We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget Priced Hotel”
Review of Waters Edge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waters Edge Hotel
Ranked #140 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 July 2010

Hotel mainly caters for coach parties. Room 19 is over the kitchen at the back of the hotel and a noisey extractor fan is just under the window this will wake you in the morning if you like to have you window open. Stayed for three nights and the room and bathroom was not cleaned durring our stay. Bed was made and towels changed once.They seem to have very few staff but but managed to serve breakfast and the evening meal promptly. Dont expect 5 star hotel for the money you pay. Overall I would recomend this hotel. Nice views from the dinning room and only a 20 minute walk to the town. Half priced drinks from the bar between 8pm and 9pm. Entertainment on Saturday nights

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellinggirl53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

380 - 386 of 408 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2010

My partener and i have just arrived back from a monday to friday stay at waters edge hotel.and i have to say it was just great,the hotel is spotless,rooms excellent.good food and very pleasant staff,especialy phil who seemed to work non stop from the time we got there until the time we left,nothing was too much trouble.well done to all the staff at waters edge.

Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank cazcab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2010

Stayed for 1 night for my birthday at a bargain price. Although very quiet in the hotel the staff were very pleasant and helpful.

Our room was a double a little on the small side but very clean and with a lovely sea view.

Good location about a 20 minute walk into the harbour area along the sea front, or you can cheat and catch the bus! Also very close to Dartmoor, if visiting in the summer best of both worlds right near the beach, town, nightlife and wildlife.

I would definately consider this hotel to stay in again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank c0rnishbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2010

Went with national hollidays, arrived at hotel no one from management gave us a welcome left to the driver. same when leaving no one to wish us a pleasent trip home.

only saw three members of staff the whole week, no of which spoke to us the only pleasent conversation was the watersess whom were very pleasent. there was a man there whom never said a thing it was as if he was there under suferance suspect he could have been the owner.

Food not quite what i expected did not know that the same fish could be surved up in so many differant forms battered buttered even with armonds all the same fish under differant names exclam. meals were fine just what might be expected from a budget hotel.

stay was other wise plesent, room was nice and cozy nice and warm, had a problem getting a drink from the bar sometimes seemed the bar man worked in the dineing room as well did not say much in fact nothing.

it would have been nice to have felt welcome instead of a none entity on a coach trip.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allanscarborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2010

Booked a one night stay at the Water's Edge for the bargain price of £20!!! For that they even gave us a room with a sea view! It is quite a basic hotel so don't go there expecting the Ritz, but you do get a comfortable bed, nice en-suite bathroom and efficient service. Torquay centre is a short walk away along the sea front, the railway station is just around the corner and buses pass by regularly. If you're on a budget I'd definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheAlSirat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2010

We stayed for Christmas this year for 5 days, could not fault the hotel at all, Natalie our waitress was very frendly, all meals were good, and could change items on the menu with no bother, staff were very busy so sometimes had to wait a while for drinks at the bar, our room could have been a bit larger as it had a double bed and a single, and really should have been just a double, nice new LCD TV and did use the free Wi Fi.
Not suitable for younger people at this time of the year, as the majority were over 60.
Brian. Portsmouth.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wave129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights on a coach trip.
The hotel is in a brilliant position on the sea front a short walk from the town centre.
The staff were very friendly and the service was good. Our room although very small was comfortable and had a sea view, however there was alot of dust and the bathroom had a very strange aroma!
The low point of our stay was the food, the breakfast was lovely but the evening meals were very basic and from the freezer following a 1960's style theme.
I would recommend this hotel as a budget hotel and only on a B&B basis for a view nights not a weeks stay.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrish76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,187 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#29 of 85 in Torquay
2,546 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Iona Torquay
The Iona Torquay
#53 of 149 in Torquay
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#47 of 85 in Torquay
368 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#8 of 85 in Torquay
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waters Edge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waters Edge Hotel

Address: Seafront Torbay Road, Torquay TQ2 6QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £28 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waters Edge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Waters Edge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waters Edge Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing