We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent !!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Norcliffe Hotel
Ranked #139 of 150 Torquay B&B and Inns
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent !!”
Reviewed 15 March 2011

found my stay here to be very comfortable & relaxing. We were looking for a cost effective break that was value for money & got exactly what we wanted. The hotel staff very hospitable & made us feel welcome, felt like home away from home. I don’t understand the negative reviews, you don’t pay 5 star prices so why expect 5 star accommodation???? The location is beautiful & I look forward to visiting again in the summer. Would defiantly recommend to friends & family. Thank you to all staff for their hospitality.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReneeK100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    45
    17
    16
    23
See reviews for
22
65
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2011

just back from david urquhart coach holiday to norcliffe hotel, six of us (the scousers) before we went we were very concerned about the negative reviews on this hotel, well if you are due to go and are at all worried DONT BE. from being picked up by a very comfortable coach, and being welcomed aboard by KENNY the driver, who is a credit to his company to being dropped off 5 days later we didnt have a single complaint,dont forget you are not in a 4 or 5 star hotel, and you are paying very little for what you are getting ..THE HOTEL.you are welcomed by nick and karen, shown to your room very quickly with time to change and go for evening meal (3 course)and very well cooked (not microwaved as suggested on other reviews) breakfast is help yourself cereals or ordered porridge, followed by egg bacon sausage and beans, a rack of toast, jam, and as much tea/coffee as you like.yes the rooms are basic, but are adequate, our room no9 had twin beds, shower (very hot)plenty of storage , drawers and wardrobe, t.v, reading lights above bed, radiator, if you want 4/5 star dont go here and complain like some have done, you wont get a more friendly host than nick, aided by little lukey, and the brains of the outfit(karen) dont forget to go in the bar and join in the BINGO, we did and were a little unpopular cos we won a lot, only kidding folks, we met a lot of loveley people while there who made the stay that much better, so if your worried about the bad reviews I say again DONT BE ,just go and enjoy, if you enjoy it half as much as the scousers then you'll have a great time, thanks to all at hotel and special thanks to KENNY our boss driver.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank billdonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

Stayed here as part of a coach tour for New Year. There are a number of good points : Nick and Karen were very friendly and helpful, the food was of good quality, and the beds comfertable.And the hotel is in a quiet area.

There are a few areas in need of improvement. The breakfast could have been bigger and the dinner smaller. Whilst the beds were obviously new the rest of the furniture and the bathroom was in need of updating. A hook in the bathroom would have come in useful. Whilst the tea and coffee supply was ok there could have been biscuits as well. They may seem small things but they do help make the stay a bit more enjoyable. Though I understand that refurbishment will be taking place as and when they can be afforded.

Whilst I wouldn't return here personally I'm sure there are those who would find it to there taste.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbug90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S.YORKS
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2010

The hotel has friendly staff and good food, but the room we had was extremely uncomfortable and the bed was long overdue for replacement. Thankful that it was only for four nights.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FELIXS_yorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torquay hotels

holland on sea
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2010

Nick & Karen make you feel welcome the whole time you are their, The food is great so is the location .

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seasidetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

we were offered full english for breakfast on tiny plate as other food one of our party only had porta loo in bedroom and got fed up with lectures every day at mealtimes on last day we were rushed out like cattle never again one of our ladies asked me do you think we will get a full slice of toast today for breakfast as even staff were dosey didnt understand what we said half i agree DONT GO THERE PLEASEwe never will again we were a party of seven and paid 13,ooo pounds what a waste

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fishing1428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2010

My husband and I have just come back from a 4 day stay at the Norcliffe Hotel, and we had a brilliant time there. Nick was a fantastic host and went out of his way to make sure everyone was ok and had a good time. The food WAS FRESH and beautifully cooked. Ok this is not a 5 star hotel but the rooms have all the basics you need and are clean. The bar is well stocked and although the entertainment could have been better, Nick made the effort to dance with as many elderly ladies as he could.
If you are looking for a cheap and cheerful hotel then this is the one to book in Babbacombe

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jiggy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Summerbay Resort Hotel
#85 of 87 in Torquay
4 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Burlington
Hotel Burlington
#86 of 87 in Torquay
346 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Babbacombe Royal Hotel
The Babbacombe Royal Hotel
#43 of 150 in Torquay
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Downs, Babbacombe
The Downs, Babbacombe
#32 of 150 in Torquay
365 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cary Arms & Spa
Cary Arms & Spa
#18 of 150 in Torquay
778 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Norcliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Norcliffe Hotel

Property: The Norcliffe Hotel
Address: Seafront | Babbacombe Downs Road, Torquay TQ1 3LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
The Norcliffe Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing