We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“National coach to bayTrcon”
Review of Trecarn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Trecarn Hotel
Ranked #86 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Midlands United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“National coach to bayTrcon”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Just had week end away had a really wonderful break away the staff were very friendly/food excellent also the Entertainment was 1st class the room could have done with a bit of TLC but the Linen towels & sheets were really clean so no problems

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diggerdoo_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and glad that you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we shall welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    344
    255
    179
    315
See reviews for
182
729
49
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
yarm cleveland united kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Just returned from a four day break at The Trecarn, what can I say,,, enjoyed every miniute,, Yes the rooms are in need of a full refurbishment, BUT,, they were clean and comfortable. The meals were excerlent, The staff pleasent and helpfull, and the entertainment was first class. Will defnatley be returning,,

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janettodd2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
So glad you enjoyed your recent break with us, and thank you for taking the time to post a review. A large number of our rooms have been refurbished and we have another 14 in the pipeline for the end of this year. I hope you will return and we can allocate you one of our new rooms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

this hotel in in serious need of modernisation, the room I stayed in was dirty the only way you can see out of the windows is to leave them open which was not a problem as you could not close them, the chef is in serious need of cooking lessons the food looked to be ok until you tasted it bland is a polite word for the food.
try looking on there own review site not a bad word to be said all reviews hand picked over the last 3 years.
the only good thing about the hotel was the staff who were always polite and cheerful.
if you do go ask for a refurbished room I hope you get one or you will be very unhappy.

Room Tip: ask for a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank john2842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Sorry to read that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. I was surprised to read that you didnt like the food, as I do read and reply to all the posts so I get to see that most people are very complimentary about that aspect of their holiday. I do appreciate that we cannot deliver everyones expectations for the prices we charge and wish you all the best in finding a more suitable destination for future holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torquay hotels

Winchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We chose this Hotel because of the good reviews and weren't disappointed. We requested a refurbished room and found this very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was excellent as it was a good size with all new fittings including a shower and bath with a strong handrail. There was also a bath mat so very safe for husbands with wonky legs! Food was ok for a budget price with lots of choice, however, I would have liked a hotter breakfast. Staff were all friendly and efficient. The public areas are very comfortable and light. We only sampled the entertainment one night as we like to go out and it seemed very professional. Buses and taxis are easy to get but if you wanted to go on to Paignton or Totnes (our favourite places) then it involved 2 or 3 bus changes. We decided to drive into Paignton and park in the multi story which is only £2 all day and then we could stick to 1 bus ride (we are pensioners and use our passes rather than clogging up car parks where possible). We may not stay here again but the only reason is our personal preference for Paignton.

Room Tip: We stayed in 228 and this overlooked the garden and had a view of the sea but only on the far horizo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maralyn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
So pleased to read you enjoyed your recent stay with us, but such a shame we shall lose your future business to Paignton!! Not sure if you have stayed at our sister hotel, the Esplanade, situated right on the sea front there. Hope you enjoy your future holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton on Tees
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Recently returned from a 4 day break staying at the Bay Trecarn staying half board. Hotel is located in Babbacombe just outside of Torquay. The hotel itself is in parts, in need of a make over, and a bit dated. Our room was adequate, basic, but clean and comfortable. The food was excellent, and the staff friendly and helpful. On an evening there is entertainment which consisted of, bingo to start with followed by a singer, one night they was a comedian/impressionist he was good, other nights we escaped into Torquay for the night with friends it was only £5.90 by taxi.
Overall a good long weekend stopping in a very friendly hotel, and if I was to visit the area again I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Glad to read that you enjoyed your recent short break with us. Hope you will consider returning to us for a future stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The hotel is not over large but pleasantly situated.The rooms are neat and tidy and up to standard for this type of holiday .Table number allocation was a good for us as the other diners were good company.Entertainment was acceptable .All in all a good stay and would return.

Room Tip: A lower floor is an advantage as the lifts are few and get busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Glad you enjoyed your recent weekend away with us, and you found the hotel to your liking. I hope you will consider another visit in the near future, especially as we are due a very good summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Have just returned home after 4 nights at this hotel via National coach holidays...Very poor decoration away from public areas. Torn wallpaper, stained ceilings in walkways to hotel bedrooms, in all a very scruffy condition !. The outside of hotel is also in a very poor condition with rotting window frames and unkempt gardens. I paid £22 extra for s single room which had a great view of the house wall next door and didn,t even have a shower in the very basic room and as a 76 year old found very inconvenient...My second holiday with the mentioned company and very disapointing I must though praise the reception staff for their help when I required a doctor for a medical condition.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Sorry to read that you found the hotel to be dated. We are in the process of refurbishment including rooms, corridors and also the replacement of all existing windows. It is an old building and does take a considerable amount of time to totally refurbish as most people appreciate, especially for the exceptional value we charge the packages we offer during a stay. The room also have a mixture of baths/showers/ and both in some instances so for future reference I would suggest you make your preference known to the hotel you visit as we are always happy to try and help with guest requests. I hope you would consider revisiting us in the future so you can see the work we have done
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.2 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#58 of 87 in Torquay
940 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ashley Court Hotel
Ashley Court Hotel
#83 of 87 in Torquay
395 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bay Tor Park Hotel
Bay Tor Park Hotel
#27 of 87 in Torquay
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#57 of 87 in Torquay
808 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 87 in Torquay
2,876 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Burlington
Hotel Burlington
#85 of 87 in Torquay
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trecarn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trecarn Hotel

Property: Trecarn Hotel
Address: Palermo Road, Torquay TQ1 3NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Trecarn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in its own grounds in a quiet residential area, the Trecarn hotel is just a short stroll from the Babbacombe Downs and the delightful village of St Marychurch. The ground floor public areas of the hotel were the subject of an extensive refurbishment which has been very well received by our guests. The hotel now benefits from well-appointed lounge areas, large entertainment suite and bar. The restaurant has been completely re-styled and now offers a spacious and contemporary dining experience. After enjoying the renowned entertainments the hotel has to offer, you should also sleep better than ever as we have also refurbished 62 of the hotel's bedrooms! The Trecarn Hotel is ideally placed for exploring the surrounding area of Torbay and the delightful South Devon Coast. There is an excellent bus service taking you to town centre and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Trecarn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trecarn Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing