We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WORTH A TRIP”
Review of Trecarn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Trecarn Hotel
Ranked #86 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Went here with my mum in January / it was clean and tidy / warm rooms / meals where very small / but plenty of choce. Location was excellent near the sea / we went on a five day holiday with the national express and only payed 99 pounds/ would go back again , staff nice and friendly , well worth the trip.

Room Tip: single rooms had no views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jules893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

So glad to read you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We do excellent deals at certain times of the year which are great value, so hopefully you will consider coming to us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

796 - 802 of 1,284 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

Monday to Friday last week. 4 nights bed, breakfast and evening meal, plus 4 free drinks on Wednesday night for 99 pounds? What on earth can people expect for that price these days? Petrol money from Sunderland to Torquay would almost amount to that alone, if travelling by car. Breakfasts were lovely, a choice of Kippers, Ham and poached egg, or full English with your choice of eggs, Cereal, porridge fruit, fruit juice and toast and preserves and Douwe Egbert Coffe or Tetleys tea. Beautiful dining room and fantastic staff. Rooms cosy and warm, bed so so comfy :) Room serviced every day, lovely to come back after trips to a warm and tidy room!! As for the food at dinner? Three courses every night and four courses on the Wednesday night Gala dinner. I enjoyed every single meal, especially the last evening, when I ordered braised beef with veg and potatoes. Your mash is the best I have ever tasted and would like to ask what type of potatoes you use :) We will be back, FANTASTIC.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Susie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Wow! Thank you so much for your glowing review. I am so pleased that we delivered an excellent break for you and everything was to your liking. I will ask chef which potatoes he uses, and we will tell you when you come and visit us again. Hows that for bribery!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We were tempted by a last minute offer from National at £99 for five days including a trip to Plymouth and a trip another day to Dartmouth and Brixham plus four free drinks on Wednesday and a Gala dinner. We were told that meant an extra course and I was very excited wondering what it would be! It turned out to be cheese and biscuits to follow the dessert. It was a very nice hotel with a lovely dining room and lounge, the food was good on the whole, the staff friendly and it was a pleasant room (236) which had obviously been refurbished and had a comfy bed and was always warm. We were on the ground floor and the only thing we weren’t happy with were the very creaky floorboards in the room above ours and were wakened during the night and normally before 6.45 am with them walking around, can’t understand why they would need to walk around so much. Don’t suppose much can be done though about the floorboards. It was just a few minutes walk to the bus stops and promenade but as it is actually at Babbacombe you need to catch the bus to Torquay or you can go the other direction to Teignmouth or Dawlish.

There was a different entertainer each evening who were all OK and they organised Bingo at 8.30 pm, then a quiz, then at 9.30 pm an hour of singing/jokes/playing music ending with half an hour of disco music, but dancers were certainly not in abundance while we were there.

There was free wi-fi but it was done through icloud and you have to register with them but I didn't manage to as it said my email address wasn't valid for some reason.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vivEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Glad to see that you enjoyed your recent visit to us and you considered the break to be a bargain. We are very proactive in providing the best value breaks we can and whilst not claiming to be a four/five star establishment, I know all the staff go out of their way to deliver excellent service. I hope you will be keeping your eyes peeled for future breaks away with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Went with national holidays, Monday to Friday. Had 1 single room 122 and 1 twin room 142 by the lift. The rooms were refurbished and were very nice only problem TV one day you got the channels the next you didn't, always hot water for showers and rooms always warm. The food was very good and nicely presented our waitress Chritine was always helpful and did everything she could with our requests. The entertainment was very good bingo, quiz and singer every night and 4 free drinks on Wednesday, this would have been better if we could have had a free drink every night instead. The staff were all very good and helpful and a credit to the company, they charged my dads scooter up every evening and rang for us taxis. We really enjoyed the break and it was a lot better than expected. Ok parts need a refurb. But it was excellent value for the money.
Our coach driver Paul was very good getting the scooter on and off the coach. The trips included in the break were Plymouth, Dartmouth and Brixham, we then paid £10'extra for a trip to Tego mills, house of marbles and Newtown Abbot, this was very good value. This is the 3rd break with National and I would really recommend them for value and looking after the customers, I would quite happily send my elderly parents away with them and know they would be looked after. Well done National.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurb room, if not happy when you get your room ask to change, they will let you look at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bevgerrard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thank you for your very kind review. I shall pass on your comments regarding Christine in particular and the staff in general as it is important that they get to see their hard work is appreciated. It is always pleasing for me to read a review like this and I hope you will recommend us to friends and hopefully come and visit us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Just returned from a National Holidays trip to the Trecarn . All the staff that i came into contact with , were great , The food very good . Down stairs areas good .ie bar area , dinning room . But when you leave these areas to go to your room , the corridors are shabby , could do with a modernising . The bedroom i stayed in was comfortable , apart from the bathroom was very small , you had to have the bathroom door open to use the handbasin properly or to move around it . The door to the bathroom didn`t shut properly ,only attached properly by one hinge at the bottom . Had to add more loo paper to a previous occupants efforts , to stop the drafts coming through both windows & were not very secure , (as there was a flat roof just outside the windows) . When ever it rain water can in from above the windows , this must have going on for sometime as there large water stains around the windows .Gave up with the tv , it kept trying to retune itself every 5 - 10 mins , then search for its signal booster , The tv /arial system could with upgrading . Had to use hotel customer survey form to wedge in the room door to stop it rattling . Water stains on the ceiling . One good thing ,i often had to turn the radiator down because it got to warm . ( Rm 133 )

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 697Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and your positive comments about the hotel staff. The other issues you mentioned I do apologise for and we are currently addressing. We are redecorating all the corridors in the hotel, the TV reception is being worked on by engineers and we are replacing all the windows with modern double glazing. These things do unfortunately take time to organise and plan, but I hope you will visit us again and we may have had the chance to make some changes for you to see

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Just returned from a very enjoyable self drive weekend through Shearings.

We found the Trecarn very good value with excellent dinning, bar and entertainment
facilities in modern, clean surroundings.

The food was very good if sometimes small in portion.

We found all the staff to be excellent with nothing too much trouble and always a smile.

The entertainment was good although bingo was not our cup of tea but the inclusive
drinks were a nice bonus.

We found our reasonable but with poor facilities and a very small shower room and no TV
to speak of (room 146) but you do get what you pay for.

Overall a very good weekend... would visit again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David William E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you for posting and I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your break with us and the staff delivered their usual excellent service. We have had issues with the TV reception since the stormy weather and are working hard to resolve this. Hopefully we will see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel as part of a coach holiday with National, we thought we were in for a stormy weekend but the sun shone for both Saturday and Sunday. The staff at the hotel were excellent very efficient,polite and helpful.the food was delicious and plentiful. The entertainment was ok, different artist each night. The only downside was we had no heating or hot water the first night but after complaining at reception they put a heater in overnight and the problem was fixed the following day.

Room Tip: We had 208 quiet and warm (after the heating was fixed)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CATHERINE W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the problem with the heating was quickly dealt with and sorted for you. I hope you will consider visiting us again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.2 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#55 of 86 in Torquay
965 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Burlington
Hotel Burlington
#84 of 86 in Torquay
364 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Hotel
Anchorage Hotel
#68 of 86 in Torquay
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ashley Court Hotel
Ashley Court Hotel
#82 of 86 in Torquay
407 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bay Tor Park Hotel
Bay Tor Park Hotel
#27 of 86 in Torquay
503 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 86 in Torquay
3,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trecarn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trecarn Hotel

Address: Palermo Road, Torquay TQ1 3NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range: £30 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Trecarn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in its own grounds in a quiet residential area, the Trecarn hotel is just a short stroll from the Babbacombe Downs and the delightful village of St Marychurch. The ground floor public areas of the hotel were the subject of an extensive refurbishment which has been very well received by our guests. The hotel now benefits from well-appointed lounge areas, large entertainment suite and bar. The restaurant has been completely re-styled and now offers a spacious and contemporary dining experience. After enjoying the renowned entertainments the hotel has to offer, you should also sleep better than ever as we have also refurbished 62 of the hotel's bedrooms! The Trecarn Hotel is ideally placed for exploring the surrounding area of Torbay and the delightful South Devon Coast. There is an excellent bus service taking you to town centre and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Trecarn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trecarn Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing