We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A GOOD HOTEL”
Review of Trecarn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Trecarn Hotel
Ranked #88 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A GOOD HOTEL”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We have just returned from our stay at the bay trecarn, prior to departing on our holiday we read the reports on this hotel and wondered what we going to,please let me reassure readers that there is NOTHING WRONG with this hotel, ok some of the rooms may be a little dated but the hotel was spotless, the staff were great, the food was very good, the entertainment varied, what else could you wish for from a budget holliday. ? would we go again YES the sooner the better

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank steve w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a positive review of your recent stay with us. I know it is difficult to please everyone and we do our best, so to read your kind words is very encouraging for the team who work very hard. Hope we do get the chance to welcome you back to the hotel again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    342
    241
    159
    266
See reviews for
163
680
44
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

booked a 5 day holiday with National holidays to Torquay the hotel designated was the Trecarn and reviews gave it a lot of stick, but when we arrived i was pleasently surprised the staff couldnt be more friendly, or helpful ok this is a budget Hotel and furniture in the rooms is basic but the rooms are clean, the food is of a high standard, and the waiters / waitress are excellent theirs even entertainment of an evening after the customary bingo,if there is on critism if you like a drink then take out a mortgage because they are top price, it may pay you to take a walk to the local pubs a short walk away

Room Tip: ground floor rooms tend to be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Harry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your kind review. I think there is a good balance of opinion on here with the majority of reviews very positive. I do take the time to read and respond to each of them and also analyse the statistics to feed back to the management team. I do feel that our prices are comparable with local pubs, plus there is also the added bonus of drinks vouchers if you book the holiday with these included. I hope you will consider returning in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel recently on a national holiday coach trip. We were in a ground floor room, that was basic but clean and comfortable. Alto ugh the trip is entitled Torquay the hotel is actually based in Babbacombe ,but I knew this having done some research beforehand. Torquay is a short bus ride away and the stop is right outside the hotel. The staff were helpful and welcoming on our arrival. The food in the hotel was excellent and the menu gave plenty of choice and always included a vegetarian option. I thought the whole package was good value for the price we paid. The hotel is undergoing ongoing refurbishment and some areas do look shabby and tired. Overall I would return to this hotel and would recommend irt particularly for the delicious food.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Carole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your review and recommendation. As I Hope you could see during your stay we are constantly undergoing upgrades and refurbishment and have just completed replacing the majority of the bedroom windows. We continue to work with our maintenance team to do decoration within the hotel too. Hoe we get to welcome you again soon to the hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
444 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Don't be put off by the negativity because the Bay Trecarn at Babbacombe (to clarify Babbacombe is a district of Torquay, Devon, just 1.3 miles from Torquay, which itself is in the area of Torbay) is excellent for the money. I really despair of some people who just want to complain about everything. My wife and I visited on a National Holiday break in July 2014 and thoroughly enjoyed it. Yes it's not 5 star but you get what you pay for and we were pleased with everything we received. Our room, 107, had clearly being recently refurbished and was very nice - well apart from a small damp patch on the wall and the duck tape holding the bath panel together! In truth everything was fine, the room was well equipt, very clean and the cleaning staff certainly worked very hard to maintain that. The dining area is extremely pleasant and the food was excellent, with lots of choice and fine quality. We had an allocated table and associated waitress, Coral, who was very nice and extremely hard working. Depending on what time you went for your meal, occasionally the time to be served seem lengthy (a British problem because we don’t like to wait!) but this was due to the number of people to be served and not the staff, who right across the hotel, we're charming, helpful and well organised. The location of the hotel in Babbacombe was excellent – really it’s a lovely place to visit – and my wife and I would certainly return. In all honesty, it’s difficult to find anything to complain about but I'm sure, like others, we could. However, that would be wrong because the Bay Trecarn is first rate and certainly what we were given while there was real value for money. Well done.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you so much for your balanced assessment and review of your recent stay with us. We do strive to deliver a high level of service without as you stay charging high prices. I think we sit comfortably into the market we aim for. I will pass on your kind words to Coral, who is a tireless worker and regularly gets mentions like these. I hope we get to welcome you to the hotel again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackburn
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Our room was not refurbished, carpet dirty, not fitted properly a danger as could easily trip on it. Dark dismal room, a large tree covered outside of window so no daylight. Spiders and cobwebs on walls. Toilet did not flush properly took 2 hours to fill up and continuously dripped. Took maintenance 3 days to come and fix and still wasn't right. Food awful, bland, tasteless, small portions. One night was supposed to be 5 course gala dinner, one course was a glass of wine the other tea/coffee and usual 3 courses. Drinks package was a rip off as you could only have certain drinks. The worst point of all was when we arrived we had to lug our cases up 10 steps. We are in our 70's as most other guest are elderly and no porters to carry our bags. On other coach trips our bags have been sent straight to our rooms. Would not go with National again, driver very unfriendly no banter or personality. Entertainment in hotel was lacking, only 1 hour per night. Everything finished at 10.30pm.

Room Tip: Request a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suenmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. As with the usual all inclusive drinks deals, there are house brands and what I would consider household brands on the list which is common practice. We always have a porter on duty for arrivals and I am sure he would have happily carried your cases up to the room for you if you had made us aware you required assistance. I hope you find a holiday destination that you are happy with and sorry once again that we did not deliver the experience you were hoping for
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torquay hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Rochdale
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Visited with national holidays. Ask for low floor. Ended up with seven steps to climb.
Room overall tatty. Bathroom bad. Small a shower that gave a trickle. If you lowered the head better, to get good flow produce really hot water which you couldn't used. Lazy you had to keep pulling to turn light on, good point bright room.
Have stayed before but this was by far the worst room. Did ask to move but would have been a few days.
Food ok

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisWalkerRochdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Sorry to read that your stay was marred by the room you were allocated. I see that reception did look to moving you but we were busy. I will look into the issue of water pressure in those ground floor rooms. My apologies once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Best bay hotel we have stayed at we were lucky to get. A refurbished front of hotel room only disappointment was we requested through national holidays for a table to seat two in the dining room national holidays replied to my request by email confirming the hotel had been informed on arrival it was apparent we shared a table with others we then asked the dining room manager had she received my request she denied any knowledge of it I showed her my email but nothing was done after several requests very disappointing apart from this the staff and service were excellent very enjoyable especially the waitress that served table 22 between 2nd to 6th July unfortunately I didn't get her name

Room Tip: Rooms at front of hotel seem to be refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, especially as it was a five star one! Sorry about the mix up regarding a table for two. I hope you will be considering a further visit to the hotel and if so, please give me a call direct so I can try my best to get you a table for two.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.2 mi away
Rainbow International Hotel
1.2 mi away
Bay Tor Park Hotel
Bay Tor Park Hotel
#25 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ashley Court Hotel
Ashley Court Hotel
#80 of 88 in Torquay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Bay Torbay Hotel
Bay Torbay Hotel
#34 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
1.1 mi away
Seascape Hotel
Seascape Hotel
#44 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#51 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trecarn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trecarn Hotel

Property: Trecarn Hotel
Address: Palermo Road, Torquay TQ1 3NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Trecarn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in its own grounds in a quiet residential area, the Trecarn hotel is just a short stroll from the Babbacombe Downs and the delightful village of St Marychurch. The ground floor public areas of the hotel were the subject of an extensive refurbishment which has been very well received by our guests. The hotel now benefits from well-appointed lounge areas, large entertainment suite and bar. The restaurant has been completely re-styled and now offers a spacious and contemporary dining experience. After enjoying the renowned entertainments the hotel has to offer, you should also sleep better than ever as we have also refurbished 62 of the hotel's bedrooms! The Trecarn Hotel is ideally placed for exploring the surrounding area of Torbay and the delightful South Devon Coast. There is an excellent bus service taking you to town centre and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trecarn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trecarn Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing