We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Waters Edge Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (414)
Filter reviews
414 results
Traveller rating
58
125
104
77
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
58
125
104
77
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewsea fronttea and coffeepaigntonphilharbour
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
182 - 187 of 414 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

After reading some of the reviews on here we nearly cancelled our booking, I'm glad we didn't.
The hotel is in a great location with fantastic views. So the building is pretty old fashioned with creaky floorboards but it's clean and fully functional. The bathrooms look fairly new with great showers, loads of hot water and towels. In the room itself there is flat screen tv with free view, tea/coffee, hair dryer, alarm clock and plenty of storage. Our bed was quite firm so took a bit of getting used to, the one next door was slightly softer, so luck of the draw I guess.
Breakfast is worth paying for, though only having a strict 8am - 9am window is tough when on holiday with teenagers who stayed up long hours watching films on the enormous tv in the lounge. They could use their own dvds too, so pop a couple in if you've kids to amuse for a while.
Every morning we were greeted with a cheery greeting by the waitress at breakfast, the other 2 staff we saw, whilst not unfriendly or unhelpful, would benefit from a little customer service training. We did get a smile from the receptionist by the end of our stay.
All in all, not a bad stay, ok so it's not The Ritz but it's not that bad!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Let's start with a good point the location if you can get a sea view room I'm sure it would be great. Unfortunately we had the train tracks instead.
Once walk around the corner lovely view of torbay especially at night!
With regards to the hotel itself it honestly felt like we went in the deloreon back in time to the 1980's with the decor. As previously mentioned it's a querky place like fawlty towers with corridors on multiple levels going all over the place. Expecting to see basil doing the goose step at any moment.
I think next time we will go back to the present day and find somewhere a bit closer to our time.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Rubbish Room, Rude staff after changing our booking.

Be aware they have the right to change your booking without notice, so that if you order a sea room and have the confirmation. ‘we have the right to change it if we need too’

We were put in a big (family) room downstairs next to an ally and a generator that kept us awake all night. The night porter seemed to know the problem in the morning, and asked us to come back as he could probably move us, when the boss arrived later that day, she wasn’t interested. Rude isn’t a good word, but then culturally she may not have understood what rudeness constitutes!
Do as we did for the same price, we removed yourself after being charged for no sleep) and stayed at the premier inn, who if you have a bad night return your money.

Also be aware they do not have enough parking, so first come, first served. Parking is then in a side road near by.
They are having the building renovated also, with all that entails.

We have stayed many times in Tourquay, never will we even consider this hotel again. And we will do all we can to warn others off.
Had we checked this web site prior to booking, we would have taken the number of negatives as a clear DON’T GO!

You have been warned

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gary j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed here for two nights in July, receptionist was pretty clueless because I had booked to stay an additional night and he looked like he didn't really have a clue what was going on- when we asked for an additional key he just looked clueless. There was a problem with the heating so the hotel was absolutely boiling, even more so in the middle of July. Our room however was massive. There was three of us staying in a family room, the room had one x double and 3 x single beds- enough for five people. Room was clean. Bathroom was very dated with pink fittings but again was clean. Brilliant location and lovely views across the bay. About a 10/15 min walk to the town centre. Would stay again. Breakfast however wasn't worth the £5, better off grabbing it elsewhere!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank RoseB91x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The Waters Edge, as a building has seen better days. Lots of atmosphere and creaky dòors and floor boards. But the location is good enough to allow a little tolerance. Beautiful views from a building which is very close to the sea, and a delightful little garden with seats to make the most of the sights. The staff were very pleasant, and kept us very comfortable, clean and well fed. Lots of hot water, a decent shower with plentiful towels on demand, tea and coffee in our room and a well stocked TV. (preview) The English breakfast was varied, hot and tasty. The only down point was the bar. No draught beer, just gassy little bottles which were a tad expensive. The bar parlour had a very large TV, and comfortable seating, but the prices of drinks drove me
to the town when I felt the urge to indulge in alcohol. All in all though, a very pleasant week.

Room Tip: Because of the creaky floor boards, the best choice of rooms is probably the top floor. (lift available)
Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank tvajones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews