We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not too bad.. you get what you pay for” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abbey Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Abbey Court Hotel
Ranked #70 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not too bad.. you get what you pay for”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

We booked via a newspaper ad and got 2 nightsl bed, Breakfast and evening meal for £55 per person ... cheap as you like , the best thing was the food as we had plans we only had dinner once it was lovely 3 courses and coffee to finish a lovely roast dinner all the food was gorgeous and plentiful, the breakfast was lovely , cereal followed by fry up and toast .
The hotel itself is possibly a bit dated and a bit scruffy round the edges but it suited its purpose for us ,staff were happy and helpful, my only compliant was the room itself was a bit grubby and could have been cleaned a bit better but it wasn't filthy , we didn't use the pool or the bar as we had plans
Its a ten min downhill walk to town bit stiffer on the way back but it is on a good bus route.
I'd prob stay here again at the price

I'd stay again for the price

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomcook-davies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    21
    18
    11
    9
See reviews for
13
40
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Llanelli, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

we recently stayed at this hotel,and i must give a huge mention,and praise the chef named chris.
the food was outstanding. nothing to much trouble for him, he was very friendly and polite. it was because of him that made our holiday was a holiday to remember.
a mention to the waitress anna, who was friendly and prompt in serving our meals.
keep up the good work both. rooms clean & tidy

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

Well what can i say.Fab fab fab.We booked for18 people and 18 people loved it. The staff were friendly helpful and nothing was to much trouble for them.The food was fab,all food homemade and very tasty,the chef Chris was bubbly to.The rooms were clean tidy and well equiped with easy access to all parts of the hotel.The manegment. Ken and Rajni,so pleased to have met you both. So helpful to all you guests and kind,just gutted the weekend went so fast.The bar was great with reasonable prices. I would recomend the Abbey court hotel as a great place to stay and we will going back.Thank you all for a brilliant weekend. best wishes Gareth & Lynne.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lynne l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

Just come back from our stay at this Hotel. We were on a mystery trip with a coach party and we were very impressed with everything. The hotel is an old one with plenty of character and lovely features.Alright it needs a bit of T.L.C. in parts but on the whole it had a very comfortable and relaxed atmosphere and we really enjoyed staying there. Nothing was too much trouble and the food was all home cooked by our brilliant chef Chris. So we wouldn't hesitate it recommending it to our friends. Excellent value for money !!! best wishes Carol and Vic

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank carol e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carluke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

well done Abbey Court, just returned after an eight day holiday with Glentons on the 22-9-12 thanks to Ken Ranji and Chris for a lovely holiday, service and food excellent rooms comfortable any requests were dealt with nothing was a problem overall a very enjoyable holiday would stay there again

once again thanks to all for a good holiday

Margaret and Gordon

Room Tip: top floor to the rear have good sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gordon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

just returned from Abbey Court Hotel after a week tour with Glenton Tours (15-22 sept). The owners and staff were very helpful and friendly. the meals were very good and rate high in comparison with other bus tours we have been on. If people comment that the meals weren't good there is something wrong with them or their expectations are too high. Our room was comfortable and bigger than others we have had on other tours. For the money we paid this was good value and I would definitely return there again. It would appear that some people are too fussy, if they want 4 star they should go 4 star and give everyone peace. Staff/hotel/food 10 out of 10

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathleen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

Travelled as part of a coach party with Glenton Tours and had a marvelous time from start to finish at the Abbey Court.Owners and staff were extremely courteous and helpful throughout our stay.Nothing was a bother to them and you could tell they were sincere in their efforts to make our stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible.Loved Chris the Chef who catered for all our culinary needs.If we didnt like what was on offer he was prepared to make something to our liking.Rooms were spotless and the view from ours was superb (R.21).We laughed from start to finish and would like to thank all at Abbey Court for a wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms to rear have sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 314chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Abbey Lawn Hotel
Abbey Lawn Hotel
#64 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#58 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
1.2 mi away
Frognel Hall Hotel
Frognel Hall Hotel
#63 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bancourt Hotel
Bancourt Hotel
#85 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red House Hotel
Red House Hotel
#55 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cimon
The Cimon
#15 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Court Hotel

Property: Abbey Court Hotel
Address: Falkland Road, Torquay TQ2 5JR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Abbey Court Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a tree lined road, Abbey Court is a peaceful hotel. It offers high standards and professional service at affordable prices. From views across Torbay to our heated outdoor pool and comfortable bar lounge, you will find the Abbey Court Hotel is the ideal place to relax and enjoy your holiday on the English Riviera ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Abbey Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Court Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing