We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money.”
Review of Trecarn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Trecarn Hotel
Ranked #87 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Value for money.”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I'm here on a National coach holiday and so far I am impressed with the hotel for the price I paid. It's clean and comfortable and the food choices are varied. There is a very large dining room with fast and efficient service. We were never kept waiting long. All in all excellent value on the trip but not sure what the price would be for an independent traveller.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susiboo186411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Thank you for your review whilst you were staying with us. That was hot off the press!!! Glad you were enjoying your visit enough to take the time to post your thoughts, and you will hopefully visit us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    343
    247
    168
    285
See reviews for
169
701
46
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013 via mobile

stayed for a long weekend, lovely clean rooms and friendly staff, would have liked a freeview tv and next time would get a top floor room because of the creaking floorboards but other than that a nice stay

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phoebe278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bradford
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

hi all we have just had a short weekend break at the trecarn hotel in torquay,everything was great warm rooms good food varied menu on 3 nights and good breakfast too,very enjoyable acts + bingo my favourite,bar drinks were excellent,the dining area is superb and looks new to me all the staff were very helpful, abbs fab cant wait to go again

Room Tip: downstairs by dining area is fine room 235 was great but apparently the ones above the dance area ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hudsocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Glad to read that you enjoyed your recent weekend with us and took the time to post your review. Hopefully you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dewsbury
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We travelled with National Holidays for the 4 day break there was 7 of us in the party. All the rooms were near one another and were in the re-furbished part of the hotel they were very nice and comfortable. The meals were very good with a choice of three for every course,the New Years Eve gala dinner was excellent. One of our party celebrated his birthday New Years Day and the hotel made him a cake and a bottle of bubbly which was really nice he was thrilled. All the staff were really nice and friendly but I MUST SAY A HUGE THANKYOU to Jackie the assistant manager who made our holiday enjoyable and first class. A good time was had by all of us

Room Tip: ask for rooms that are starting with 1 eg 161 162 etc this part of hotel as being re-furbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dorothy a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
Thank you for your recent review. I know Jacquie reads the reviews and she will appreciate you giving her a special mention!! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We had a lovely 4 day xmas break at the Trecarn.The food was fantastic and our waitress Eni couldnt have been any nicer she was very efficient.Thankyou Eni.We had a lovely bedroom,the bathroom needed abit of an update but it was very clean.On arrival we had a nice warm welcome from reception lady and our bedroom had a bowl of fruit,bottle of cava and whiskey and a xmas card from the staff,lovely.We were probably the youngest couple there but we had fun.Nice pubs just round the corner and sea views from one of them was wonderful.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank THETWOOFUS30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
Thank you for your recent review and kind words regarding your stay with us at christmas. I am sure you will remember me thanking them for all their hard work as we did the toast just before christmas lunch, but I think it means more when it comes from guests, Hope your new year is going well and you will consider us for a future holiday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We have just returned from a 4 day New Year break and would like to say how well everything was run. The staff were very attentive as the hotel appeared to be very busy. Would like to thank our Waitress Rachel who worked extremely hard to ensure that everyone was looked after and her efficiency in ensuring that no one waited long at all between courses - quite a feat wierth the numbers she looked after, unfortunately we couldn't thank her this morning as it was her day off. The entertainment was very good and staff ensured that everyone managed to get seated.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 405julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
So pleased to read that you enjoyed your New Year break with us. I will make sure Rachel knows you have posted such kind words on here about her. The staff work really hard over the festive period to deliver excellent customer service so it always means a lot when it is recognised. I hope you have a good new year and we can welcome you again in 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2012

Had three nights here Decemmber 15th.The food was excellent service was good ,portions a bit on the small side for some,but ok for us, we had a good room 148 a decent shower over the bath.The entertainment was poor only a singer on one night.But for what you paid it was good value for money,and you meet some nice people and have a laugh,the staff are all good in every department.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dolly120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
Glad to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I hope you will visit again, and if you found the portions at meal times a bit small, by all means ask for extras, we want everyone to enjoy their meals in the restaurant. Thank you for taking the time to post a review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.2 mi away
Rainbow International Hotel
1.2 mi away
Bay Tor Park Hotel
Bay Tor Park Hotel
#25 of 87 in Torquay
485 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ashley Court Hotel
Ashley Court Hotel
#82 of 87 in Torquay
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#54 of 87 in Torquay
754 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Richmond
Hotel Richmond
#69 of 87 in Torquay
349 reviews
1.3 mi away
Marquis Hotel
Marquis Hotel
#39 of 87 in Torquay
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trecarn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trecarn Hotel

Property: Trecarn Hotel
Address: Palermo Road, Torquay TQ1 3NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Trecarn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in its own grounds in a quiet residential area, the Trecarn hotel is just a short stroll from the Babbacombe Downs and the delightful village of St Marychurch. The ground floor public areas of the hotel were the subject of an extensive refurbishment which has been very well received by our guests. The hotel now benefits from well-appointed lounge areas, large entertainment suite and bar. The restaurant has been completely re-styled and now offers a spacious and contemporary dining experience. After enjoying the renowned entertainments the hotel has to offer, you should also sleep better than ever as we have also refurbished 62 of the hotel's bedrooms! The Trecarn Hotel is ideally placed for exploring the surrounding area of Torbay and the delightful South Devon Coast. There is an excellent bus service taking you to town centre and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Superbreak UK, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trecarn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trecarn Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing