We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food, large room,helpful staff.”
Review of Abbey Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Abbey Court Hotel
Ranked #72 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 9 October 2009

Good welcome,shown room by hotel owner which was spacious and clean food was good and plentiful,staff were very helpful.
Entertainment was as good as I have seen in any hotel.After reading previous reviews we were tempted to cancel our holiday which would have been a mistake.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smokie001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2009

Bad Points. Manager and Manageress were never around.
Not enough staff.
Bedding and towels never changed.
Lack of choice and variety with food.
Very slapdash and rushed.
Good points. The young polish waitress who kept the place running until she finished for the day.
Had a good reliable lift.
Have been to worse hotels.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bluenose59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2009

After arriving at the abbey court we were eventualy met by the owner.On entering the very sparce reception area the first thing we noticed was the poor decor and a musty smell. we were shown to our room and could not believe that anybody could even think of letting these rooms to paying guests. There were a minimum of ten flies flying around,the air vent in the loo was blocked,carpet stained,bedding and towels grubby, on a whole totally unexceptable.within ten minutes of being in the room we felt dirty and my wife chesty. we did not even take our things out of the car. when we asked for a refund the lady was very rude ,however i have to say her husband was a lot more understanding and did refund our money. i am surprised health and safety have not shut the hotel down. please avoid this hotel at all costs. After talking to the owners we realised the hotel was empty and we are not surprised. just wish we had read the reviews before we booked.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank jugsMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2009

I was attracted by the discount advertised on teletext, but this ended up being a false economy. The portions of food were small, of poor quality, plus there was very little choice. The Sunday roast looked like a ready made meal from Iceland at £2! and on most days we had to spend out on extra meals in the town to satisfy our appetite. The room was basically fitted, with furniture that looked like it had come out of a car boot sale or charity shop. Even in the raffle they had for customers in the dining room on the last day of our stay, was done on the cheap (my friend who won the first prize of a box of M and S shortbreads - noticed they were out of date)

You get what you pay for in life, and I would have to say that the discounts that are usually advertised are not genuine. There is no way that the normal price could be justified for what we received!

This year we paid an extra £10 a night to stay at 'The Headland' in Torquay, which was in a completely different league in all aspects. ie: far better equipped rooms, friendly and helpful staff, plus a five course main meal (well cooked with plenty of choice)

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank president152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2009

Not very welcoming. The wife of the owner was rude, especially regarding the fact that when we left, we did not return the tv remote controls nor the hairdrier to reception. We had enough luggage to deal with. The food was terrible, and there was little choice. One night it was mince pie or lamb's liver. A salad could have been prepared, but they didn't even serve chips with it. We had a 'stash' of 'nibbles' in our room to eat after dinner. The portions at ALL mealtimes were extremely small. The kettle was old and FILTHY and we complained until they eventually gave us a new one. One of the waitresses had an extremely bad eye infection, & I don't thinkl it was hygenic for her to be serving food to guests. I lost three pounds in weight in a week!

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dopy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2009

food awful and very small portions, not much choice, everything about the hotel was cheap and nasty the woman owner was really rude and not at all welcolming and when we got there as we were earlier than expected , were not allowed to go into the hotel and had to find somewhere to go until she was ready, altogether a disaster right from the start of our stay, towels nor bedding changed all the time we were there

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WalesBengo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2008

rooms were clean and tidy.the food was very poor.most people on our coach trip agreed. it was not the menue shown on there website. stay well clear.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nossy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#56 of 86 in Torquay
860 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Burlington
Hotel Burlington
#84 of 86 in Torquay
364 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#78 of 86 in Torquay
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ashley Court Hotel
Ashley Court Hotel
#82 of 86 in Torquay
407 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Richmond
Hotel Richmond
#77 of 86 in Torquay
381 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abbey Lawn Hotel
Abbey Lawn Hotel
#60 of 86 in Torquay
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Court Hotel

Address: Falkland Road, Torquay TQ2 5JR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range: £55 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Abbey Court Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a tree lined road, Abbey Court is a peaceful hotel. It offers high standards and professional service at affordable prices. From views across Torbay to our heated outdoor pool and comfortable bar lounge, you will find the Abbey Court Hotel is the ideal place to relax and enjoy your holiday on the English Riviera ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Abbey Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Court Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing