We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“national holidays fantatsic”
Review of Trecarn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Trecarn Hotel
Ranked #86 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“national holidays fantatsic”
Reviewed 19 August 2012

just returned from a five day break with national fantastic from start to finish! i had booked this hotel trip a while back as i wanted an all inclusive hotel with entertainment and that was within easy reach of Torquay by bus as was travelling on my own with a 12yr old. After reading the reviews on trip adviser i was a bit unsure and was almost ready to cancel, so glad i didn,t we had a fantastic time, great entertainment. good food although could be bigger portion sizes, the four free drinks voucher was a bonus as was the glass of wine with evening meal (soft drink for children) The staff work very hard to make sure that you are not waiting to long at the bar and the dining room staff are in a class of there own! how they manage to get the meals out and hot to the table is a skill in itself. rooms are clean and fresh and the shower was ALWAYS nice and hot. Well worth every penny we will be back.

Room Tip: when booking ask for a rebfurbished room they were done last year
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 997jandan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
Thank you for your kind review. Hopefully when reading other reviews here on Trip Advisor you could see that we also get a lot of positive reviews, a little bit like Marmite, either loved it or hated it!!! We always try to deliver an excellent holiday for the competitive price that we charge so when I read reviews like yours it shows we are getting it right. Hope to see you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    344
    255
    179
    319
See reviews for
185
729
49
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Rhondda, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

My hubby and i done self drive with shearings we had a nice room no complaints but service at breakfast very poor if you did not go to restaurant on 8oclock opening be prepared to wait no cereals-milk-orange juice etc when asked for buffet to be replenished waitress said when she got time still waiting 10 mins later so sat down with an alternative 8-20am ,at 9 10am still waiting for someone to take our order for breakfast not the waiters fault problems in the kitchen waiters queing for the food.
Bar service at night waiting in a queue of about 30 people one person serving half the night one had gone collecting glasses one washing them so be prepared to wait several people i spoke to said they would not return here again. The holiday was not expensive but i do expect tidy service if they want the custom they should emply more staff. Wallpaper hanging off the walls and damp on the ceilings in lots of places.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pat100445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
Sorry you experienced delays during your stay with us. We ensure that we are fully staffed in the bar with 3 members of staff at all times, as with the restaurant. We encourage and promote a relaxed atmosphere and ambiance to avoid the felling of "rushing" meals but it isnt always possible if the majority of our 230 guests all sit down at once. I hope you will consider us or another Bay Hotel for future breaks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torquay hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

what do some people want for their money? My husband and I have just had a lovely weekend at this hotel with National Holidays.OK si its not four star, our room was fine , the food was excellent although we did object to being asked to pay £1.50 for chips, mushrooms or hashbrowns when we booked an all inclusive holiday.The location is lovely, the staff work like slaves and the entertainment was good too.Give it a go, but remember how much youve paid.

Room Tip: Request a room at the front of the hotel as we did, these are the ones that appear to have been refu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank oldham3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Thank you for your review. It is refreshing to read that you understand where we are in the market of holiday hotels and that despite the value for money offer we still try to exceed our guests expectations where we can. The meals are clearly included in the price with a decent selection to chose from, but we have offered the opportunity to supplement what is already on the menu and give people the chance to enjoy a bowl of chips or the other items you mentioned in addition to what is on offer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We booked a family holiday with my elderly parents through National Holidays to Torquay. When we arrived at the Trecarn the reception area looked ok, but once you pass the dining room and head to the rooms at the right of the hotel, the smell of damp hits you! We were given a double room for my parents that was acceptable although the shower looked grubby. And the rest of us were given room 251 that was supposed to be a family room. It had a damp smell and the bedding covers had a stale chip fat smell. Wardrobes looked like they had been salvaged from a skip and the carpet was brown and sticky. After refusing this room; we were given 225 that had 3 single beds. The furniture was newer but damaged and the carpet was cleaner, but in my opinion it was like a hostel room for the homeless! The staff at this hotel are very friendly, but the owners should close the half of the hotel that has not been refurbed until it is sorted, as many guests are elderly and should not be given damp, shabby rooms! The holiday was not expensive and i did not expect luxury, however basic levels of hygiene were not evident!

Room Tip: If you must stay at this Hotel, i understand that the rooms to the left of the Hotel beginning with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Dolman3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. As you will be aware from your stay we have already updated more than half of the hotel bedrooms and are looking to continue with this at the beginning of next year. We have just had an inspection from the local Environmenal Health team and were awarded 5 stars which I was very proud to receive and display in our hotel reception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Staff very good and helpful. food also good. Passages of which there were many had wallpaper torn off and dirty. First room had mould in bathroom worn out dirty carpet and a pipe also dirty running through it. Second room ok apart from the cockroach. Would i and the coach passengers go back every one said no.

Room Tip: If you are wanting a good room check your room before you unpack, if it is a poor room, go straight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank thomaspmf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Thank you for your positive comments about the staff and food at the hotel. It is an old building and the assistant manage is currently undertaking a project to refurbish the corridors throughout the hotel, which as you will be aware is a very large establishment. I hope you find a more suitable destination for your travel requirements
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

A typical holiday hotel. Very good and friendly staff, let down by the poor rooms, many of which were shabby! A regime of regular inspection followed by some DIY maintenance would make an enormous difference. Bay Hotels really do need to take a customer's view of this hotel and get on top of the issues before they become subsumed by the volume of what are mainly minor but irritable issues.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Nortorw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Thank you for your review. As you can see I personally look at each review and take on board all the comments. We do have an extremely busy maintenance team and try hard to stay on top of the wear and tear caused by operating at almost full capapcity week in week out. I hope you would consider revisiting us again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

If you like holes in the ceiling, dirty rooms this is the holiday for you.
It was to be a a hoilday to remember and it will be for all the wrong reason's
We could not fault the staff, meals or the coach driver (Sharon) or the excursions and the
scenery was fantastic it was the general state of the hotel and the manager was never
seen after our arrival until the morning we left. We asked at reception for a smiple thing like a toilet roll four times before they managed to replace it ( I think they popped into town to buy one
ha ha ) sorry wouldn't go to another Bay hotel if this is what we could expect very, very dissapointed.

Room Tip: Stay at home
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Sorry you didnt enjoy your stay with us. Cleanliness is important to us and we do endevour to keep abreast of maintenance issues. I would suggest you do try other Bay Hotels as you may find one that is suitable to your holiday needs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.2 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#58 of 87 in Torquay
942 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bay Tor Park Hotel
Bay Tor Park Hotel
#26 of 87 in Torquay
493 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ashley Court Hotel
Ashley Court Hotel
#84 of 87 in Torquay
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#55 of 87 in Torquay
816 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 87 in Torquay
2,886 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Burlington
Hotel Burlington
#85 of 87 in Torquay
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trecarn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trecarn Hotel

Property: Trecarn Hotel
Address: Palermo Road, Torquay TQ1 3NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Trecarn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in its own grounds in a quiet residential area, the Trecarn hotel is just a short stroll from the Babbacombe Downs and the delightful village of St Marychurch. The ground floor public areas of the hotel were the subject of an extensive refurbishment which has been very well received by our guests. The hotel now benefits from well-appointed lounge areas, large entertainment suite and bar. The restaurant has been completely re-styled and now offers a spacious and contemporary dining experience. After enjoying the renowned entertainments the hotel has to offer, you should also sleep better than ever as we have also refurbished 62 of the hotel's bedrooms! The Trecarn Hotel is ideally placed for exploring the surrounding area of Torbay and the delightful South Devon Coast. There is an excellent bus service taking you to town centre and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and LateRooms so you can book your Trecarn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trecarn Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing