We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“COULD NOT BE HAPPIER.......THANK YOU.”
Review of Waters Edge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waters Edge Hotel
Ranked #140 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 March 2011

I lived in Torquay all my life, moving away 8yrs ago. I know the area, where I wanted to be and the view I wanted to enjoy. There are a lot of grotty, dated B&B`s in the Belgrave area to avoid ( a little too close to the police station ) however I was very pleased with the Waters Edge, right on the sea front, away from the noise of town but close enough for a night out, safe off street parking, clean & tidy with buckets of instant hot water! 22inch flat screen in our room but the view of Torquay and its marina sums up why it is called the English Riviera. I am returning to Torquay in June, and will be staying at the waters edge. Thank you.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaredinpastyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (404)
There are newer reviews for Waters Edge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

343 - 349 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2011

Lovely quiet location with beautiful views. It was fantastic value for money, with a comfortable warm room, good food , and excellent service from the staff. Hope to stay there again sometime.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlg0903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2011

Stay at the waters edge last night 6th march 2011. We found blood on the sheets, mould on the bathroom ceiling. When we turned the cold water tap on in bath we could see black gunge coming out. Inside bed side draws were full of crumbs, mirror was dirty, windows were dirty. The room rate was cheap but there is no excuse for blood ridden bed sheets and terrible cleanliness. Will not be returning or recommending this hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyLanyon, Front Office Manager at Waters Edge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2011

Hello

Firstly we would like to take this oportunity to thank you for writing a review even though it is very negative. It has given us the chance to investigate such feedback. We are very sorry to hear you were not satisfied.

After your complaint we called in one of the laundry reps to take a look at what you called "blood stained sheets" we were advised that firstly there was no way this sheet would have been sent to the hotel and secondly in our defence housekeeping would NEVER use a stained sheet. Surley if this was the case you would have reported it straight away to reception and suely wouldnt have slept in it? We can only therefor conclude that you may have had a small cut or abraision that you havent noticed.

During your stay you did not raise your issues with us - had you done so you would have been moved to another room without question. Looking at other reviews posted in the last few months this one is out of character. Here at the Waters Edge we pride ourselves in value for money, helpful staff and cleanliness.

We feel that on this occasion we can only aoplogise that you didnt enjoy your stay, however we were not given the opportunity to rectify any problmes you had as nothing was brought to our attention

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2011

clean room, sea view, good food,good bus service from outside hotel. nice friendly , hard working staff. Bar prices a little expensive but happy hour 8-9pm.

Hope to return at a later date.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barrychambers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyLanyon, Front Office Manager at Waters Edge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2011

Hello

I would like to thank you for taking time to review our hotel. Your comments are much appreciated. Its fantastic to know all the staffs hard work doesnt go un notice. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Emily Lanyon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2011

We stayed at The Waters Edge Hotel after searching for a good value over night stay in Torquay. We arrived an hour early for book-in time but this was no problem as the room had been cleaned and was ready for a new guest. All staff we met were friendly, the room was spotless and well equipped with flat screen TV, hair dryer, kettle, digital clock, roomy shower and bathroom and plenty of drawer and wardrobe space. The beds were comfortable, and the room warm. We were fortunate to have a superb sea view. We had breakfast which as Full English goes was enjoyable and hot. The two previous days to my stay i stayed in two different Travelodge’s local to this location, i don’t know why i did as value for money this hotel came out on top. I would definitely visit again, and soon if i am able too.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MartinNash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyLanyon, Front Office Manager at Waters Edge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2011

Hello

Another great review. We are thrilled to know that value for money, cleanliness, friendly staff and comfortable warm rooms are being remembered and written about for others to see. We pride ourselves in creating a positive reputation. Thank you very much for your review we hope to see you again soon

Many thanks
Emily Lanyon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

Our room was great, food was great. The staff were all friendly and helpful. They catered for the needs of my disabled husband. All round I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackiewLowestoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2011

Very good location - close to the sea with a few minute walk to the city centre.
Friendly staff, excellent food, and reasonably price.
Would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nilobon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Elmington Hotel
Elmington Hotel
#45 of 87 in Torquay
107 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#31 of 87 in Torquay
589 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 87 in Torquay
2,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
1.1 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#50 of 87 in Torquay
365 reviews
1.7 mi away
Anchorage Hotel
Anchorage Hotel
#74 of 87 in Torquay
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waters Edge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waters Edge Hotel

Address: Seafront Torbay Road, Torquay TQ2 6QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £33 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waters Edge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Waters Edge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waters Edge Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing