We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a real tonic-acomplete package”
Review of Trecarn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Trecarn Hotel
Ranked #85 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 6 September 2010

we were lucky to get a renovated room-beautiful,public rooms converted to a high standard and entertainment was the best we have seen for a long timer,food and service was excellent--our waitress was quick,efficient and lovely-thanks chloe--all the staff seemed happy and a credit to the hotel.Pity some guests were getting poor rooms. Location may not suit some but it is in a lovely residential areaOur national hoidays driver,LES took us out ever day-full of facts-a first class driver.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retagob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,201 - 1,207 of 1,293 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2010

me and my daughter arrived at the treacarn hotel after a long 7 hour journey at the front it looked pretty and though it had been refurbished. when we got inside it had been refurshed and so had the rooms at the FRONT of the hotel! by the way it is not in torquay it's in babbacombe. so all me and my daughter wanted to do was have a nice bath after such a long trip when we got into are room 259 it was appauling. it seriously needs decorating it looks like a room from the 50's, with moldy windows and cracked ceilings and stained carpets. we looked in the bathroom and it looked like a hopsital bathroom and the worst thing was that it smelt like a sewur NO JOKE! and our view was overlooking other rooms. i immediately went downstairs and complained to the reseptionist about our digusting rooms and she didn't seem to care she said theres no other rooms until tomorrow. we felt depressed in our room so we checked into another hotel down the road called the morningside which is lovely and i definetly reccomend this hotel and i have proof that we stayed there. so the next morning we headed back to the treacarn after breakfast and found us another room 257 which wasn't as bad as 259 but there was still smell in the bathroom, and had burnt carpets and cracked ceilings. the bedroom was very hot with thick winter sheets even though it's summer!!!!! later on i got a shower and was drying my hair in my bra and knickers while my daughter was reading a magazine and then suddenly a couple walked into out room with another key saying that we were in their room! so ovbisosly the receptionist didn't record that we moved rooms and then later on a different receptionist came up and apolgized. me and my daughter described it as fawlty towers!! the rooms at the front of the hotel have been refurbeshed. if you travel with national holidays like we did you'll find that you get put at the back of the hotel with furniture from the 50's. our bus driver was put in a tiny room in the attice and hated it! and we also felt very uncomfortable.
this hotel is despicable! DO NOT GO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anlabyhull2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

After reading other peoples reviews , i was a little concerned that it was the hotel from hell ...but wasnt all that bad ..we travelled from the northwest which was a nine hour trip due to traffic and picking up of people..... when we arrived the hotel was in Babbacoombe ..Torquay was appox a 45 minute walk.. but a bus stop was around the corner the number 11 and 32 took you into the strand which took about 10 minutes. Our room was situated on the top looking over the garden at the rear..the room was outdated but had what we needed... as you pay for what you get... needs a refurb.....the dining room was large.. however they try and cram you on tables with other guests ...we asked the restaurant manager if we could have a table on our own ..there was no problem ..however i was amazed to see most of the Oaps rushing out of the dinner room to get a table ..ready for the free bar... myself and my partner never sat down as there was no tables.. the all inclusive bar the que was always long.. however the staff worked very hard to keep it down.. our driver David was a Gem :) trips out were ok we didnt go to the plymouth one ..we went on a boat trip instead overall 6/10 have stayed in better ....but worth going for the beautiful scenery ....

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank linda446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

I travelled to The Trecarn Hotel with National Holidays. The Hotel is located in Babbacombe which is about 3 miles from Torquay and the beaches. (£6.00 - £6.50 in a taxi). The hotel itself is situated in the middle of a housing estate. To be fair there are some very grand houses in the surrounding area.
Upon entering the hotel I was pleasantly surprised with its newly refurbished reception/bar/dining area. Our party were allocated rooms 258 and 262.( Baware the key to room 258 also opens the door to room 262). To access these rooms we had to walk through the centre of the dining room whilst people ate their evening meal and then up approximatley 25 stairs on different levels.(This hotel is not very O.A.P or disabled friendly). On entering our rooms to say I was surprised is an understatement! I was flabergasted at the state of the rooms and bathrooms that National holidays are trying to palm off as acceptable accommodation. The rooms are so dated its like a throw back from the 70's. The bathrooms are in an even worse state of repair with a pitiful excuse for a shower. (There was no sign at all of any more refurbishment taking place on any of the rooms. It's obviously a ploy by the hotel and National holidays to get people to stay here).
Food in the hotel was acceptable and as previously said the staff in the dining and bar area deserve a medal for the hard work that they put in to keep all residents happy.
The all inclusive drinks was a bug bear for many people who found themselves queueing for 20 minutes wether it be for an alcoholic or soft drink. The all inclusive package does not start until 0730 pm which of course is another con as the evening meal finishes at 0730 pm so anyone wanting a drink with their evening meal has to pay for it. (A glass of wine is £3.40 and a glass of coke is £1.40).
Evening entertainment was very light hearted and seemed to keep everyone happy.
Overall I would not recommend this hotel to anyone regardless of age.
National holidays need to get their act together and start giving people what they advertise and pay for.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank HOPESTER1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2010

Excellent holiday stayed at the trecarn bay hotel Aug 31st 2010 for 4 nights 5 days we are a young couple both in our 20’s 1st impression was good bar & dining area all very well presented. Rooms basic but clean and comfy. after reading some of the reviews on here I was dreading the stay but was pleasantly surprised the hotel staff was 5* and all very friendly the service was very fast and plenty to choose from we had something different every night and the waiters couldn’t do anymore for you. The night time entertainment was bingo and a quiz then an artist which was pretty good too. There’s an entertainer Simon who needs praise he was really good kept the entertainment flowing and was an A* singer I even bought his cd very impressed. The free bar, there is a list of drinks you can have on the all inclusive but plenty to cater for everyone’s needs. Some of the time we were there was long ques for the bar but the staff are doing there best to get them down at all times. The hotel is very warm at all times so light thin clothes are needed. As for the trips we did Dartmouth and Brixham not much to do in Dartmouth but only there a few hours the coach driver Lee was great. all in all a great holiday plenty to do and see we didn’t have enough time to do everything but we will be going again for definite if anyone has any questions feel free to ask

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nikkiandrob80s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

Just returned from hotel on a National Holiday Break first impressions this is not bad.Then when you get past reception you get a shock we had to walk through a wedding reception to reach our rooms(no lift working).Corridors in bad neer of redecorating.I was allocated room 214 shower dirty badly in need of a good clean.The room very basic poorly decorated and not that clean.Very hard to get any water out of taps no where to put your toiletries wash basin in room also no where to put your toiletries in shower cubicle.Was supplied with radio/alarm clock but no spare socket to put it in.On the second night during evening meal another coach party arrived and had to walk through dining room and all the time the hotel staff were having to carry hot food to tables dont think health&safety would approve.The waitress we had was great how they managed under such bad conditions i dont know.As for the free bar yes you got long a long wait but thaat was due to greedy customers who abused the systemn no fault of the hotel.In short would i go back NO and if this is a Shearings Hotel i hope they arent all like it.I know it wasTorquay but was this Hotel based on Fawlty Towers.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank leedsEastyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2010

Went on a "national holiday" 5 day 4 night trip to this Hotel. It was listed as being in Torquay, but in reality it's in Babbacombe. Not a million miles away from Torquay, but still not there.
The room we had was large enough for my wife and I, but could of done with another wardrobe. The bathroom was clean and tidy with a walk in shower, however the shower was very dated and in urgent need of renewing, it wouldn't stop dripping all night long. The ciston top wouldn't fit properly on the loo. Other than that it was suitable. The room was cleaned daily and towels changed accordingly. Couldn't fault that for service.
The corridors were really shabby, wall paper coming off the walls, all the paintwork dirty or damaged, and some cracked window panes...! The Lift was too small and would only cater for 2 people at a time.
The dining room has clearly had a makeover and it was done to a very high standard. Our waitress worked her socks off, too hard in my opinion, she had too many customers to look after at each sitting. The food was quite varied and cooked to a very high standard, the chef was clearly well trained. The presentation of the food was excellent. The only criticism of the dining area was that as the waiters and waitresses went in and out of the kitchen the doors kept slamming back against their "jambs". Would of been wiser when refurbishing the dining area to have installed double hinged doors that didn't slam. It was quite annoying when trying to eat your food or talk to each other at the table.
The bar area where the entertainment was, had also been refurbished and was quite pleasant, until you looked at the ceiling, where the paint was cracked and coming off. The entertainment consists of bingo every night followed be either the resident compare cracking jokes or singing a couple of tunes, or guest artists comming in. The compare was named Simon and he tried very hard to keep every one amused. His humour though was to target members of the audience, which is ok if you don't mind having the micky taken out of you, which we were ok with. Our Holiday was classed as "all inclusive" on a half board basis i.e. Bed, breakfast and evening meal + 3 hours free bar every night. Unfortunately you are limited to which beers are free which can have a detrimental effect if you can't change your drinking habits to suit. There was always a queue at the bar but it was dealt with very quickly. The bar staff like the dining room staff worked incredibly hard to satisfy demand. In fact it would be fair to say that all the hotel staff work tremendously hard and were a credit to their company.
Our coach driver (Andy) also worked hard to tell us all about different areas of the south as we toured or passed through them, he was a credit to National Holidays. We went on a couple of organised trips, 1 to Dartmouth where we took a river cruise in. This lasted an hour and in truth the commentator was struggling to tell us much about the history of the place. If Agatha Christie hadn't lived there I think it would of been a very short trip. The other tour was around Plymouth. I was very disappointed about this day trip and would not recommend it to anyone. We spent an hour driving around Plymouth having the various Naval connections pointed out to us. But that only lasted about 20 mins, the rest of the time was driving around a "housing estate". The commentator pointed out that this place "used" to have a house here, or a factory there, but they had been pulled down. We could all claim that about our own towns. We stopped off for a 40 min break at a little known pub under the famous Brunnel bridge. I didn't think the pub could cope with the amount of people and getting to it was a nightmare. The coach driver was really annoyed at the damage being done by the trees and branches to his vehicle. In my opinion it was a stupid place to have stopped, with no significant historical appeal at all. The famous bridge built by I. K. Brunnell could be seen from most places, so going down extremely narrow roads with over hanging branches was rediculous.
Over all, we wanted a stress free break for a couple of days, with a couple of trips thrown in. And that's what we got. However, I wouldn't do this trip again, but maybe others offered by National Holidays. Once this Hotel has been refurbished, I'm sure it will be far more pleasant to stay in.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Macca292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Burlington
Hotel Burlington
#83 of 85 in Torquay
370 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Hotel
Anchorage Hotel
#62 of 85 in Torquay
407 reviews
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#30 of 85 in Torquay
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#54 of 85 in Torquay
973 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Richmond
Hotel Richmond
#76 of 85 in Torquay
388 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#58 of 85 in Torquay
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trecarn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trecarn Hotel

Address: Palermo Road, Torquay TQ1 3NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range: £26 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Trecarn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in its own grounds in a quiet residential area, the Trecarn hotel is just a short stroll from the Babbacombe Downs and the delightful village of St Marychurch. The ground floor public areas of the hotel were the subject of an extensive refurbishment which has been very well received by our guests. The hotel now benefits from well-appointed lounge areas, large entertainment suite and bar. The restaurant has been completely re-styled and now offers a spacious and contemporary dining experience. After enjoying the renowned entertainments the hotel has to offer, you should also sleep better than ever as we have also refurbished 62 of the hotel's bedrooms! The Trecarn Hotel is ideally placed for exploring the surrounding area of Torbay and the delightful South Devon Coast. There is an excellent bus service taking you to town centre and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trecarn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trecarn Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing