We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location with a budget price!”
Review of Waters Edge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waters Edge Hotel
Ranked #138 of 150 Torquay B&B and Inns
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic location with a budget price!”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We have been to the Waters Edge on several previous occasions and I know that we will continue to visit it again in the future. Located opposite the famous Corbyn's Head which is literally on the coast and an easy flat walk to the outstanding harbour.

The hotel is great value and in some ways I'm reluctant to review it in case it becomes too popular and the price goes up!

Give it a try - there's also a free car park on site.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susansboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    124
    98
    70
    46
See reviews for
44
228
22
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Hard to know where to start....First of all the car park was not easy to park in and on the last day we could not park due to contractors parking there...the response from the manger was go and park in a side road...very helpful ...NOT.
And now the room cleanish...very dated...small..shower loose...rusty shower rail and radiator...ill fitting curtain...Very hot water ( could be a danger to children ) ...squeaky floorboards as i see other have mentioned on this sight...no hotel information in the room..Bar area had very little choice in drinks...Also as all the floorboards squeak don't expect to get much sleep.
As hotel was so poor we left a day early...i did tell Manger we were packing to go home and would speak to him on the way out...but he was nowhere to be found !!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkF1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torquay hotels

Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Torquay B + B, Watery towers, this has got to be close. Positive, the bedding and linen was clean. Negative, floor boards creaked everywhere, carpets old, tired and worn, dust and cob webs. Asked for a double and got given a 3/4 size and a single in the attic I think !! The grumpy man who served breakfast couldn't even wear a clean shirt. We were planning to stay a few days, but like a previous review, couldn't wait to get out.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alastair B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here all week while working in the area.
I normally stay in chain hotels but was booked in here by my work.
It is a bit dated, but clean and very helpful staff, the poor guy on reception seems to work all hours but is alway polite and nice when he sees you.
The hotel is opposite the sea and it has some wonderful views.
I think work only paid about £35 a night. So for that money you can not go wrong.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Matt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Where do I start.... The outside of the hotel looks tired and needs doing up. Receptionist was friendly and gave us room No.5. The curtains were hanging off the curtain rail, bleach stains on the carpet, very creaky iron bedspread, lumpy quilt. Didn't use the shower as it was dirty. Got woken up around 4am as curtain was not a blackout curtain. At 5am someone walked past our room. whistling and banging doors. At 7am we nearly fell out of bed when someone turned the kitchen extractor fan on, which was right under our window and extremely noisy. We had considered having breakfast there but couldn't wait to get out. Can't comment on a seaside view as we only saw that when we came out of the entrance.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ankeandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medway
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Don't expect peace and quiet because you won't get it - no matter how quiet the others residents are.
The hotel has thin walls, thin ceilings - and floor boards that squeak, crackle and generally annoy.
The hotel, however, is very cheap, and breakfast even cheaper. What was attractive was the food was wholesome, hot, and served quickly at your table. There were even speciality teas to sup.
The beds were firm (and didn't squeak), the room reasonably clean.
I only saw two staff - the big man on duty 24/7 and a petite lady. At least one more was on duty in the kitchen.
Parking is available, but it is a challenge to get in and to get out.
It's on the main Torbay bus route - the 12 - and not exactly on the water's edge (the sea is on the other side of the road), but despite being worn out and tired I found it hard not to like it. I have certainly stayed at far worse places in Torbay (and not at Fawlty Towers, either).

Room Tip: Make sure that the sea view is not through the fug of smokers hanging around the entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gl8246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

The location is perfect, lovely sea views and a good price too. At the reception we were greeted by a man that seems to run the place 24/7, he's either at the reception, serving breakfast, or bizarrely watching TV with a cuppa in the evenings. Seems like we live in his house, not a hotel. The floorboards everywhere are shocking, squeak the moment you put any pressure on them. Bed was very squeaky and uncomfortable, I normally sleep well but managed 4 hours in 2 nights combined. Shower was nice, bathroom was a decent size, free view small tv and very basic tea and coffee. The duvet weighs a ton and gathers lumps ridiculously quick. Double bed seemed like a single and a half. Stains are quite frequent to see from bleach or god knows what else. Breakfast is pretty bad, full English consists of a basic sausage, very salty dried up bacon, egg, fried bread, plum tomato and half a plate of baked beans. There's also tinned fruit available and 4 types of cereal. All in all, its ok, but there's so much room for improvement. Seems like they can't be bothered to do the place up, but it has so much potential!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
1.1 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#47 of 87 in Torquay
359 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#33 of 87 in Torquay
560 reviews
0.3 mi away
Corbyn Head Hotel
Corbyn Head Hotel
#58 of 87 in Torquay
520 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#54 of 87 in Torquay
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waters Edge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waters Edge Hotel

Property: Waters Edge Hotel
Address: Seafront Torbay Road, Torquay TQ2 6QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Waters Edge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Waters Edge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waters Edge Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing