Service was dismal , the evening receptionist was flat out asleep watching tv ..breakfast was another state if affairs quick service but proberly the worst full English of my life . Proberly best to bring your camping equipment if you have booked a stay here .

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stayed for 2 awful nights, grumpy old(owner,manager?) Not very clean, old fashioned,no sleep because of the baby seagulls squealing on the flat roof outside our room. Its a no no for me. Torquay is a nice place if your over 60 but you need to find a good hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Stayed here for one night whilst intending to watch a football game in Torquay, though unfortunately the only winners of the football was great British weather. This hotel has friendly and helpful staff and is situated in an excellent location being only 5 mins walk from the railway station and a further 15 mins walk along the sea front into town and is also along the main Torquay to Paignton bus route, Whilst my single room was slightly on the small side, it was by no means cramped and was clean , quiet and comfortable with a pleasent sea view and good facilities. i enjoyed the full english breakfast and cereal is also avilable. would definately not hesitate to use this hotel again if and when i next visit Torquay

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gary j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

have just returned from a new years break at the waters edge torquay.this was the second visit on a new year.this hotel has so much potential if only it had the right person managing it. all the staff apart from the manager were very friendly.we have stayed in many hotels but have never encountered a manager who completely blanked us with not so much as a good morning.with a little more tlc this hotel could become one of the better hotels in torquay

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed at the Waters Edge from 23 Dec 2013 until 27 Dec 2013
The room (No 28) was very clean and well maintained, two drawbacks spring to mind there was no dressing table, which I believe most ladies would consider a basic necessity, and when the heating was turned off daily from mid morning to late afternoon it was bitterly cold.
The shower room was once again very clean, but with no heating whatsoever meant that showering on a cold December day was not really a pleasant experience.
The dining room was beautifully decorated for Christmas, but with the tables butted together canteen style, it meant that dining was rather impersonal, also the tables were too small and it was quite a problem for the dining room staff to find space for the crockery and cutlery ,this also meant that guests had to eat with their arms tucked tightly into their sides.
The Christmas day lunch was excellent and with all the seasonal extras provided (hats crackers etc) the presentation could not be faulted.
On a day to day basis the food was good and our waitress brilliant.
The entertainment was ok, clearly designed for the not so young, but watchable.
If you can accept the negatives that I have highlighted then yes I could recommend the Waters Edge hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gordon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,188 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#29 of 85 in Torquay
2,546 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Iona Torquay
The Iona Torquay
#53 of 149 in Torquay
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#47 of 85 in Torquay
368 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#8 of 85 in Torquay
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waters Edge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waters Edge Hotel

Address: Seafront Torbay Road, Torquay TQ2 6QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £28 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waters Edge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Waters Edge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waters Edge Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing