We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”
Review of Trecarn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Trecarn Hotel
Ranked #85 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Had a weekend break here with National Holidays. Whilst a lot of the hotel areas are very tired, our bedroom was nicely refurbished and comfortable. It is a pity the floors creak so badly. The staff were all very pleasant and the meals were good with waitress service. A nice touch is the glass of wine with the evening meal. I believe the included entertainment was good, but we preferred to take an evening walk. A pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lynn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Thank you for your kind review. It is always pleasing to read when a guest has enjoyed their stay with us, and that the staff have delivered excellent service. I do pass on the comments made to the team here and I am sure they will be pleased to see your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,097 - 1,103 of 1,320 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2012

Stayed at the bay trecarn mon 16 th april- fri 20 th on a national break.On arrival the hotel seemed ok and on a residential part which i didn`t find a problem.We checked into our room and i had asked for a refurbished room which we were given on the top floor,negative point were the windows did not open and spoke to reception who assured me a porter would investigate,the porter did arrive and opened with pliers and said he would get it repaired this never happened and reception was informed.The rooms are poky to enable extra rooms but its only a place to lay your head at the end of the night the refurb work is quite slap dash in areas with carpets not fitted correctly.The food was fine with a choice at breakfast and evening meal not perhaps to everyones taste but enjoyable.The entertainment was good and we stayed till the end.Overall i found it value for money i did not pay 5star prices and got what i paid for if 5 star prices were paid then i would have been upset by the shabbiness in areas,remember a holiday is what you make it and we had good fun.

Room Tip: try for a room at the front better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank scott m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

So glad you had a fun holiday whilst staying with us recently. We do not try to compete with the 5 star market and our aim is to offer good value for the price we do charge. It was also pleasing to read that you enjoyed the entertainment during your evenings and we do try to cater for all tastes. Hopefully we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Our first time to Torquay and travelled by National Holidays. The hotel looks small from the outside but is like a Tardis inside. All area's (bedroom and lounge area's) are badly in need of painting and decorating (particuarly the ceilings in the lounge area's) our bedroom was clean but shabby, the hot tap was loose on the sink in the bathroom and the hot water was only a trickle) however in general throughout all area's of the hotal the standards of overall cleanliness was very good.
The meals were quite good and the all staff were excellent, especially the dining room staff who just could not do enough for you, nothing was a bother and they worked so hard and were very efficient.There was entertainment every evening ranging from superb to fair. However they all worked hard to please the audiance and you cannot please everyone, the one disappointment being the so called 'Abba Tribute' The blonde singer was very good, the dark haired singer quite good but the two males were very poor..
The new system of four drinks per day per person worked well (it stops those greedy people who used to stock up) and is more than sufficient.
The location of the hotel was further out of Torqauy than we were expecting, however there was a bus stop just around the corner and there were some nice seaside walks within a few hundred yards of the hotel.
The only downside was the distance involved, travelling from Tyneside it took 10 hours with 2 45 minite stops and a short stop for the driver to have another cigarette.
Although the driver was a very good driver and knew all the shortcuts I consider him to be an accident waiting to happen, in towns and entering and leaving service stations he drove at excessive speed and he used a mobile phone at times (not hand's free). I do appreciate that it is difficult for a driver to maintain their hours but passenger safety must be a priority.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Malcolm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay with us. I will make sure that the restaurant team see your review as they do work exceptionaly hard to serve up to 230 customers betweeen them and I know it will please them to see their efforts are appreciated. We are always looking to improve the accomodation aspect of the hotel and it can be quite difficult with a building this size. I hope you would consider visiting us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

This was only our third break with National Holidays so the hotel wasn't a surpise unlike the first one last year. The hotel which we were told had had millions spent on it, where I'm not sure. It was clean apart from the rusty iron window frames, not much you could do with those apart from take them out. The ceiling looked like someone had been walking over it wearing stiletto heels. No I'm not drunk. There wasn't any heating in the room but the bathroom was kept warm with the heated towel rail.
The meals were fine, didn't really have much contact with the staff apart from Sam our waiter. What a refreshing change to be able to talk to someone so young, who has a sence of humour, although rushed he had time to laugh and joke with everyone. If anyone from the hotel reads this look after Sam, he's somone who will always send guests away happy, loved him.
My complaint now is nothing to do with the hotel but our coach driver, anything you can think of that a driver shouldn't do he did it. We were sat on the front seats on the nearside of the coach so could see everything he was doing. It was so bad I wrote to National Holidays telling them that we would not take any more coach trips with them. It would take too long to list everything enough to say he was dangerous and should be taken off the road. Now before you all say how would we know, are we coach drivers, then no we aren't, we're driving instructors and consequently do know a little of what you should and shouldn't do on the road.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank njohnsey1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Thank you for your review. As General Manager I make sure I read every review posted on here as it does help us to deliver what we hope is the right holiday for our market. Sam is an excellent member of the restaurant team and I wlll make sure he is made aware of your lovely remarks about him as I print off reviews for all the staff to see. If coach travel is no longer an option for you please do not let that dissuade you from visiting us again as you could contact us direct to organise a self drive holiday, which would give you more freedom to come and go as you please. Hopefully we will see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We have just spent an enjoyable 5 days at the Bay Trecarn Hotel, Torquay with National Holidays (over the past few years we have enjoyed many breaks all over the UK with National Holidays). The hotel was excellent value for the money paid - our bedroom was rather small but had been recently renovated/ decorated - it was clean. The shower/ toilet was very dated. The food and evening entertainment was of a very good standard. We enjoyed the daily trips organised by the driver. The recently introduced voucher system (for 4 free drinks each person, each day in the hotel) appeared to work well. No free wifi in the hotel. We met some lovely people on the coach. The hotel staff were very pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Try to get a recently renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank geordierover2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Thank you for your review. I was very happy to see that the new voucher system is working and it made the service from the bar quicker than previous all inclusive breaks. Value for money is very important to us and we do try to make sure we deliver an excellent product whilst remaining competetively priced. I hope you will consider visiting us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Enjoyed the Easter break at the Bay Trecarn Hotel.The bar lounge and restaurant areas are comfortable,and clean.Our bedroom was ok but bathroom needed updating.We were on second floor and found the lift too small and antiquated.The meals were average but the staff coped very well with the amount of guests and we never had to wait long for service. The hotel was very busy so that meant long ques at the bar.The entertainment was bingo,quiz,singer and then disco,which made a good night,everyone seemed to enjoy it.A real friendly crowd.The Hotel is in a quiet area but near to Babbacombe bay which has a few cafes and bars,also not far from the model village.There is also a bus stop near hotel to go into Torquay which is only five minutes drive.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank northeasthighflier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Glad to read that you enjoyed your Easter break with us at the Trecarn. The bar can get very busy when we have a full house but the staff work very hard to keep everyones glasses topped up! Hopefully we will be able to welcome you to the hotel again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

with National Holidays 26th March for 5 days and was pleased with our room, the food and the service by the staff. Perhaps if the bingo and quiz could be put on after the cabaret on some evenings it would be fairer to people who do not care to join in with these things.Overall we had a lovely stay and were lucky to have superb weather!!

Room Tip: we had a double room on the first floor which was nice but was very warm and windows do not open ful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shannonCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

I appreciate your kind review. A lot of reviewers comment on the staff and food being excellent but it is always nice for me and the staff here to read guest comments saying so. And of course, we do not charge extra for west country sunshine!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.2 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#58 of 85 in Torquay
1,022 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#55 of 85 in Torquay
916 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Hotel
Anchorage Hotel
#64 of 85 in Torquay
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Babbacombe Hotel
The Babbacombe Hotel
#38 of 85 in Torquay
206 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Patricia Guest House
The Patricia Guest House
#49 of 85 in Torquay
107 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bay Torbay Hotel
Bay Torbay Hotel
#32 of 85 in Torquay
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trecarn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trecarn Hotel

Address: Palermo Road, Torquay TQ1 3NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range: £28 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Trecarn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in its own grounds in a quiet residential area, the Trecarn hotel is just a short stroll from the Babbacombe Downs and the delightful village of St Marychurch. The ground floor public areas of the hotel were the subject of an extensive refurbishment which has been very well received by our guests. The hotel now benefits from well-appointed lounge areas, large entertainment suite and bar. The restaurant has been completely re-styled and now offers a spacious and contemporary dining experience. After enjoying the renowned entertainments the hotel has to offer, you should also sleep better than ever as we have also refurbished 62 of the hotel's bedrooms! The Trecarn Hotel is ideally placed for exploring the surrounding area of Torbay and the delightful South Devon Coast. There is an excellent bus service taking you to town centre and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Trecarn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trecarn Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing