We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel and good value.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Trecarn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Trecarn Hotel
Ranked #89 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel and good value.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

My partner and I spent the weekend at this hotel. We had a pleasant and enjoyable time. The staff at reception , dining-room and the bar were excellent. We had a room on the first floor, which was very comfortable, clean and well maintained. (we could only get one channel on the TV BBC1 which was a pain).The food was very good, with a good choice. The entertainment in the evening was very enjoyable, and we won £25 at bingo. The Trecarn is a very pleasant hotel with a lovely atmosphere. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and would be happy to stay there again. Very good value.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Lovely review, thank you so much for posting. Sorry about the issues with the TV, the weather is playing havoc with our facilities down here but hopefully it is dying down now and we canget back to normal. Hope we get to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    338
    238
    158
    258
See reviews for
163
665
44
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

My partner and i stayed at this hotel for 4 nights The hotel is situated in Babbacombe wich is about 2.5 miles outside Torquay so we had to get buses into the town we had a ground floor room it was very cold at night as there was no heating on at night the decor was very dated wallpaper coming of the wall the divan bed was not put together right the mattress was uncomfortable my partner had a box above her head so it was hard for her to sit up in bed the television was old fashioned only 5 channels and poor reception the bathroom had mold near the toilet and damp patches there was a top missing of one of the taps old fashioned fittings the shower didnt work we told the staff but the manager was never there we were offered a stay at another hotel but this was impratical the food was terrible small portions of overcooked veg meat cut with a scalple the vegetarian cottage pie had a skin on it the staff worked very hard and were always pleasant the entertaiment was the same every night bingo quiz then some singing some of the djs said the same jokes overall we will not be going back to this hotel or any others as we heard bad reports on their other hotels too

Room Tip: dont choose a room here
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Sorry you experienced problems during your recent stay. It is a shame that you have made the choice to not go to any of our other hotels as if you wanted luxury we have our Coast & Country hotels which may be more suited to your tastes. I am investigating the room concerned as I do not like guests being unhappy when they visit us. I only wish I could have sorted things to your satisfaction when you were here
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torquay hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

I was staying in room 115 and i had no television for the 4 nights i was in it due to not having a connection for the tv ariel i reported it twice and nothing was done about it other than that everything else was great the staff are always polite and well mannered and the evening entertainment is always of good standard

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Sorry you experienced problems with your TV. Unfortunately it was not just exclusive to your room and affected most parts of the hotel, which needed specialist engineers to attend. I was glad that everything else was to your liking though
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

this hotel is in babacombe, which is about 2.5 miles from the centre of torquay, so you need to get buses into centre.
also there is no complimentary toiletrys, which you normally get,so i had to go out, to get shampoo, to wash my hair once, the hotel sells them at an inflated price.
only an hour slot for dinner, and in that time, had ran out of several choices, i had to have cheese salad 2 day's running. very small portions,and the chef, carves the pork loin with a razor blade, either that or he's a comedian

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank linzxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Sorry to read that you did not think your holiday was as advertised. Babbacombe is a part of Torquay, as indeed are places such as Torre, Hele Village or Barton, all of which are similar distances by bus to the actual town centre. We are quite lucky to have the views and facilities of Babbacombe but without the hustle and bustle of being right in the town centre. Perhaps if you visit again you could consider the Torbay Hotel which is situated on the seafront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

We have just spent a very pleasant weekend at the bay hotel trecarn Torquay and would recommend it very highly the food was excellent thank you to the chefs who do a brilliant job our waiter Ben was a delight nothing was too much trouble for him and although very busy had a smile for everyone the entertainment was great the three nights we stayed there and had very good nights sleep on a comfy bed and soft pillows well done to all who made our stay enjoyable and thank you mrs Lesley carter

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for your kind review. I will certainly pass on your compliments to Ben who I am sure will be very pleased to have made such a good impression. Hope you will consider booking another break with us here at the Trecarn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

This was our 4th bay hotel visit and was the best so far, we were given a great room (225), very clean and modern & one of the most comfortable beds ive slept in.The hotel is on a quiet road so no noise at night time also plenty of free parking to be had.We were greated by the friendly reception staff and given directions to our room we finaly found it after a few wrong turns but soon settled in and had a cup of tea.I could not fault the meals and waiting staff who looked after us with a smile and were very experienced in the way they served our meals, the choices were excellent .The entertainment and bar staff at night was really good and the bar and room was very comfortable well done all concerned, would I recommend this hotel and break yes, yes, and yes again in fact I may book a w/e in the summer months to take advantage of the surrounding area in some sun as torquay and the other sea side towns are right on the doorstep.Thanks to the manager and staff for giving us a great w/e

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you for your lovely review! So glad you enjoyed your weekend and I can thoroughly recommend a visit in the summer. The views across the bay from Babbacombe Downs are simply stunning so I am sure you would enjoy yourselves. Hope yo welcome you back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston upon Hull, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

My and my young family stayed in this hotel last feb and all I can really say is we loved every single minute of the trip. We travelled with national holidays, when we arrived the reception was very helpful and organised us a room to suit our needs. The rooms are old fashioned but homely and clean, we had a great room with a shower room and a bathroom. Meal times was great plenty to choose from and food was lovely, had some great options. Evening entertainment was good I have two young boys aged ten and five and every night they was giggling at the entertainer, plenty of seating in the bar area. One afternoon the hotel put on a tea/coffee biscuit and bingo afternoon which was nice has it was a cold wet windy day. The location of the hotel I thought was fab we used to take a walk along the downs before tea (lovely sights). All in all this is a great hotel and we will defo be back, well done to the manager and staff on such a great job they do week after week.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kelly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post, even after nearly a year since you visited. I think most people would not have bothered after such time,but it was clear from your review that you enjoyed your stay. The only question I have is why havent you been back!!! Hope we get the chance to welcome you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.2 mi away
Rainbow International Hotel
1.2 mi away
Bay Tor Park Hotel
Bay Tor Park Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ashley Court Hotel
Ashley Court Hotel
#80 of 89 in Torquay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Bay Torbay Hotel
Bay Torbay Hotel
#30 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
1.1 mi away
Seascape Hotel
Seascape Hotel
#42 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#55 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trecarn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trecarn Hotel

Property: Trecarn Hotel
Address: Palermo Road, Torquay TQ1 3NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Trecarn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in its own grounds in a quiet residential area, the Trecarn hotel is just a short stroll from the Babbacombe Downs and the delightful village of St Marychurch. The ground floor public areas of the hotel were the subject of an extensive refurbishment which has been very well received by our guests. The hotel now benefits from well-appointed lounge areas, large entertainment suite and bar. The restaurant has been completely re-styled and now offers a spacious and contemporary dining experience. After enjoying the renowned entertainments the hotel has to offer, you should also sleep better than ever as we have also refurbished 62 of the hotel's bedrooms! The Trecarn Hotel is ideally placed for exploring the surrounding area of Torbay and the delightful South Devon Coast. There is an excellent bus service taking you to town centre and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trecarn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trecarn Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing