We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very very helpful cheerful staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trecarn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Trecarn Hotel
Ranked #89 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“very very helpful cheerful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

we stayed here for 4 days which turned into 5 due to me having a fall and having to go to Torbay a&e. Staff were wonderful & helpful especially the receptionist with dark hair & glasses(sorry didn't catch her name). She cleaned & dressed my wounds. She then phoned for a taxi to take us to a&e. As we were there 6 hours she also accommodated us in another room as we were too tired to travel. Can't praise her enough. Food was good. Our room was fine. Ignore bad reviews.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, even though you suffered a visit to the local hospital whilst you were with us. The girl in question who helped you was Carla, our head receptionist and I will make sure to pass on your kind words to her. She always works tirelessly to help our guests and it is great to see her hard work getting noticed. Thank you once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    336
    236
    157
    251
See reviews for
162
657
44
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

It is many years since my wife and I last visited the Trecarn hotel. The standards then were excellent and I am pleased to say that they have not dropped since then. From the moment we stepped through the door, we were greeted by friendly, helpful staff. We had a ground floor room(107) which was clean and well decorated. There were plenty of towels and hot water in the bathroom and adequate storage space. The only grumble was that the main light in the bedroom was dim but this is a minor thing as we did not spend that much time in there. The food was superb and the dining room staff very efficient especially Laura our waitress. Nothing was too much trouble for her. Good entertainment in the evening rounded off a very nice stay. We will be back and not leave it so long next time. D Hannay

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you so much for posting your 5 star review of your recent visit. So pleased to read that despite it being a while since your last visit you enjoyed it equally as much. Hopefully you will not leave it as long until your next trip to visit us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hull
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

OK, seven day trip with national, pretty good value for the money paid, the hotel is a bit dated as said, but if you want five star hotels you've gotta pay five star prices.

The room was OK, nothing special but adequate for our stay.

Food, well, breakfast was the usual cerials (if there was any left) to be fair though I asked the waiter for more and he sorted swiftly.

Evening meal was a bit of different story, never before have I had fish served with carrots and cabbage (maybe just me I don't know) but it didn't go down well!!!

The entertainment was quite good , nothing special but fairly entertaining on most eveningss

Bar prices!!!! All inclusive!!!!, got a J20 fruit juice and was asked for 50p extra than a pint of beer, very strange bar pricing!

But overall, babbacombe is lovely place, the hotel is nicely situated, not far from the sea front and plenty of bars for a bight to eat and drink .

Just a big thanks to our waiter for the week, Darren, this guy worked his socks off as did the rest of the staff to fair.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hull63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
It was good to read that Darren stood out for you during your recent stay and that his service was excellent. He has not been with us for long but is an excellent member of the team and I am pleased to have him working with us. With regards to the all-inclusive pricing, I do understand the anomaly of paying "extra" to upgrade your drink, but there is a set list of included drinks so anything outside of this unfortunately has to be classed as an upgrade. I hope that the holiday was enjoyable enough for you to consider a further visit to us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Just returned from a 4 night stay, Hotel very clean staff very helpful, bedroom excellent with good amenities,Entertainment very good, Good choice of food and very good service in restaurant and bar Reception staff very helpful, only downside was that our room 229 was either down stairs or up stairs to the lift and had to carry the walker either way, but apart from that we had a lovely holiday. Hotel was under renovation but not a hindrance.
Reading previous reviews I find it hard to believe just what people want,

Room Tip: Lots of stairs to lift, Any dissability ask for a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your review saying that you enjoyed your stay and that we provided great service in a clean hotel. It is what we aspire to do for all our customers. I hope that you will stay with us again and if so, please give me a ring first so I can do my best to ensure you get an easier room to get to with your walker.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

booked a four day holiday with National Holidays in June--the hotel was not in Torquay as stated but Babbacombe--still nice place, Hotel room was terrible with a dirty and unusable bathroom, threadbare carpets and visible patches of mould, windowsills hanging together with gaffer tape, unusable tv.Bathroom was worst, dirty with old dust all over, ring marks on shelves, shower did not work and shower holder broken, bath enamel down to bare metal all over--a very thick surrounding of rust on the bath taps, and pillow cases although laundered showed traces of what looked like dried mucus
food--breakfast ok--dinner the first night was atrocious--it did get a little better but poor quality processed ingredients
entertainment was fine but drinks very expensive--£3-50 for a lime and lemon
we have put in a complaint to National Holidays but still awaiting outcome
will never use this hotel again

Room Tip: ask for refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank constella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Sorry to read you did not find the hotel up to your standards. We do have older rooms that are in need of refurbishment and we are working our way through these as quickly as we can. I do know that housekeeping staff work hard to keep the rooms clean though so I was surprised to see your comments about the room being dirty and I will investigate. I hope you can find a holiday destination that offers you the value for money we do and the standards you would like. My apologies once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torquay hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Denny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

i have been to quite a few 'bay' hotels across the uk. unfortunately this is the poorest.
dining room was fine ,as was the food quality and variety,however service in the dining room was
poor. the lounge and bar were ok,but again service was slow.
and now to the rooms - a good sense of direction was essential (twice i had to show old ladies back to the reception area). my bedroom was quite modern with decent furniture,and the room
was clean with clean linen and towels.however the bathroom was well below standard-fittings loose
on walls, toilet bowl-loose, shower stall was tiny with a very poor shower.
overall the hotel is below this group's usual standard - the hotel needs a total refurbishment.
i wil not be back.

Room Tip: ensure you get a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank william c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Sorry to read that there were some aspects of your stay with us you did not enjoy. I hope that you find a destination and hotel that is more suitable to your tastes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We have just returned from our stay at the bay trecarn, prior to departing on our holiday we read the reports on this hotel and wondered what we going to,please let me reassure readers that there is NOTHING WRONG with this hotel, ok some of the rooms may be a little dated but the hotel was spotless, the staff were great, the food was very good, the entertainment varied, what else could you wish for from a budget holliday. ? would we go again YES the sooner the better

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank steve w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a positive review of your recent stay with us. I know it is difficult to please everyone and we do our best, so to read your kind words is very encouraging for the team who work very hard. Hope we do get the chance to welcome you back to the hotel again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.2 mi away
Rainbow International Hotel
1.2 mi away
Bay Tor Park Hotel
Bay Tor Park Hotel
#23 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
1.1 mi away
Seascape Hotel
Seascape Hotel
#42 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Bay Torbay Hotel
Bay Torbay Hotel
#30 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bancourt Hotel
Bancourt Hotel
#85 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Hotel
Anchorage Hotel
#80 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trecarn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trecarn Hotel

Property: Trecarn Hotel
Address: Palermo Road, Torquay TQ1 3NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Trecarn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in its own grounds in a quiet residential area, the Trecarn hotel is just a short stroll from the Babbacombe Downs and the delightful village of St Marychurch. The ground floor public areas of the hotel were the subject of an extensive refurbishment which has been very well received by our guests. The hotel now benefits from well-appointed lounge areas, large entertainment suite and bar. The restaurant has been completely re-styled and now offers a spacious and contemporary dining experience. After enjoying the renowned entertainments the hotel has to offer, you should also sleep better than ever as we have also refurbished 62 of the hotel's bedrooms! The Trecarn Hotel is ideally placed for exploring the surrounding area of Torbay and the delightful South Devon Coast. There is an excellent bus service taking you to town centre and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia and Superbreak UK so you can book your Trecarn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trecarn Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing