We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“100% loved it”
Review of Trecarn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Trecarn Hotel
Ranked #86 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 10 June 2011

rooms very nice recently refurbished. tea,coffee biscuits and loads of them tv in room bath with shower. rooms cleaned every day to high standard
service from all staff exceptional.mananger a very jovial chap
restaurant-the best food ive had on holiday -different menu everyday not far off Michelin star rating i would say
entertainment very good, maybe not bingo?
location is 5 minute walk to the downs and i would say Minute walk to town centre

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tavernmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2011

Very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, although I don’t think that Nick the chef will ever let us forget about his “Michelin star” food! Bingo is definitely not for everybody, but always goes down well with the majority of our guests, and is over fairly quickly for those not wishing to partake. Next time you come and stay with us perhaps you could give it a try and who knows, it could be you!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,166 - 1,172 of 1,282 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2011

After reading the reviews, my husband and i were a little concerned about what to expect. But on arriving were pleasantly surprised. Staff very organised, helpful and efficient. Our room was lovely and clean. We realised that the hotel was still in the middle of being refurbished. Who cares if the stairways needed a bit of a lick of paint! How much time do you spend there! All of the meals were served efficiently and by really friendly waitress. The longest we had to queue for the free bar was just over 5 mins. Bar staff were working really quickly.
For the price you pay, you really could not have expected better.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank joelLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

after reading the reviews i thought no it cannot be that bad well we was wrong, went to the bay trecarn hotel with our freinds after a very long trip we was all very tired we arrived and the staff was very nice, The enterance and the down stairs of the hotel is very nice but when you get out of the lift its very tired and needs some up grading to say the least, the food on the first night was fine not a lot but it was nice, the second night and the rest of our stay was horrid not much on the plates at all,
After dinner we went into the drinks
area on the first night there was nowere to sit or to put your drinks after waiting half an hour to get served the free bar was nearly over, you couldnot get drunk at this hotel as the bar staff was so slow and you could only have one drink on the table at a time. We got told off at one point as the bar maid said that we could not have so many glasses on the table at once i told her that we had paid for two of them before the free bar opened but she then said if everyone had that much on the table they would run out of glasses,
on the second night it was the same so we didnt even stay there we found a good little pub around the corner and stayed there all night, i know its not a 5 star hotel but the service should be better we have been to some good hotels on trips but we shall not be going to this one anymore.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank susie456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

We went on an all inclusive coach trip with National whilst we thought the hotel accomodation and location was great the same could not be said of the food or the service we know not to expect too much on these all inclusive deals but it would have been nice to have seen at least a real potato and some fresh veg, Each time you went to the bar it meant a wait of twenty five minutes which completley spoiled the evenings as you were queuing up for half of your alloted free bar time just waiting to be served.By the third evening we gave up and went to a local bar to buy our meals and drinks.

Room Tip: Go for a low floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank fee77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

We travelled to Torquay on an organised trip. On arrival we were directed to reception where everything was very well organised and we were soon in our room. The hotel passageways were very dated and in need of updating but the room had obviously had an uplift and was very clean and pleasant. Everyday, the room was cleaned and tidied to a high standard and all the facilities worked.
The restaurant and meals were fabulous and we had no complaints at all. The service was very prompt with very little waiting time. Our waiter Shaun (or maybe Sean) was very polite quick and very helpful at every mealtime.
The communal facilities were tidy, pleasant and clean and the bar service provided excellent service from Amy and Marilyn. The entertainment was also in the main very good but in particular th 'ABBA' tribute band was absolutely superb.
All in all it was a very good 4 day stay. We would definately contemplate staying at this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jamesart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

My wife and i when on all inclusive coach holiday to the trecarn hotel. This is just to say what a nice time we had there.I cannot praise the staff enough they are friendly and helpfull nothing seem to much for them.The food was good and well presented. We would go again with no worries.
mr &mrs bell

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gorste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2011

In fact the Trecarn is in Babbacome, very close to the Babbacome Cliff Railway but is conveniently close to the No 32 bus route into Torquay. The hotel has undergone some refurbishment, the public areas downstairs are very nicely done. The dining room in particular is pleasantly spacious, but the entertainment/bar area is short of tables when the hotel is full. Although our room had been refurbished they have "spoiled the ship for a ha'penny worth of tar" new windows are needed and the shower room basin unit needed replacing. We had to get the clock/radio replaced and the shaver light did not work (no maintenance at weekends).
However the staff were helpful and courteous, the food was good, not huge amounts but enough and queuing for the all-inclusive bar was not too bad. It was the usual Shearings standard for a hotel, you are not paying a fortune so you can't expect the Ritz.
The entertainment was the usual Bingo/Quiz/ Dance music which does finish at about 11.30pm. If you want an early night don't have a room over the reception!
Saturday nights compere was useless and the advertised act (Tom Jones tribute) turned out to be Shirley Bassey tribute (perhaps they thought as they are both Welsh we wouldn't notice!
We probably wouldn't go there again because of it's location, we stayed at the Torbay last time we were in Torquay and it is much better placed.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Barby305Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.2 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#55 of 86 in Torquay
961 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Burlington
Hotel Burlington
#84 of 86 in Torquay
363 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Hotel
Anchorage Hotel
#68 of 86 in Torquay
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Bay Tor Park Hotel
Bay Tor Park Hotel
#27 of 86 in Torquay
502 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ashley Court Hotel
Ashley Court Hotel
#82 of 86 in Torquay
406 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 86 in Torquay
3,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trecarn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trecarn Hotel

Address: Palermo Road, Torquay TQ1 3NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range: £30 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Trecarn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in its own grounds in a quiet residential area, the Trecarn hotel is just a short stroll from the Babbacombe Downs and the delightful village of St Marychurch. The ground floor public areas of the hotel were the subject of an extensive refurbishment which has been very well received by our guests. The hotel now benefits from well-appointed lounge areas, large entertainment suite and bar. The restaurant has been completely re-styled and now offers a spacious and contemporary dining experience. After enjoying the renowned entertainments the hotel has to offer, you should also sleep better than ever as we have also refurbished 62 of the hotel's bedrooms! The Trecarn Hotel is ideally placed for exploring the surrounding area of Torbay and the delightful South Devon Coast. There is an excellent bus service taking you to town centre and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Trecarn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trecarn Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing