We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“national holidays easter break”
Review of Trecarn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Trecarn Hotel
Ranked #85 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 21 April 2014

just returned from trecarn hotel in torquay lovely hotel staff very helpful and friendly food very good entertaintment first class really enjoyed the national holiday break special mention for the drivers too helpful and friendly . the only downer on the break was trying to get a drink long time waitng at bar every night sometimes 20 mins and missed cabaret spoilt things a little but was nice break

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ianbutterworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us recently. Sorry that you experienced queues at the bar, but when we offer the all-inclusive drinks vouchers it can get very busy! Hope that we see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

791 - 797 of 1,303 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

my in-laws have just stayed here for the easter weekend and it was disgusting!On the 1st morning they asked for 1 full breakfast and 1 with just bacon and mushrooms she was told it was an extra £1;50 for mushrooms,you could actually count the beans on the plate!.Its supposed to be all/inclusive they were given 4 tokens and told thats it 4 drinks each,the all/incl finished at 11pm,We were intending on joining them for easter sunday lunch but they ended up coming to my house for a sunday roast instead,luckily I'd bought enough.The bedroom had a musty smell they said the headboard was fixed to the wall and were the gap was between headboard and bed it was thick with dust,she said it looked like the bathroom had'nt been decorated since the 50s.I would not recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jackthejock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

It is difficult to respond to your post as you did not actually stay at the hotel. I am sorry that your family did not enjoy their stay with us and hope they find a holiday destination that meets their requirements

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Just had week end away had a really wonderful break away the staff were very friendly/food excellent also the Entertainment was 1st class the room could have done with a bit of TLC but the Linen towels & sheets were really clean so no problems

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diggerdoo_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and glad that you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we shall welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Just returned from a four day break at The Trecarn, what can I say,,, enjoyed every miniute,, Yes the rooms are in need of a full refurbishment, BUT,, they were clean and comfortable. The meals were excerlent, The staff pleasent and helpfull, and the entertainment was first class. Will defnatley be returning,,

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janettodd2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

So glad you enjoyed your recent break with us, and thank you for taking the time to post a review. A large number of our rooms have been refurbished and we have another 14 in the pipeline for the end of this year. I hope you will return and we can allocate you one of our new rooms!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

this hotel in in serious need of modernisation, the room I stayed in was dirty the only way you can see out of the windows is to leave them open which was not a problem as you could not close them, the chef is in serious need of cooking lessons the food looked to be ok until you tasted it bland is a polite word for the food.
try looking on there own review site not a bad word to be said all reviews hand picked over the last 3 years.
the only good thing about the hotel was the staff who were always polite and cheerful.
if you do go ask for a refurbished room I hope you get one or you will be very unhappy.

Room Tip: ask for a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank john2842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Sorry to read that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. I was surprised to read that you didnt like the food, as I do read and reply to all the posts so I get to see that most people are very complimentary about that aspect of their holiday. I do appreciate that we cannot deliver everyones expectations for the prices we charge and wish you all the best in finding a more suitable destination for future holidays

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We chose this Hotel because of the good reviews and weren't disappointed. We requested a refurbished room and found this very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was excellent as it was a good size with all new fittings including a shower and bath with a strong handrail. There was also a bath mat so very safe for husbands with wonky legs! Food was ok for a budget price with lots of choice, however, I would have liked a hotter breakfast. Staff were all friendly and efficient. The public areas are very comfortable and light. We only sampled the entertainment one night as we like to go out and it seemed very professional. Buses and taxis are easy to get but if you wanted to go on to Paignton or Totnes (our favourite places) then it involved 2 or 3 bus changes. We decided to drive into Paignton and park in the multi story which is only £2 all day and then we could stick to 1 bus ride (we are pensioners and use our passes rather than clogging up car parks where possible). We may not stay here again but the only reason is our personal preference for Paignton.

Room Tip: We stayed in 228 and this overlooked the garden and had a view of the sea but only on the far horizo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maralyn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

So pleased to read you enjoyed your recent stay with us, but such a shame we shall lose your future business to Paignton!! Not sure if you have stayed at our sister hotel, the Esplanade, situated right on the sea front there. Hope you enjoy your future holidays

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Recently returned from a 4 day break staying at the Bay Trecarn staying half board. Hotel is located in Babbacombe just outside of Torquay. The hotel itself is in parts, in need of a make over, and a bit dated. Our room was adequate, basic, but clean and comfortable. The food was excellent, and the staff friendly and helpful. On an evening there is entertainment which consisted of, bingo to start with followed by a singer, one night they was a comedian/impressionist he was good, other nights we escaped into Torquay for the night with friends it was only £5.90 by taxi.
Overall a good long weekend stopping in a very friendly hotel, and if I was to visit the area again I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Glad to read that you enjoyed your recent short break with us. Hope you will consider returning to us for a future stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.2 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#55 of 85 in Torquay
977 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Hotel
Anchorage Hotel
#63 of 85 in Torquay
410 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Burlington
Hotel Burlington
#83 of 85 in Torquay
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Babbacombe Hotel
The Babbacombe Hotel
#36 of 85 in Torquay
198 reviews
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#28 of 85 in Torquay
618 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#58 of 85 in Torquay
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trecarn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trecarn Hotel

Address: Palermo Road, Torquay TQ1 3NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range: £26 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Trecarn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in its own grounds in a quiet residential area, the Trecarn hotel is just a short stroll from the Babbacombe Downs and the delightful village of St Marychurch. The ground floor public areas of the hotel were the subject of an extensive refurbishment which has been very well received by our guests. The hotel now benefits from well-appointed lounge areas, large entertainment suite and bar. The restaurant has been completely re-styled and now offers a spacious and contemporary dining experience. After enjoying the renowned entertainments the hotel has to offer, you should also sleep better than ever as we have also refurbished 62 of the hotel's bedrooms! The Trecarn Hotel is ideally placed for exploring the surrounding area of Torbay and the delightful South Devon Coast. There is an excellent bus service taking you to town centre and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trecarn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trecarn Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing