We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“National Coach Holiday”
Review of Trecarn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Trecarn Hotel
Ranked #85 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel recently on a national holiday coach trip. We were in a ground floor room, that was basic but clean and comfortable. Alto ugh the trip is entitled Torquay the hotel is actually based in Babbacombe ,but I knew this having done some research beforehand. Torquay is a short bus ride away and the stop is right outside the hotel. The staff were helpful and welcoming on our arrival. The food in the hotel was excellent and the menu gave plenty of choice and always included a vegetarian option. I thought the whole package was good value for the price we paid. The hotel is undergoing ongoing refurbishment and some areas do look shabby and tired. Overall I would return to this hotel and would recommend irt particularly for the delicious food.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Carole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for your review and recommendation. As I Hope you could see during your stay we are constantly undergoing upgrades and refurbishment and have just completed replacing the majority of the bedroom windows. We continue to work with our maintenance team to do decoration within the hotel too. Hoe we get to welcome you again soon to the hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

771 - 777 of 1,314 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

Don't be put off by the negativity because the Bay Trecarn at Babbacombe (to clarify Babbacombe is a district of Torquay, Devon, just 1.3 miles from Torquay, which itself is in the area of Torbay) is excellent for the money. I really despair of some people who just want to complain about everything. My wife and I visited on a National Holiday break in July 2014 and thoroughly enjoyed it. Yes it's not 5 star but you get what you pay for and we were pleased with everything we received. Our room, 107, had clearly being recently refurbished and was very nice - well apart from a small damp patch on the wall and the duck tape holding the bath panel together! In truth everything was fine, the room was well equipt, very clean and the cleaning staff certainly worked very hard to maintain that. The dining area is extremely pleasant and the food was excellent, with lots of choice and fine quality. We had an allocated table and associated waitress, Coral, who was very nice and extremely hard working. Depending on what time you went for your meal, occasionally the time to be served seem lengthy (a British problem because we don’t like to wait!) but this was due to the number of people to be served and not the staff, who right across the hotel, we're charming, helpful and well organised. The location of the hotel in Babbacombe was excellent – really it’s a lovely place to visit – and my wife and I would certainly return. In all honesty, it’s difficult to find anything to complain about but I'm sure, like others, we could. However, that would be wrong because the Bay Trecarn is first rate and certainly what we were given while there was real value for money. Well done.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you so much for your balanced assessment and review of your recent stay with us. We do strive to deliver a high level of service without as you stay charging high prices. I think we sit comfortably into the market we aim for. I will pass on your kind words to Coral, who is a tireless worker and regularly gets mentions like these. I hope we get to welcome you to the hotel again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Our room was not refurbished, carpet dirty, not fitted properly a danger as could easily trip on it. Dark dismal room, a large tree covered outside of window so no daylight. Spiders and cobwebs on walls. Toilet did not flush properly took 2 hours to fill up and continuously dripped. Took maintenance 3 days to come and fix and still wasn't right. Food awful, bland, tasteless, small portions. One night was supposed to be 5 course gala dinner, one course was a glass of wine the other tea/coffee and usual 3 courses. Drinks package was a rip off as you could only have certain drinks. The worst point of all was when we arrived we had to lug our cases up 10 steps. We are in our 70's as most other guest are elderly and no porters to carry our bags. On other coach trips our bags have been sent straight to our rooms. Would not go with National again, driver very unfriendly no banter or personality. Entertainment in hotel was lacking, only 1 hour per night. Everything finished at 10.30pm.

Room Tip: Request a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank suenmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. As with the usual all inclusive drinks deals, there are house brands and what I would consider household brands on the list which is common practice. We always have a porter on duty for arrivals and I am sure he would have happily carried your cases up to the room for you if you had made us aware you required assistance. I hope you find a holiday destination that you are happy with and sorry once again that we did not deliver the experience you were hoping for

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Visited with national holidays. Ask for low floor. Ended up with seven steps to climb.
Room overall tatty. Bathroom bad. Small a shower that gave a trickle. If you lowered the head better, to get good flow produce really hot water which you couldn't used. Lazy you had to keep pulling to turn light on, good point bright room.
Have stayed before but this was by far the worst room. Did ask to move but would have been a few days.
Food ok

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ChrisWalkerRochdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Sorry to read that your stay was marred by the room you were allocated. I see that reception did look to moving you but we were busy. I will look into the issue of water pressure in those ground floor rooms. My apologies once again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Best bay hotel we have stayed at we were lucky to get. A refurbished front of hotel room only disappointment was we requested through national holidays for a table to seat two in the dining room national holidays replied to my request by email confirming the hotel had been informed on arrival it was apparent we shared a table with others we then asked the dining room manager had she received my request she denied any knowledge of it I showed her my email but nothing was done after several requests very disappointing apart from this the staff and service were excellent very enjoyable especially the waitress that served table 22 between 2nd to 6th July unfortunately I didn't get her name

Room Tip: Rooms at front of hotel seem to be refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, especially as it was a five star one! Sorry about the mix up regarding a table for two. I hope you will be considering a further visit to the hotel and if so, please give me a call direct so I can try my best to get you a table for two.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

It is a lovely hotel the food very nice although more care is needed checking if crockery etc. is clean, staff were excellent. Entertainment was excellent.....
The room we got was the worst room we have ever stayed in while on coach trips....the bin in the bathroom had not been emptied from the previous occupiers. The bathroom was so small you couldn't take your clothes off in there or take anything in with you......it was so small the hand basin was in the bedroom under the window (clear window) couldn't really stand and get a wash/brush teeth unless the curtains were closed. Handle was missing from the chest of drawers. Like I have said the hotel is a very nice hotel but think we must have got one of the worst rooms in the hotel. It is a shame because it really has put me off going back.
Non of us expect 5 star but do expect rooms to be better than we had...

Room Tip: Not room 254
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank durhamwitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

So sorry that your stay with us was marred by a lack of attention with your room. I hope you will consider a return and if so, please give me a ring beforehand and we will try to get you into one of our newer refurbished rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Came to this hotel on a coach holiday with National. Had a single room, in what I assume was the older part of the hotel. Definitely had not been refurbished! Tacky radio, no TV, peeling paint on windowsill, window held in place by gaffer tape? Tiniest shower I've ever had to use, couldn't turn round in it. However, the storage space was good (wardrobe and drawers, but only 4 hangers!) and the bed clean and comfortable.
Having said that, although my room was in need of TLC, I have to say that the staff were doing their utmost to keep us happy.The food was good, with a reasonable choice on both the breakfast and the dinner menus. My waiter was top notch! Quick, friendly, helpful, nothing seemed to be a problem for him. (Jacob). Nice young man.
Babbacombe is not Torquay, but it is Torbay. The area is worth a repeat visit, I enjoy the camaraderie of coach holidays as I am a single traveller and do not drive. Not too sure about a repeat visit to the Trecarne, unless the refurb is completed sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AnneRigby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are currently replacing every window in the hotel to ensure all rooms have double glazing, and we are constantly looking at refurbishment with a further 14 rooms in the pipeline. I hope that with your positive experience of the break that this will encourage you to visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.2 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#51 of 85 in Torquay
1,002 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Hotel
Anchorage Hotel
#63 of 85 in Torquay
414 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#56 of 85 in Torquay
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#47 of 85 in Torquay
368 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Babbacombe Hotel
The Babbacombe Hotel
#37 of 85 in Torquay
204 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Patricia Guest House
The Patricia Guest House
#50 of 85 in Torquay
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trecarn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trecarn Hotel

Address: Palermo Road, Torquay TQ1 3NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range: £26 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Trecarn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in its own grounds in a quiet residential area, the Trecarn hotel is just a short stroll from the Babbacombe Downs and the delightful village of St Marychurch. The ground floor public areas of the hotel were the subject of an extensive refurbishment which has been very well received by our guests. The hotel now benefits from well-appointed lounge areas, large entertainment suite and bar. The restaurant has been completely re-styled and now offers a spacious and contemporary dining experience. After enjoying the renowned entertainments the hotel has to offer, you should also sleep better than ever as we have also refurbished 62 of the hotel's bedrooms! The Trecarn Hotel is ideally placed for exploring the surrounding area of Torbay and the delightful South Devon Coast. There is an excellent bus service taking you to town centre and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Trecarn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trecarn Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing