We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly hotel - excellent value”
Review of Trecarn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Trecarn Hotel
Ranked #88 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Friendly hotel - excellent value”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Stayed one night whilst working in the area wish it had been longer as I enjoyed the atmosphere and had an excellent breakfast. The bedroom was tired in appearance but comfortable, clean and spacious. The bar staff and breakfast waiter were welcoming, friendly and efficient - definitely a plus for the hotel. The evening entertainer was an unexpected surprise (I think she was called Victoria Tankard) - she had a good voice, charismatic stage presence and enthusiasm which drew the audience in. What this hotel lacks in modern amenities like flat screen TV's it more than makes up for with it's warm hospitality and great value prices. When next working in the area I will look forward to returning.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Appreciate you taking the time to post even though you only stayed for one night. It is pleasing to read that whilst we are not a "modern" hotel we work hard to deliver excellent service and you obviously noticed that. We are always refurbishing rooms a few at a time and will continue to do so. Hope we can welcome you back again, for a longer stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    341
    240
    159
    266
See reviews for
163
678
44
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

at first hotel not bad all the staff in thebreakfast room very misroble would not go back a gain did not like the place and the driver gary was rubbish he ad is favorites coach very hot asked him to put air con on did not do it I think they are tol to save diesel

Room Tip: don't now a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank michael k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Sorry you did not enjoy your driver during this stay, I will pass on your comments to National Holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Have just returned from a 3 night stay, travelled with National Holidays. On arrival we were allocated our room,number 249. I had read previous reviews about tatty corridor decor and carpets and bad rooms. The decor and carpetsin the corridors were certainly a little on the tired side and would certainly benefit from the ongoing refurbishment plan. On entering our room we were pleasantly suprised, the carpet looked relatively new and the decor and bedding looked nice and clean, the wardrobe and dressing table looked new. Tv not brilliant but O.K. We found a few minor problems which could have been easily rectified, a new curtain rail and hooks, loose wall light and towel rail, lukewarm radiator (air lock), mould on curtains, due to condensation from the old single glazed window which can be expected. A couple of hours work would put all those points right. Now for the positive points we were served a nice glass or two of mulled wine in the hotel lounge, which is very nice, as is the spacious well laid out dining room. The food is excellent, a good choice at breakfast, cereals, fruit juice,porridge,fresh orange juice, then a choice of a full english, or a kipper or scrambled egg etc. The dinner menu was three course, always a good choice of hot well prepared food, the portions are not massive, but more than adequate. Our waiter Jonnie was very good ,he spent his time dashing about and ensured we were not kept waiting for the food,he was also a very pleasant and courteous young man. All staff members we encountered were very friendly and helpful. we had an enjoyable stay and would certainly return. I am sure after all the refurbishment work is complete the hotel will be very good, and we would certainly like to visit again

Room Tip: I would imagine the recently refurbished rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I will certainly pass on your kind words to Jonnie as he has only been with us a short time so it will make his day. We are, as you said, continuing to redecorate the corridors and another area of rooms this winter and I hope you can return to visit us again so you can see the progress we have made
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We were a party of three couples and my sister in law for her birthday. Unfortunately on arrival the couples were allocated three rooms together but the single room was upstairs, downstairs and miles away (it's rather a rabbit warren of a place being previously two separate hotels). She had also been put on a single table round the corner in the dining room which we were surprised at as we had all booked together. After a trip to reception she was moved to a nicer room nearer to us and put on our table in the dining room. The rooms were adequate (you can't expect 5* for what we paid) and once we turned the radiator on and closed the window, ours soon warmed up. The shower was a bit of a nightmare to turn on and off and there was no soap holder/shelf but the water was hot and plentiful. The meals could not be faulted, plenty of choice and nothing was too much trouble for our waitress. We had four drink tokens each per day included and overall it was fantastic value for money. To top it all the birthday girl won £100 at bingo on the last night. A great weekend break.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Thank you for your recent review. I was pleased to read that the initial mix up with rooms was quickly sorted and you enjoyed your stay. Also pleased to read that the "birthday girl" had a good win on bingo!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

On arrival, we were quickly and efficiently issued with our room keys and offered a glass of mulled wine in the lounge area, a nice gesture. We then proceeded to our allocated room 168 on the second floor,and entered. our first impression was one of dismay, the tiny bathroom had no towel rail, heater, blind or curtain and the window frame was so mouldy it looked ready to fall out. We decided this room was not for us and went to reception, where a most pleasant young lady offered us a key to a room on the ground floor to look at.This was much better, bigger warm bathroom and nicer all round so we accepted this room 109.The furnishings in the hotel are in need of an update but the public areas eg dining room and bar areas have been done and are beautifully furnished.All the staff are really friendly and helpful and will go out of their way for you. The food is really good and plentiful, the Chrismas dinner we had was very nice and served with a glass of wine. The evening entertainment was above average with some really good acts. Apart from the little hiccup we had on arrival, we had a really good time and will definitely go again. Not to mention our National Holidays driver Sharon,she was great and a very friendly, steady driver

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bolero-fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you posting your recent review. I was pleased to read that we managed to sort out your initial problem and you found your replacement room to be satisfactory. We are about to undertake a massive replacement programme for all the windows in the hotel so the problems we currently encounter should be rectified. I hope you will consider visiting us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

just got back from 5 day national holiday what a fantastic time we have had,can not find one fault with this hotel from day one the people who work there give 100 percent, yes few areas in need of refurb but main areas great .the dinning area was lovely and the staff and food were outstanding .the waiters and waitresses all worked so hard and even though it is near the end of the season they still have smiles for everyone and nothing is to much trouble for them a BIG thank you. now to the chef vicky would love recipe for cauliflower and broccoli tart and pasta dish yummy!! portion sizes were spot on. and to everyone in the kitchen thank you, you are fantastic, the menu was excellent . the room was very clean as were all other areas in the hotel big thank you to the housekeeping team.The reception was welcoming as were the staff behind the desk and the porters days and night all very polite and helpful and so friendly the bar staff also brilliant .entertainment great different every night catered for all taste .There were so many people working very hard at this hotel to make your stay one to remember in a good way this out ways any small problems they have.now thank you to national holidays and Ian our driver helpful and polite as were all of the drivers on the trips etc.This hotel is fantastic value for money the heart of it lies in the people who work there not the walls.THANK YOU ALL SO MUCH we will be back

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colsyl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
It is always a pleasure for me to read reviews like yours so thank you so much for taking the time to post. I am sure Vikki and the kitchen team will appreciate their special mention as it is normally the staff on the "coal face" that take all the glory!! Really pleased to read that you will be returning, so if there is anything you need from us before you do, please give us a call
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Devon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We booked the Trecarn for a birthday weekend on the 22nd November. Having stayed at 10 other Shearings hotels, we do feel that the Trecarn is certainly not their best. When we were booking in, a man was at reception asking when the heating in the rooms would be switched on & the answer was it was already on. We were then given a refurbished room & the heating in the room was also not working, & the room was freezing. There was a small oil-filled radiator that was in the wardrobe. We were also amazed that in a refurbed bathroom, there was no shelving anywhere to be seen. Where do we put our bathroom gear??! We went back to reception & were given another room where the heating was working. The room albeit had single beds, but was ok. The TV wasn't working with obvious problems with the ariel. But the bathroom wasn't too good. We both shower & there was no wall holder for the shower head. The light above the sink wasn't working, BUT we did have a shelf for the bathroom gear!! Having said that about the room, the food here was first class. The staff were very attentive, especially our waitress Christeen who, in an hour slot, had a table of fourteen to contend with along with us & other couples, did an amazing job & always with a smile on her face. Considering that this was a BI week-end, it was very good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room where the heating was working & had a shelf in the bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angiePlymouth_Devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Sorry to read you encountered a couple of problems during your recent stay. We are experiencing recurring niggles with the TV reception and are trying to find a definitive solution to it. We do also have the occasional boiler trip out and lose hot water. I was pleased to read that Christine gave you very good service in the restaurant and the food was to your liking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.2 mi away
Rainbow International Hotel
1.2 mi away
Bay Tor Park Hotel
Bay Tor Park Hotel
#25 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ashley Court Hotel
Ashley Court Hotel
#80 of 88 in Torquay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Bay Torbay Hotel
Bay Torbay Hotel
#31 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
1.1 mi away
Seascape Hotel
Seascape Hotel
#45 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#53 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trecarn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trecarn Hotel

Property: Trecarn Hotel
Address: Palermo Road, Torquay TQ1 3NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Trecarn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in its own grounds in a quiet residential area, the Trecarn hotel is just a short stroll from the Babbacombe Downs and the delightful village of St Marychurch. The ground floor public areas of the hotel were the subject of an extensive refurbishment which has been very well received by our guests. The hotel now benefits from well-appointed lounge areas, large entertainment suite and bar. The restaurant has been completely re-styled and now offers a spacious and contemporary dining experience. After enjoying the renowned entertainments the hotel has to offer, you should also sleep better than ever as we have also refurbished 62 of the hotel's bedrooms! The Trecarn Hotel is ideally placed for exploring the surrounding area of Torbay and the delightful South Devon Coast. There is an excellent bus service taking you to town centre and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Superbreak UK, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Trecarn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trecarn Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing