We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OH STOP MOANING”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Norcliffe Hotel
Ranked #139 of 150 Torquay B&B and Inns
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“OH STOP MOANING”
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Fist of all, those moaning xxxxxxxx, who did not even give this place a chance get lost or stay at home. you don't go away for a break to stay in the hotel,it is there to serve a purpose, and in mine and herindoors it did that no problem,yes it could have been better and we could have payed more, i will go back next year no problem Nick what can you say about him no swear words please he is a chap who like's to keep you informed, they are a young couple who will learn more as they carry on doing what there doing, AS for the girls on a girlee weekend many thank,s take your humor sweet smiles and infectious laughter and have a lot more weekend,s away well NIck good luck Bill alias WILLIAM.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank william r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    45
    17
    16
    23
See reviews for
22
65
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We could'nt believe the rules and regulati.ons in this hotel On the first night we were given a full blown lecture on health and safety whilst eating dinner.If you want to use the pool, you have to report to reception 1 hour before so the covers can be taken off. On arrival we (along with a few other couples) asked for a table for 2, but was firmly told "NO you sit here my dear". Meal times are ON THE DOT 8.30am breakfast, and 6.30pm dinner, 8am on the day of departure even if you don't go by coach. We were fortunate enough to sit with a lovely couple from Liverpool, which made it pleasureable for us - they were a little late for dinner one night, and eyebrows were raised! The food was OK - fish and chips one night was rather disapointing, I was expecting proper battered fresh fish, instead it was frozen fish.Nick was trying his best I guess, but I'm afraid we would never go to this hotel again far too REIMENTAL for us. I must add that Babbacombe is a lovely place and we certainly would go there again but give this hotel a big miss.

Room Tip: We asked for a seaview - got a lovely view of roofs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank zonk11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torquay hotels

Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

It took me a mere two minutes to be completely shocked by this Hotel. I spoke to a lady on the phone earlier today who was not particularly helpful on the topic of literature for weddings. She merely referred me back to the website which does not contain the information I was asking for. I decided we would take a swing by anyway to see the place, to give them a second chance.

My partner and I rang on the bell, and were 'greeted' by a lady who stood across us in the door way as though we were attempting to rob her. I asked her 'do you do weddings?' as a ice breaker/conversation starter. When a hotel has a wedding section you would expect the answer to be a cheery and swift 'yes of course'. I would not expect 'hmmmm, may'be, depends when, we get a lot of coach parties,, I can't really be bothered to check' (last bit embellished of course). The non-committal answer was married to a look of disdain and a general aura of contempt for us.

Perhaps someone should remind this lady that she is in the hospitality industry, and that people pay to be made to feel welcome, and maybe even special, when they are enquiring about weddings. I would CERTAINLY NOT recommend anyone else bother to darken their door, as next time they might come out with a loaded shotgun. Intruders beware!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chesterfield
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

First the good bits, looks nice from outside, its clean, the beds were comfy, the food was nice and cooked perfect, evening meals in particular were excellent, the staff were nice, the owner nick is a nice person and does seem to be trying very hard to please, and babbacombe is a very nice place.
Now the bad bits, the hotel interior is very dated (but clean), the rooms are very dated (but clean), the bedroom furniture is old (falling to bits in places), the coffee in the rooms is dreadful (had to buy some from tesco) the breakfast portions are small and the coffee poor (but tea is ok), the bar prices are expensive (but so is the whole of babbacombe).
Could I recommend the hotel, well there is the dilemma, I would normally say no, but nick the owner does seem to be trying, and it was clean, and ok the meal portions were small but the quality was excellent, so_ _ _ I find myself saying, give it a try and see what you think, it does take you back as one of the other reviews says.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bruneval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Firstly, over all we had a nice break at The Norcliffe in Babbacombe, the hotel was clean, but quite dated, and definitely catered for the older person in many ways. Our room was kept clean and a cleaner came round to tidy each morning, and the beds were fine for us. The window and shower was a little temperamental, but apart from that the room was fine. As some of the other reviews have mentioned, the owner is quite OTT, and felt like he did a speech before each meal. However, we do understand that as the hotel caters for the older person, they may not see this as a problem, but for us we would of liked to just eat. Also, at breakfast and dinner, we had allocated seats and had to sit there each morning, and we were also on a table with other couples, now even though this is probably so that the waitresses (who were lovely by the way) know who's ordered what each day, it was quite hard to have a conversation with my other half, and we are not used to there being such a routine when we are away. However, the couples we were with were lovely too. Would also like to mention that we were there on a coach holiday with Travelstyle, and thought the company was really good and well organised, with great customer service and reasonable prices, would definitely go with them again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bryony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

this hotel is more of a guest house than hotel. my room had a sink in it, there was a shower room ensuite too.
reminded me of guest houses i stayed in as a child.
dinners ok, had to choose at breakfast what you wanted for dinner, 3 choices of starters, mains and desserts, then had to choose at dinner what you wanted for breakfast! only cooked breakfast, and cereals. did have porridge though which was good!
juice at breakfast was limited to 1 glass each.
nick, the owner helpful but a bit ott!! felt a bit like i was at school!!!
swimming pool is really a glorified paddling pool.
was ok for a 3 night stay, not sure i'd want to stay longer, all a bit regimented for me! set meal times with no scope to change times.
good location, not far to shops, etc.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank glospurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Just got back from a 5 day coach break. Thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Norcliffe Nick and Karen couldn't do enough for you, food excellent. Nick goes that little bit extra - theatre night he ran a ferry service in his own car to get people there although it's only a short walk the weather was terrible so he put himself out. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TerrysladyBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Summerbay Resort Hotel
#85 of 87 in Torquay
4 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Burlington
Hotel Burlington
#86 of 87 in Torquay
346 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Babbacombe Hotel
The Babbacombe Hotel
#38 of 87 in Torquay
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,815 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,325 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Norcliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Norcliffe Hotel

Property: The Norcliffe Hotel
Address: Seafront | Babbacombe Downs Road, Torquay TQ1 3LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
The Norcliffe Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing