We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Lunch at the hotel”
Review of Trecarn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Trecarn Hotel
Ranked #87 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch at the hotel”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We visited the Trecarn hotel for the first time on sunday the 26th January for our sunday lunch as was dissapointed on arrival to be told have we booked,we did not think that this would be a problem as we seen the advertisment in our local paper and it did not mention booking the receptionist went of to check if that would be ok on her return we was told that it would be ok to dine with them.
We was most suprised to say the least that after being in the restaurant for our meal that half of the dining room was empty and only about twenty people dining there.
Our order of leek & potatoe soup to start was very salty and while we was eating the waiter was asking for our mains order which we found annoying as we had a mouthful of soup and had to reply
then when we was eating our mains they was asking what we wanted for our sweet the staff was very pleasant and we could not fault them but we felt that they needed to stay a distance and give people a discreet distance.
We would not use the Trecarn again for our sunday lunch as the portions of the meals was very small in comparison to what other hotels are offering around the bay.
I also went to reception to ask where I could smoke as the hotel front entrance clearly had signs to say NO SMOKING HERE and to go to smoking areas, when I asked at reception I was told to just go smoke outside the front door and I thought that most odd that you would have implemented no smoking zones and then I can smoke in them at the front of the building and annoy most guests that obviously did not smoke and give me funny lookes.
and I surpose rightfully so.
You need to update your polices on this hotel as we live in the bay and would have wanted to visit and support our local hotels in the area when you have quiete periods.

Room Tip: We did not stay in a room as we are local to the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rogerbrookes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Sorry to read you did not completely enjoy your recent Sunday lunch with us. We do allow people to book in advance as we can get rather busy on occasions. With regards to the smoking, there is an area to the side of the front doors where ashtrays are provided but it does not sound like this was communicated effectively.. I will look into the service provided as it is an important part of our success at the hotel to grow this type of business so I have concerns when it is not delivering. I would ask you to consider us for another visit, and please let me know personally if you are so I can do my best to change your opinion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    343
    247
    167
    284
See reviews for
169
700
46
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Bus trip my first time,bus was comfy and the time flew due to stops every 2 and half hours arrived tea time.the room was clean and warm considering.the cold weather in February last week.staff nice but service at breakfast and dinner time very poor always served last and ignored.also some staff were rude if you asked for anything not on menu not happy to oblige although you had to pay extra also we we were a couple sharing with another couple at the table and expected to share a pot of tea and when I asked for a pot of tea for myself was told pot of tea was for 2 people and each person take there tea different.good value food was good.on last day we were leaving after 8am restaurant opened 7.30 could have been organised better and again had to wait till end to get served rushed. Not a lot of tea offered and that's all I took for breakfast.do not sit on table 71 last to served at any sitting. Entertainment good.

Room Tip: Bar service really good just meal service poor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit. I am glad you enjoyed most aspects of your stay but I was surprised to see that the staff did not meet your expectations. They are normally praised a lot on trip advisor so I will look into your comments. I hope that you enjoyed the stay enough to consider a return visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

On first visit, I found this hotel like any other Bay Hotel. Reception staff where helpful, and friendly. The night porter was very helpful as well. Room was ok, looked like a double room If it was, it was small. Windows draughty when strong winds blow. Dining facilities ok.

Room Tip: ask at reception for upgrade, or ask when ringing up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank remmingtonLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for choosing to visit the Trecarn Hotel. I see it was your first visit and I hope it wont be your last!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

In the company of another couple we drove to Torquay and the Trecarn Hotel for New Year 2014. Based on previous stays at Shearings/Bay Hotels, we thought we knew what to expect.
Our first shock came on check-in - a very offhand receptionist assumed that we'd heard the briefing given to the previous arrival, and didn't bother to explain anything. The lift was too small to accommodate more than 2 persons, so we struggled up two flights of stairs with suitcases. (Both men are in their 70s. No offer of assistance was given.) The room allocated to our friends was a front-facing room, recently refurbished and reasonably comfortable but for the (continuously) damp floor in the bathroom. Our room faced the back, and was tiny, and the bathroom was covered in mould, with large cracks in the window. We asked to move, and were offered a room in the original annex, which we accepted. The room was larger although very badly furnished, and the bathroom floor was stained and mouldy - but still an improvement on the first one. There was no hot water in the bathroom on the first evening, as one of the boilers had tripped.
Dining was just as unpleasant, although the food was generally acceptable. Our waitress constantly ran around and clattered dishes. When we suggested she slow down, she replied that she wasn't paid sufficiently to take her time. For the 'gala' dinner on the 31st, I needed additional cutlery to eat my fish course and was told that there was no more cutlery available, as each table was only allocated one set. I eventually got a knife and fork when I said I was not prepared to use my fingers. We'd pre-ordered our wine in the morning, as suggested - but the wine placed on the table was not our choice, and we were told that only one type of white wine was available and they hadn't had time to replenish their stock.
The after-dinner tea and coffee was cleared away before 8 pm.
Entertainment was reasonable, apart from the length of time devoted to bingo. Unfortunately we never managed to get seats near the front, as all these had been pre-booked by leaving bags, etc on them while people went to dinner. There was a notice asking people not to pre-reserve seats, but this was ignored and not enforced by management. In fact, the management was conspicuously absent most of the time - and there was noone on the front desk for the entire New Year's evening.
There were at least 5 buckets noticeable in the general areas of the hotel, catching water leaks.
Overall, a rather sad and shabby hotel, badly run and best avoided.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Juliet61Pboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Sorry to read that you did not enjoy your New Year with us. It is a shame that you seemed unaware that both myself and the assistant manager were both on duty and available that evening, I even did a pre-dinner toast with all the guests. I hope that you find a suuitable destination for future holidays that meets your requirements and I would suggest that the Coast & Country hotels may be more appropriate for you, although more expensive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torquay hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
lancashire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Have recently returned from a four day national holiday break at the bay Trecarn Hotel. The hotel staff are probably the best myself and my husband have ever come across. Reception staff were amazing always very polite and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Waiter service was first class. Our waiter was always friendly polite and cheerfull. Rooms were kept very clean. Food was of a very high standard. Would recommend this hotel to anyone. Well done National for providing us with another first class break and well done Trecarn staff and management.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jueandsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
I really appreciate you taking the time to write such kind words for the staff in the hotel. I certainly know how hard they work, and try to deliver excellent service, so when others notice it is great for them. Hope you will consider us for a future break
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

My partner and I spent the weekend at this hotel. We had a pleasant and enjoyable time. The staff at reception , dining-room and the bar were excellent. We had a room on the first floor, which was very comfortable, clean and well maintained. (we could only get one channel on the TV BBC1 which was a pain).The food was very good, with a good choice. The entertainment in the evening was very enjoyable, and we won £25 at bingo. The Trecarn is a very pleasant hotel with a lovely atmosphere. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and would be happy to stay there again. Very good value.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Lovely review, thank you so much for posting. Sorry about the issues with the TV, the weather is playing havoc with our facilities down here but hopefully it is dying down now and we canget back to normal. Hope we get to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

My partner and i stayed at this hotel for 4 nights The hotel is situated in Babbacombe wich is about 2.5 miles outside Torquay so we had to get buses into the town we had a ground floor room it was very cold at night as there was no heating on at night the decor was very dated wallpaper coming of the wall the divan bed was not put together right the mattress was uncomfortable my partner had a box above her head so it was hard for her to sit up in bed the television was old fashioned only 5 channels and poor reception the bathroom had mold near the toilet and damp patches there was a top missing of one of the taps old fashioned fittings the shower didnt work we told the staff but the manager was never there we were offered a stay at another hotel but this was impratical the food was terrible small portions of overcooked veg meat cut with a scalple the vegetarian cottage pie had a skin on it the staff worked very hard and were always pleasant the entertaiment was the same every night bingo quiz then some singing some of the djs said the same jokes overall we will not be going back to this hotel or any others as we heard bad reports on their other hotels too

Room Tip: dont choose a room here
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Sorry you experienced problems during your recent stay. It is a shame that you have made the choice to not go to any of our other hotels as if you wanted luxury we have our Coast & Country hotels which may be more suited to your tastes. I am investigating the room concerned as I do not like guests being unhappy when they visit us. I only wish I could have sorted things to your satisfaction when you were here
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.2 mi away
Rainbow International Hotel
1.2 mi away
Bay Tor Park Hotel
Bay Tor Park Hotel
#25 of 87 in Torquay
485 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#54 of 87 in Torquay
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ashley Court Hotel
Ashley Court Hotel
#82 of 87 in Torquay
374 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Richmond
Hotel Richmond
#69 of 87 in Torquay
349 reviews
1.3 mi away
Marquis Hotel
Marquis Hotel
#38 of 87 in Torquay
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trecarn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trecarn Hotel

Property: Trecarn Hotel
Address: Palermo Road, Torquay TQ1 3NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Trecarn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in its own grounds in a quiet residential area, the Trecarn hotel is just a short stroll from the Babbacombe Downs and the delightful village of St Marychurch. The ground floor public areas of the hotel were the subject of an extensive refurbishment which has been very well received by our guests. The hotel now benefits from well-appointed lounge areas, large entertainment suite and bar. The restaurant has been completely re-styled and now offers a spacious and contemporary dining experience. After enjoying the renowned entertainments the hotel has to offer, you should also sleep better than ever as we have also refurbished 62 of the hotel's bedrooms! The Trecarn Hotel is ideally placed for exploring the surrounding area of Torbay and the delightful South Devon Coast. There is an excellent bus service taking you to town centre and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trecarn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trecarn Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing