We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Trecarn Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Imperial Torquay(Torquay)
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$247
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,361)
Filter reviews
1,362 results
Traveller rating
146
360
275
199
382
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
146
360
275
199
382
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsa ground floor roomentertainment every nightplenty of hot waterexcellent value for moneyplenty of choiceplymouthquiz
Filter
Updating list...
799 - 804 of 1,362 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We were in Room 109 a refurbished one but unfortunately they forgot the carpet which wasn't at all clean but the bedding and towels were spotless. TV was old and only used it for the news so not too much of a problem, plenty of milk and coffee etc which was good, hairdryer and plenty of hot water. We stayed from 9th Aug until 13th and travelled with National Coaches, our driver was Richard who was one of the best we have ever had, ........would I stay here again YES but because of disabilities I found the journey too long even though we had two good stops.
Staff both in dining room and bar very good and the staff on reception are really nice and helpful.

Room Tip: 109 ground floor at the back of hotel, might be a bit noisy at night if you go to bed early, but we don't so it didn't bother us.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marybaxter7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have to tell you that the carpet was brand new when this room was refurbished so I will check the room to see if there is a problem with it. I hope the journey has not put you off visiting us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We went here for a 5 day stay with national holidays and we know for the price we are not going to get anything over a basic 3 star so we were pleasantly surprised with our room when we arrived (room 222 It is a twin room). The beds were comfortable and spotless bedding. We had a nice flat screen T.V and plenty of tea coffee and milk. The bathroom or should I say shower room was small but had everything you need except a shelf or somewhere to put your toiletries. The shower pressure was very good. The bathroom was clean and we got fresh towels everyday. To get to the room though you need a good memory. There are a lot of corridors and doorways to negotiate. The food was ok but not enough of it and it was bland it was waiter served and they were very good. There was a problem on our 4th day as our waiter was on his day off. The job was taken over by a manager and chaos resumed. Some of our party got half a breakfast and others were lucky (we were one of those) some had no drinks or toast. You only get an hours slot so if you have a very slow member of staff you don't get it all. Like all hotels there is never enough room for every one to sit on an evening but the bar staff were very good. The carpets in this hotel all need changing and like all national hotels it needs a lick of paint and listening to others on the trip new furniture and beds. But saying all this it is in a lovely area called Babbacombe and near the bus stop for Torquay(11 22 and 32 bus). We would go again and ask for the same room again.

Room Tip: If you have a choice ask for a refurbished room. Our room was 222 not sure if this had been refurbished but it was clean and comfortable with twin beds a nice shower room. Furthest away from reception so it was quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank lyndablyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay enough to want to visit again. We are always looking to improve standards and facilities, which is one of the reasons I read and reply to each of the reviews on trip advisor. The feedback is essential for us to deliver to our guests. We shall hopefully welcome you again to the hotel, so please feel free to contact us before you visit so we can do our best to get you your room!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Traveled to this hotel for four a day break with national holiday ..
Staff are great , very helpful , food and dining room loverly ..Enjoyed our stay very much .
Only trouble was the hotel room . Bed was a nightmare . Very uncomfortable . Shower was not worth using . Furniture was old and boken..

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank phillip c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thanks for taking the time to post. It is encouraging to read that staff, food and dining room were up to your expectations. We are in the process of refurbishing rooms and I am hopeful of another batch being completed this winter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Have just returned from a 7 day break with Caledonian. Room was ok not that big and shower room very small. Cold water was just a drip!!! Food was very good and our waiter Alex was very friendly and helpful. The entertainment at night was very good every act was good. The 4 free drinks every night was very good. Babbacombe is a lovely place, quiet and peaceful. Yes it is a bit hilly. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: A refurbished room on a low floor.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Spain21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you for your kind review. It is always good for me to read that our visitors had a great holiday with us, and I will pass along your praise to Alex who is an excellent waiter and works very hard to deliver for his customers. Many thanks once again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Our first visit 3 - 9th Aug. I requested that We would like our room next to my fathers and also a refurbished room a few months before the holiday and luckily Carla had managed to do that for us. We really enjoyed our holiday.
The food was very good and our waitress (young girl; long dark hair, wore glasses) was so polite and worked hard very friendly made it so nice. The rooms we had were ok. Clean and tidy. They were tidied every day.The entertainment was very good. The 4 vouchers for bar drinks every day were good too.
We would love to go again.
Also the National coach. driver was really friendly and gave us tips on various things there to.do.and see his manner brilliant

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bodybeautiful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

What a lovely review, thank you for taking the time to post, and award us 5 stars!! I am glad we were able to meet your requests and expectations. I know the reception team work hard to do this when they can. Hope we see you again sometime soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews