We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired looking hotel but fantastic otherwise”
Review of Trecarn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Trecarn Hotel
Ranked #87 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
stockport
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Tired looking hotel but fantastic otherwise”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel with national holidays for a long weekend. As most of the reviews say the hotel itself does need a lot of renovation and redecorating but there are many more positives.
The location is fantastic five minutes walk to Babbacombe Downs and its fantastic views. Also at the top of the brow you can get the Number 32 or 11 bus to Torquay and they are very regular even on a Sunday.

Rooms - we were first given Room 194 which was a nice enough room but the view was of an adjoining outside wall and as we had asked for a nice view we asked for an alternative. We were then given Room 101 which had a better view but I think the cellars were underneath so you got the noise of the bar/beer pumps constantly. So we asked to be moved again and finally settled on Room 174 a front facing room which was ok. Although the decor was poor, the room was clean and the beds comfortable. Tea and coffee plus a hairdryer were in the room. The only downside to this room was the shower that had one temperature and that was hot!

Staff - the reception staff were very accommodating when we asked for room changes. The bar staff were friendly and efficient but a special mention must go to Christine and Rachel in the restaurant. They were fantastic.. even though they were constantly running around like they were on fire, nothing was too much trouble and the service was excellent.

Food - definitely no complaints about the food. The breakfast was spot on and if you wanted extra there was no problem. The evening meal was excellent with a great choice of starters, mains and deserts. Compliments to the chefs!

The hotel is currently undergoing renovations and when its finished I would have no issues staying again.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have been refurbished but those at the front may have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent visit. I am pleased to read that the staff and the food were to your liking. I know the staff do work very hard to deliver great service and they always appreciate mentions! We are undergoing lots of different refurbishment, including all new windows in every room and in house redecoration of the corridors. We are also hopeful of a number of rooms being refurbished in the Autumn/Spring
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    344
    251
    173
    302
See reviews for
178
715
48
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here while making funeral arrangements for our eldest brother. Old style TV in room didn't work properly. Room was very dated & extremely basic. Bathroom fittings were really worn, poorly cleaned & badly in need of renovation. Plus there was only two feet square to manoeuvre in from the sink, to the toilet & shower. During the breakfast meal while discussing very delicate matters, a second couple were seated at our table without our consent. All concerned appeared totally bemused by this, due to the vast number of vacant tables around us. We can only conclude that the staff were too lazy to trouble themselves with clearing & re-dressing another table that morning. Totally unacceptable in any circumstances, to be made to sit with complete strangers. Made a very difficult time, even more awkward for us. Never again.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
So sorry to read that you experienced problems during your recent stay under difficult circumstances. I can only assume that staff were unaware of the reason you were staying with us as that is certainly something we would not do intentionally. We do allocate table numbers to guests so we can be sure if guests have dined with us and it also helps from a health & safety perspective as we can check if lone travelers have been taken ill and still in their rooms. My sincere apologies once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torquay hotels

Accrington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Holiday in a nutshell. Driver Alan needed a personality transplant. Hotel needed sorting out ok if you do not mind a cracked sink, lights that do not work, mold and rust around the bath and a carpet that David Attenborough could make a complete series on, meals adequate , staff good entertainment ok, if you want information from reception find out for yourself. Now you can make your own mind up. Big Al Lancs

Room Tip: Try and get a refurbished room good luck
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Sorry your recent stay was not to your liking. I will look into the points you raised and ensure they are addressed. I hope you find a suitable destination for future holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel on the 10th & 11th May. The hotel downstairs isn't too bad but our room upstairs was very tired and desperately needs upgrading along with the corridors and lift. The bathroom was disgusting with a cracked sink and a shower that would not stay upright. I did not feel comfortable using the shower cubicle at all, it didn't look too hygienic.

Breakfast on the second morning was like a football match as the coach parties had arrived and everyone has to be in the dining room between 8 and 9am, consequently the service was very slow. The breakfast was acceptable but was served on a small plate. We were told that we were sitting at the wrong table, but we had been told to sit in that area. It seems that if you are elderly you have to be told where to sit like a 5 year old.


If that is an example of Bay Hotels, I don't think I shall be booking another.

Magz

Room Tip: Rooms can be upgraded but of course that increases the cost. You shouldn't have to upgrade a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MAGZ1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
sorry that you didn't enjoy your recent stay with us. We are predominantly dealing with coach guests and we have to allocate tables for various reasons, including as a means to welfare check on guests travelling alone. we also do not charge to upgrade rooms at all in the hotel so it was slightly confusing to read that in your post. My thoughts are that you would probably be more suited to the Coast & Country Hotels as they cater for a more relaxing type of break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

My wife and I stayed in this hotel from the 5th until 9th May 2014 on a National Holidays booking.
The hotel is not in Torquay as advertised but in Babbacombe and is about 7 miles from the centre of Torquay, however, there was a reasonable bus service into Torquay from the top of the street, the hotel itself is very pleasant, food was fine, the rooms clean, entertainment good and the staff very helpful. Like all hotels there are signs of wear through age but to be fair we were very happy with our holiday in this establishment and would certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: We were in room 101 on the ground floor,lovely room, light and airy, however, the bar cooling system...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank malcolm p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Glad to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the Trecarn. We are in Babbacombe, which is a borough of Torquay and we have the advantage of avoiding the crowds in the main season whilst being lucky enough to have lovely surroundings in the area. I hope you will consider returning to us in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We have recently had another long weekend, with National Holidays, at the Bay Trecarn Hotel, Torquay. This was our third visit, so National Holidays and the Bay Trecarn must be doing something right. As usual the food was good, the entertainment was excellent, but we were really disappointed to see that no effort has been made to decorate the upstairs bedrooms and corridors. Our room was, as always, very clean and well serviced, but the décor and chipped windowpane was very depressing. It will not put us off returning again but I hope next time to see a difference

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have a nicer outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oldham3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for your recent post. I am not sure if you noticed that we are actually currently upgrading ALL windows in the hotel for every room. We have also made a start on refurbishment of all the corridors, plans are in place for 6 bedrooms to be fully refurbished this Autumn and a further 8 next year. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and hopefully knowing that we are working hard to upgrade the accommodation will encourage you to return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Trecarn Hotel, [ Palermo Road, Torquay Devon TQ1 3NW ], is a Bay Hotel, owned by the Shearings Group Ltd, Registered No 05272464, [ Victoria Mill, Miry Lane, Wigan Lancashire WN3 4AG ]

Date: 02 - 05 May 2014
Room No: 237

The depressing feeling of unremitted horror overcame me when the National Holidays coach pulled up at the Trecarn Hotel, Torquay, when it emerged that this was a Bay Hotel.

The worst hotel experienced of my life occurred a couple of months ago in another Bay Hotel. National Holidays have yet to reply to my letter.

The Trecarn Hotel, Torquay’s overgrown weeded garden and spilling skips of builders debris did little to alleviate my sinking feeling of foreboding.

The hotel interior was a tired sad affair clearly showing many years of neglected maintenance and refurbishment.


EVACUTAION INFORMATION
Room evacuation information was inadequate
No information to contact Hotel Reception or outside bodies
Lack of corridor evacuation signage

FIRE ALARM 06:30 hours 3 MAY 2014
Procedure carried out impeccably by the Night Porter and his assistant

ROOM 237
The room and linen were clean; some bathroom fittings were missing and microbial growth was apparent in the shower unit; skirting boards appeared to display an infestation of dry rot.
Daily room was cleaning and bed making
Towels and tea/coffee/milk were replenished
Housekeeping staff are providing the best possible service

DINING ROOM
Table, crockery, cutlery and glass ware were clean
Ann the Dining Room Manager supervised impeccably with an gentle manner and a desire to please
All meals except one breakfast served by Stuart, a new staff member; he, like Jacob, was unfailing patient, pleasant and proficient

FOOD
Mainly of a pre-prepared nature, but carefully and attractively presented
The pork loin on 3 May 2014, prepared by Vicky, was simply excellent
So good to find a properly managed kitchen, with a pride ion their work

RECEPTION
All members of this team were helpful, understanding and pleasant

MANAGEMENT
Clearly this hotel has a strong management team, who, with their colleagues, are working with a difficult hotel but are determined to provide their guests with the best possible holiday experience

The Trecarn Hotel, Torquay is a hotel to recommend; it is everything the Esplanade Hotel Ryde, Isle of Wight is not.

AtM

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AtM20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for your considered views relating to your stay with us this month. As you may see from the previous posts, I do take the time to read and reply to each post individually as feedback is important for us to improve the service we deliver. I was particularly pleased that Stuart and Jacob were singled out for praise as like you said they are both relatively new to the hotel and I shall pass on your comments. Hopefully the positive experience has helped you to consider Bay Hotels for the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.2 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#57 of 87 in Torquay
935 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ashley Court Hotel
Ashley Court Hotel
#82 of 87 in Torquay
383 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#55 of 87 in Torquay
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Bay Tor Park Hotel
Bay Tor Park Hotel
#28 of 87 in Torquay
491 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,818 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Burlington
Hotel Burlington
#86 of 87 in Torquay
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trecarn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trecarn Hotel

Property: Trecarn Hotel
Address: Palermo Road, Torquay TQ1 3NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Trecarn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in its own grounds in a quiet residential area, the Trecarn hotel is just a short stroll from the Babbacombe Downs and the delightful village of St Marychurch. The ground floor public areas of the hotel were the subject of an extensive refurbishment which has been very well received by our guests. The hotel now benefits from well-appointed lounge areas, large entertainment suite and bar. The restaurant has been completely re-styled and now offers a spacious and contemporary dining experience. After enjoying the renowned entertainments the hotel has to offer, you should also sleep better than ever as we have also refurbished 62 of the hotel's bedrooms! The Trecarn Hotel is ideally placed for exploring the surrounding area of Torbay and the delightful South Devon Coast. There is an excellent bus service taking you to town centre and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trecarn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trecarn Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing