We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Trecarn Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
The Coppice(Torquay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,351)
Filter reviews
1,351 results
Traveller rating
146
358
272
197
378
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
146
358
272
197
378
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsa ground floor roomentertainment every nightplenty of hot waterexcellent value for moneyplenty of choiceplymouthquiz
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
879 - 884 of 1,351 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Have recently returned from a four day national holiday break at the bay Trecarn Hotel. The hotel staff are probably the best myself and my husband have ever come across. Reception staff were amazing always very polite and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Waiter service was first class. Our waiter was always friendly polite and cheerfull. Rooms were kept very clean. Food was of a very high standard. Would recommend this hotel to anyone. Well done National for providing us with another first class break and well done Trecarn staff and management.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jueandsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

I really appreciate you taking the time to write such kind words for the staff in the hotel. I certainly know how hard they work, and try to deliver excellent service, so when others notice it is great for them. Hope you will consider us for a future break

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

My partner and I spent the weekend at this hotel. We had a pleasant and enjoyable time. The staff at reception , dining-room and the bar were excellent. We had a room on the first floor, which was very comfortable, clean and well maintained. (we could only get one channel on the TV BBC1 which was a pain).The food was very good, with a good choice. The entertainment in the evening was very enjoyable, and we won £25 at bingo. The Trecarn is a very pleasant hotel with a lovely atmosphere. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and would be happy to stay there again. Very good value.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Lovely review, thank you so much for posting. Sorry about the issues with the TV, the weather is playing havoc with our facilities down here but hopefully it is dying down now and we canget back to normal. Hope we get to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

My partner and i stayed at this hotel for 4 nights The hotel is situated in Babbacombe wich is about 2.5 miles outside Torquay so we had to get buses into the town we had a ground floor room it was very cold at night as there was no heating on at night the decor was very dated wallpaper coming of the wall the divan bed was not put together right the mattress was uncomfortable my partner had a box above her head so it was hard for her to sit up in bed the television was old fashioned only 5 channels and poor reception the bathroom had mold near the toilet and damp patches there was a top missing of one of the taps old fashioned fittings the shower didnt work we told the staff but the manager was never there we were offered a stay at another hotel but this was impratical the food was terrible small portions of overcooked veg meat cut with a scalple the vegetarian cottage pie had a skin on it the staff worked very hard and were always pleasant the entertaiment was the same every night bingo quiz then some singing some of the djs said the same jokes overall we will not be going back to this hotel or any others as we heard bad reports on their other hotels too

Room Tip: dont choose a room here
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Sorry you experienced problems during your recent stay. It is a shame that you have made the choice to not go to any of our other hotels as if you wanted luxury we have our Coast & Country hotels which may be more suited to your tastes. I am investigating the room concerned as I do not like guests being unhappy when they visit us. I only wish I could have sorted things to your satisfaction when you were here

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

I was staying in room 115 and i had no television for the 4 nights i was in it due to not having a connection for the tv ariel i reported it twice and nothing was done about it other than that everything else was great the staff are always polite and well mannered and the evening entertainment is always of good standard

Stayed: January 2014
3  Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Sorry you experienced problems with your TV. Unfortunately it was not just exclusive to your room and affected most parts of the hotel, which needed specialist engineers to attend. I was glad that everything else was to your liking though

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

this hotel is in babacombe, which is about 2.5 miles from the centre of torquay, so you need to get buses into centre.
also there is no complimentary toiletrys, which you normally get,so i had to go out, to get shampoo, to wash my hair once, the hotel sells them at an inflated price.
only an hour slot for dinner, and in that time, had ran out of several choices, i had to have cheese salad 2 day's running. very small portions,and the chef, carves the pork loin with a razor blade, either that or he's a comedian

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank linzxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Sorry to read that you did not think your holiday was as advertised. Babbacombe is a part of Torquay, as indeed are places such as Torre, Hele Village or Barton, all of which are similar distances by bus to the actual town centre. We are quite lucky to have the views and facilities of Babbacombe but without the hustle and bustle of being right in the town centre. Perhaps if you visit again you could consider the Torbay Hotel which is situated on the seafront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews