We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waters Edge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Waters Edge Hotel
Ranked #142 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“fantastic!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2011

great value for money, stayed at other hotels in torquay before, and for what you pay, waters edge offers alot more value for what you pay. the only negative i have is the room was a bit on the small side. Lovely staff!! Will definatly return

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mik244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyLanyon, Front Office Manager at Waters Edge Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a response on the website.

It is fantastic to know that compared to much of our competition it looks like we offer excellent value for money. As a company we strive to get this positive feedback. Im pleased you found the staff helpful and friendly.

We await and look forward to your return.

Kind Regards
Waters Edge Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    117
    96
    67
    46
See reviews for
44
218
21
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2011

My friend and I also stayed for Christmas.
I was late arriving due to work, but there was a hot meal waiting for me.
It was lovely to be able to have all your meals cooked for you and just relax and go for a fresh walk.
it was brilliant value for money and I would like to give it a go in the summer.
Our room was small, but if the hotel is not full then I am sure we would have been offered a larger one, besides we got our sea view that we asked for.
Also this hotel is very close to the train station and is on a good bus route, so just dump your car and relax.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karen17Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyLanyon, Front Office Manager at Waters Edge Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2011
Thank you for the response you have posted. It is great to hear that you enojoyed your time with us at the Waters Edge Hotel. It is very improtant to us to provide a certain level of customer service that people remember and want to write about.

I am sorry that you thought your room was small but like you said we managed to meet your requirements for that sea view you wanted. It would be great to see you back in the summer and hopefully you will have on of the bigger rooms

Kind Regards and thank you again for taking your time to wrote such positive things.

Waters Edge Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2011

I went with Travelstyle for 4 nights at Christmas about 25 in hotel and did we get the service - full board large breakfast for those who want it, good lunch. super dinner. someone must have been doing a lot of cooking. Tin Roses always by the front door when gone another appeared; christmas presents for all; free cocktail and mince pies. good entertainment. Phil, the owner, is a treasure, best proprietor I've ever come across. Quiet day time but sky was blue and no snow so walked to town and back each day. Downside - room was rather small.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fussy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyLanyon, RESPONSE FROM EMILY LANYON, FRONT OFFICE MANAGEMENT at Waters Edge Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2011
Firstly I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking your time to write such a positive comment. It is always nice for all staff here at the Waters Edge to know our hard work is paying off. I shall pass your fantastic praises to Phil who I am sure will be very pleased with himself. Your right, the hotel is quiet in the daytime as most guests are out taking in the views etc but it is very peaceful.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and had a lovely Christmas here at the Waters Edge. We looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Water Edge Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2010

useless. Awful food and service,small room and food bad. Train line outside bedroom window was nice, NOT. great views from front of hotel was the best thing about it.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tlfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2010

I dunno what's the fuss is all about. Good reception perfect location a lift car park lovely view LCD tv clean and nice shower had also digital tv for less than £30 ( special deal) happy very happy

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raymonduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2010

Clean and comfy representing outstanding value for money. The hotel is situated within easy walking distance from the town centre, and the room was furnished to an acceptable level. Didn't eat in hotel as there are a large selection of good eateries in town for dinner and breakfast. Had no problems with the staff as they were efficient and friendly. Ample parking also. Granted, the hotel is no Radisson but if you want a good cheap base for a weekend in Torquay then look no further!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dre77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2010

i am staying at the hotel at the moment nice hotel but my god we had chicken legs last night a sparrow has more meat on it in my party we have two people who dont do veg we were lucky if we got ywo crockets each i surgest you go out and have a good meal out and have you so called meal for a snack or be warned be hungry chips tonight taking bets i say three chips each probably frozen like rest of food roll on fri when im home

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lewis-blagburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torquay hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.8 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#89 of 89 in Torquay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
1.1 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#49 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#58 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Richmond
Hotel Richmond
#66 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Livermead House Hotel
Livermead House Hotel
#51 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waters Edge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waters Edge Hotel

Property: Waters Edge Hotel
Address: Seafront Torbay Road, Torquay TQ2 6QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Waters Edge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Waters Edge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waters Edge Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing