We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mum's Belated 90th Birthday Break”
Review of Abbey Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Abbey Court Hotel
Ranked #71 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Just returned from a short holiday break to the Abbey Court Hotel with my Mum and sister - and what a fabulous time we had. Ken, Rajni, Chris (the chef) and Camila were so warm and welcoming, the hotel was spotlessly clean(absolutely loved the crisp, white, cotton sheets), the food was vey good and everyone was so pleasant and helpful. Added to that, the 'crowd' we had on our coach were fantastic and we met some really lovely people. Mum had a wonderful time and originally the trip was a belated gift for her 90th birthday but now that we are back we've already said we would like to return. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone!! Thank you all at Abbey Court.

Room Tip: ALL the rooms were fine as far as I am aware, but you could request a sea view which personally I pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jackie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2011

The last few months for Shirley and I have been pretty tough to say the least.Shirl had decided to have a few days away to celebrate my birthday 13th November and booked the Abbey court Hotel to do just that.---at the end of our 3 day stay Shirley and I were two different people.
The hotel was sparkling clean,and the staff were sparkling to.As far as the owners Ranji and ken are concered,they could not have done more to help us.On the morning of my birthday at breakfast,a large HAPPY BIRTHDAY sign was stuck on the wall above our table,and a beautiful birthday card was presented to me from Ken , Rajni and staff.---What a start to our break.--They were so kind and thoughtful throughout our stay,we feel we have made some new friends.
In fact we feel that everyone on the coach are our new friends,because they were all just "Magic"and made us laugh again,and even got me up to dance.-------We strongly recomend a stay at the Abbey Court Hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank graham c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

It was a bit out dated hotel (1970's style). The food was V.good indeed

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank doug455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed at the Abbey Court Hotel owned by Ken and Ranji for 4 nights and 3 days. The service at this Hotel was Excellent, polite and friendly, all the staff were helpful and the Chef's (Chris); meals were delicious. Our table waitress for the week (Camila); was very helpful and served beautifully. The room itself was spacious, clean and comfortable with an excellent view of Torquay Harbour and overlooking a Swimming pool and Torre Abbey Gardens. All amenities were close by with a short walk or bus ride into town, which had a large shopping center, harbour, and cafe's galore. Plenty of seating availabe around the town if you have trouble walking like i do. The entertainment was first class on 3 nights, very enjoyable and fun. Well worth a stay at this Hotel, for sheer enjoyment, pleasure & relaxation. We have stayed at many Hotels over the last 6 years and found this one is way out in front of the rest. (Fantastically Excellent)... Mr T & L. Reeves; (Terry & Lynne),.
"Looking forward to coming back Ken and thank you for a great holiday."

Room Tip: We stayed in room 30 where we enjoyed many terrific views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Apleasure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

I am a Coach Driver for Leisuretime and i stayed at the Abbey Court from 4/9/11 to 8/9/11, this is the second time i have stayed at this hotel. Myself and every one of my 35 passengers loved there stay. Ken and Rajni were perfect hosts and done everything they could to help and assist everyone. Chris the chef is absolutely brilliant and his food is great, then there is Camilla the waitress, she works really hard serving the guests and occasionnally serving behind the bar.. This is an exeptionally clean, tidy, hotal with good food, reasonably priced bar and helpful staff. Well done to you all at the Abbey Court. To the critics think about the damage you could do to a business with your negative critisism. I will leave the rest to your conscience.
Mark

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sharkyjones1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

My wfie and i have just enjoyed a most enjoyable three day stay at the abbey court hotel. we cannot believe all the negative comments about this hotel. the owners were courteous, friendly, and efficient at all times, nothing was too much trouble for them .Chris the chef was most helpful and the meals were 1st class. Our room (16) was large, clean, with outstanding views across the bay .We will return to abbey court next year without question. well done Ken and Raji. and to all you moaners GET A LIFE.

Howard and Linda Ingham

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank howard i i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

The rooms where a bit basic needing a lick of paint the staff where great Chris the chef went out of his way to cook meals for my wife who has to have gluten free diet ten out of ten for Chris bar prices where good not a rip of like some hotels that i have been to entertainment very good room eleven.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BRYAN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
Ashwood Grange Hotel
Ashwood Grange Hotel
#42 of 85 in Torquay
63 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Richmond
Hotel Richmond
#73 of 85 in Torquay
399 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Patricia Guest House
The Patricia Guest House
#49 of 85 in Torquay
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Red House Hotel
Red House Hotel
#58 of 85 in Torquay
190 reviews
1 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#47 of 85 in Torquay
371 reviews
1.3 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#85 of 85 in Torquay
1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Court Hotel

Address: Falkland Road, Torquay TQ2 5JR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range: £47 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Abbey Court Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a tree lined road, Abbey Court is a peaceful hotel. It offers high standards and professional service at affordable prices. From views across Torbay to our heated outdoor pool and comfortable bar lounge, you will find the Abbey Court Hotel is the ideal place to relax and enjoy your holiday on the English Riviera ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Abbey Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Court Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing